We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort in the heart of a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Puebla
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfort in the heart of a beautiful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel was comfortable and only a block or two away from all the things I wanted to see in that city. They had a nice, but perhaps a little pretentious, restaurant that served local cuisine with a cosmopolitan flavor and presentation. Some of the staff were friendly but the people at the front desk seemed surly--perhaps not entirely happy that I was staying there for a visit with my father. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a generous bathroom and sleeping was tranquil.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    182
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
83
117
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is housed in a 16th century monastery and was just beautiful. The location, one block from the zocolo, was terrific -- when we got chilly it was a quick walk to grab a sweater. The staff was very helpful with parking and any other needs. The rooms were generously sized. The elevator was operated by staff and it was a little slow for someone to bring it up when waiting up top. There was a lot of noise from the side street at night. But otherwise a lovely stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Retiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived in Pueblo zocolo and dropped my wife in front of the Hotel Colonial while I circled the block in heavy traffic. No parking and no sympathy from the policia, but when I came back by the hotel the door to the ample indoor parking was open and I was ushered in where the porter took over. He explained that the garage was guarded 24/7 and I would need to show my door key to gain admittance. Our room was just as expected and we both felt the old world charm of Pueblo thru the cool tiles on the floor and the high timbered ceilings overhead. The balcony doors were ajar and we were beckoned by the sound of guitars and the street vendors offering us sweet corn, tacos and helados. We were both tired from the flight and the drive from the pyramids of Teotihuacan, but Dianne loves her mole' and we were off to the restaurant. Just a block up the street and we were on the zocolo with too many dining choices, a parade of students with floats representing their schools and hundreds of strollers, young and old, walking arm in arm. We turned around and high tailed it back to the Colonial where we had a relaxed meal in their excellent dining room, complete with chicken mole' and followed with dulces and chocolate. It was an early night for us and we both found the beds comfortable and the room quiet, at least I guess it was, I slept thru the night and if there was anything going on, I missed it. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are the only ones overlooking a street with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

this is a great hotel for helpful staff, nice rooms, great breakfast, and all around great for a group. there were 47 of us, lions club, and from taking the luggage, putting it in our rooms, and picking it up before we left, it all went smoothly. puebla is a great town to visit, and they had maps and suggestions for us. meals were served quickly and efficiently. this is an old hotel, so not really 5 star, but makes up for it by the way they treat their guests. the location is perfect, 2 blocks from the plaza. the bus could only park for a few minutes, but everyone was ready so no problem. we went to the African safari, (the lions went to the safari!) and they also suggested a tour at the urarti pottery factory for beautiful talavera. the market was only 3 blocks away, and the tourist center was close by. Chula is only 30 minutes away, 2 fantastic churches, and a pyrmid. this is covered by grass with a church on the top, so unless you want to go thru the tunnels, or walk up the steep hill, it is not worth it, because there is so much to see in puebla itself. at the hotel, they let us have a byo bottle of wine cocktail party both night, with nibbles suppled by the lions, and we tipped one bellboy for helping us clean up, so we left the location in good shape. rosalda was the woman we worked with, and with all the reservations, and last minute changes, she could not have been more helpful. we will always return to the colonial hotel when we visit puebla.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have balcones which are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a charming, historic hotel, located in the center of town. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and attractive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good, popular and features molé that is an important part of the cuisine of Puebla.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window opening to the outside. No need to worry about noise at night and but b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 151932Expat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

While the hotel is conveniently located in the colonial district of Puebla, unfortunately its 1640 roots are still all too visible and make for a not-very-nice accommodation. Built as a Franciscan monastery, the hotel still has the feel of the monastic life - dark, plain, not lovely, tiny rooms, colorless walls, drapes that are way past their usefulness, a peeling sink with no stopper.

Our dark, dank, tiny room had windows that looked out on a tin roof and a brick wall. The beds were like a slab of cement, according to SYork, for whom this is a major denominator of the quality of a room. The room where our group had it's cocktail hour was also dark and not-too-pleasant.

Overall, I would totally give the Hotel Colonial a pass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lydiajane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great room on the second floor, it had a high ceiling and got the morning sun – the windows opened onto a small balcony with a view to the church across the street – and as the street was pedestrianized it was possible to sleep with the windows open .

The first room I was shown, on the first floor, was not nearly as attractive, so it is worth looking around . Beds were not particularly comfortable – had the room not been so good I don’t know I would have stayed for a second night.

Staff were friendly, the location was excellent and the rooftop view (in the morning, before the cloud sets in) is astounding

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puebla Plaza
Hotel Puebla Plaza
#85 of 96 in Puebla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#38 of 96 in Puebla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Hotelito
El Hotelito
#57 of 96 in Puebla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andante
Hotel Andante
#14 of 96 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#6 of 96 in Puebla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial de Puebla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial de Puebla

Property: Hotel Colonial de Puebla
Address: Calle 4 Sur # 105, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial de Puebla 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial, with a prime location one block from Puebla's main square, dates back to 1668 when it was built as a Jesuit monastery. The building is catalogued as an Historic Monument, because of its magnificent colonial architecture. Its restaurant is known locally for its excellent cuisine, and recomended in almost every foreign tour guide. The "Mole Poblano" served every day in its dining rooms is reputed to be the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colonial de Puebla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing