We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Rustic, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent to nights here in late March, this hotel is a real find. Quirky, cool, romantic and right in the heart of the fantastic city if Puebla.

Big rooms with comfy beds and antiques galore. I had a balcony into the brightly coloured street, fantastic to watch Mexican life pass by.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 387 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a review I am sorry I have to write. Very rarely are we so disappointed in a hotel that we give it such a bad review and low marks as this one.

This hotel is an old building (that used to be an old colonial house) with a nice entry behind wrought iron gates. There is a shocking pink courtyard that you enter first, filled with lovely plants and tables as part of the dining area. We paid for a master suite (and I will go into this later) and were given #1, a very large, very dark room, upstairs in the back with king bed, large shower and a TV that only has fuzzy Spanish channels. The room was kept clean; gave us bottled water; has a coffee maker and coffee available which is nice.

Behind Rm. #1 there is a metal staircase outside the back windows, which is used by the restaurant staff and very noisy early in the morning and late a night. The chairs in the room are very uncomfortable to sit on when reading or using your computer, so we had to use the bed. There were no luggage racks for suitcases; it was either on the floor or on antique furniture as there are lots of antiques in each room.

Some of the rooms do not have windows at all, they are very small and very dark. The wifi goes in and out, which was frustrating. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but many do not speak English. The breakfast menu has a large variety of choices and dinner is quite good as well.

The day before we left a horrible smell appeared in the bathroom from the sink and shower pipes and continued until we left. It was so putrid that we had a difficult time going in there! We reported it and we were given a can of room spray!

We were on a five-day package (that we had pre-paid and bought at an auction) and opted for one of the two master suites since the Jr. Suites are so small. We agreed to pay approximately $40 a day more. When my husband checked out he did not show our package certificate to the person at the desk, so we were charged about $70 per day extra. Before we left I discussed this on the phone with the woman in charge, as she was not at the hotel, and she said she would get back to me via email. I received the email later saying they would not reimburse us the difference. So BEWARE of this and make sure you know exactly what your rate is and what you are being charged.

If you like a quiet place this is not the place for you as the noise from the courtyard with voices echoing and constant music playing, both live and piped in were almost constant. The rooms in the front overlooking the street are noisy. I would urge you to find a different place to stay while in Puebla.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Leobardo, the owner, and his unbelievably service oriented staff will make sure that you feel at home in this fantastic, authentic boutique hotel in the heart of Puebla. This was my first time to Puebla and I could not have stayed in a better hotel or had a better experience. This is an ex convent with antiques throughout; brilliant pastel colors; fantastic service and excellent gastronomy. On the weekends you are surrounded by markets, artist, wonderful architecture, beautiful churches and chapels and warm and friendly people. Rooms are spacious, original and very comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and highly recommend it.



  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in the Cajonera suite which was beautiful and sumptious.. We arrived on spec having left a terrible hotel down the road and were given a warm welcome. Shocking pink, indigo and violet are brave colours, but here they worked very well. The ambience is laid back in a slightly whacky antique way. Breakfast was good and we had a good meal in the restaurant. Situated conveniently in a pedestrian zone close to all the antique shops - great area.
Lovely hotel to stay in - very special

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scirocco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed two nights here on a tour of Mexico. We thought it was fun, although maybe its not to everyone's taste to eat in a pink courtyard, cluttered with antiques and overlooked by catholic statues. The room was similarly cluttered - ours was the old relics store. There is no where to put your suitcase other than the floor or the bed-not that that's unusual even in hotels not full of antiques ! The room was dark except when the sun made it round in the afternoon, when it was a lovely place to relax. Bathroom up a step, and quite small. Staff quickly removed a large statue balnaced on a small table from the middle of the room-we were afraid of knocking it over. They were puzzled but happily obliging. We ate there one evening, it was all right but nothing special. Brerakfast was freshly prepared and very nice. The hotel supplied bottled water & coffee machine/coffee in the room as part of the price.

The hotel is well located in a pedestrianised area, easily walkable to the main square, museums or markets. We were offered guided toursfrom the hotel staff although there is no need, if you get a reasonable map. Thgere is a lovely little cafe on the corner two doors down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Decoration and food are what you will remember from this hotel. Antiques everywhere including in the bathroom give the hotel and restaurant a special feel we liked. And all are for sale if your luggage can afford it. We did not try the restaurant, but breakfast was excellent. Be patient though if you are jet lagged and wake up too early, normal time on Sundays seems to be 10 am, but staff was very friendly and we got ours at 8 am as requested.
We had a small room, no window, probably better to ask rooms 7 or 8. Waited a long time for hot water, but eventually it came. Most important, don't expect quietness in the evening. All rooms open on a very nice patio which is also the restaurant, so you enjoy the music and ambiance from your room!
Otherwise, location is perfect to discover the historic center of this beautiful city by walk.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Skuatakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went for a second time after a long time, and I just corroborated it is one of the most charming places I have stayed in.

Even I have been in some similar hotels, this one has something really special.

Needless to say that the service, the food and the whole hotel itself it's fantastic!!

No doubt I will stay there in all my future visits to Puebla

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Maria Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#24 of 100 in Puebla
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#23 of 100 in Puebla
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Purificadora
La Purificadora
#26 of 100 in Puebla
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona San Antonio
Hotel Casona San Antonio
#11 of 100 in Puebla
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Sacristia de la Compania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Sacristia de la Compania

Address: Calle 6 sur No. 304 | Callejón de los Sapos, Centro Histórico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puebla
#9 Family Hotel in Puebla
Price Range: $80 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meson Sacristia de la Compania 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, this hotel looks like a simple colonial building with typical Spanish terraces and heavy wooden doors. Once you enter the courtyard, you are instantly transported back to 19h century Mexico. The decor is an eclectic blend of beautifully preserved colonial antiques and rustic furniture. Each room is uniquely decorated with antique and, if you like what you see, you can buy the whole ensemble and take it home! How so? At Meson Sacristia de la Compania you can also immerse yourself in Mexico through cooking classes or hands -on pottery courses either one a memorable souvenir. The award-winning hotel restaurants is the place to experience true Pueblan food, served in the courtyard, made even richer by live traditional music nightly. Experience colonial Mexico and enjoy exemplary Pueblan service and hospitality. Opening times of our restaurant: Monday to Thursday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm Friday and Saturday: 8:00 am to 11:00 pm Sunday: 8:00 am to 6:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meson Sacristia de la Compania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Sacristia De La Compania Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing