We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers!”
Review of Hotel del Portal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Portal
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We ended up here as a last resort as all the decent hotels we're full. The location is great which is the only way of justifying the $80 price for one of their very basic cell like rooms. After waiting 10 mins for the manageress to find a porter who wanted to do some work - reminded me of Fawlty Towers sketch - he put us in the lift pressed the button for the 2nd floor and we never saw him again! Pretty sure we could have managed to work that out ourselves. The worst thing however was the 'complimentary American breakfast'. We were told to help ourselves to the buffet so we did, we ordered some coffee with a waiter and waited 20mins as they were much more interested in pampering the local wealthier looking guests. It was pretty amusing after a while as they blatantly couldn't care less about tourists, it was as if we weren't there. The best bit was when we got up to leave and we were given a bill for $80 as we had helped ourselves to a spoonful of yoghurt which apparently wasn't included, we argued for half an hour and walked out of the hotel without paying. This is not a tourist friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 126 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

Beware of this hotel. We decided to check out of the hotel in the morning so that they could clean our room and reuse it. We checked our luggage at the reception. When we returned to the hotel to reclaim our luggage the hotel had lost our most expensive suitcase. They promised to repay for the cost of the luggage and its contents but then later changed their minds and we were only paid for half.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pescadito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

We stayed here for a few nights in October. The front desk was friendly enough. However, you're supposed to leave your key at the desk when you leave the hotel and it can be a little annoying to get it back when you return to the hotel if there is only one person at the desk and a long line of folks checking in.

There were some young kids- like a middle school field trip- the first night we were there. They were a bit obnoxious, knocking on our doors and generally being loud. This is really not the fault of the hotel and it didn't come to the point that we had to report them.

The rooms are a bit old, but they provide plush towels and hand towels, along with bottled water. We had a room overlooking the zocalo, which was loud until about 11pm, then the city seed to go to sleep. The view was worth it.

The breakfast was not really worth bothering with. The toast served is a product unique to Mexico- pan tostado- which I know translates into toast, but this stuff is a little different. It's more like big slices of melba toast, not bad, just not toast like most Americans are used to! There are tons of other cafes around the zocalo, so you won't go hungry. You can go to McDonald's for hotcakes or try one of the more traditional Mexican places.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Sadly, this hotel could be great, the location on the main Zocalo in the lovely city of Puebla has a great old fachade, Inside the disappointment begins at the reception desk, where the employees are not only not helpful, but blase and rude. The rooms are ugly and small, carved out of what must have once been a grand space. The halls are like canyons, echoing the loud shouting by young guests far into the early morning hours. Despite complaining to beg for quiet by 2 am, the staff did nothing and lied that those quests would be leaving the following day. Thus the following night we suffered the same. The free continental breakfast was nothing more than toast made sometime in the past century, undrinkable coffee and a few slivers of fruit. Parking is provided down the block, but only overnight, so you are on your own if you don't want to pay during the day. Did I mention the beds are hard and the pillows lumpy? Few rooms face the street, so most have no natural light. I had hot water, but my traveling friends did not.

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank malibugringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Rolando H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vista al zocalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Feride0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#68 of 100 in Puebla
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#38 of 100 in Puebla
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andante Hotel Boutique
Andante Hotel Boutique
#19 of 100 in Puebla
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royalty Centro
Hotel Royalty Centro
#74 of 100 in Puebla
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pedro
Hotel San Pedro
#84 of 100 in Puebla
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Portal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Portal

Address: Juan de Palafox y Mendoza Num 205, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel del Portal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel del Portal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing