We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Charming Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a Charming Place!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you want a perfect 5* accommodation, do not stay at Meson Sacristia! But, if you want a charming place in a wonderful location with a wonderful helpful staff, this is the place for you! My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights earlier this month. It is like no place I have ever stayed before. The boutique hotel is filled with antiques-all for sale! Our room #3 was old, dark (only small circular windows to the outside), well-equipped and had a very comfortable bed. Sleeping in was great in the morning; our room was very quiet, except for the night with fireworks outside for the Virgin Mary! The only 2 problems with the room were 1) the bathroom door archway is very low (I could walk thru, but my husband had to duck down) and 2) the key to the large heavy antique door was a little bit of a challenge. Still, we would stay here again, really liked the experience!

Room Tip: I read that one of the rooms is over the kitchen and noisy, but ours was very quiet! Do not stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlgernonofChrisKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    92
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
75
174
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our travel booked this hotel for us and we all found it quirky and charming. The fact that everything was for sale was very amusing and we could have bought several things if we could have transported them home. The staff were delightful, although as another reviewer said, not terribly clued up as to food or drink. We ate in once and were not especially impressed b our meal we had been urged to try the chocolate mole with chicken - definitely not to everyone's taste.The hotel is brilliantly positioned and Puebla itself is a delightful town. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet although slightly dark which added to the quirkiness. If you want twin beds this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Some reviewers either need a reality check or they need to get out a lot more. This is an ok-ish little hotel with pretensions to boutique status. Meson Sacristia is by a long way NOT the best restaurant or hotel in Puebla and it is utterly bonkers to suggest that it is. We booked in here for four people on the basis of the TA reviews which describe it as perfect, beautiful, charming, friendly and with the best food in Puebla, and as a consequence we were mightily disappointed.

If it was pitched as a small quirky hotel in a great location we would have arrived with very different expectations.

We drove here from Oaxaca, and found the little entrance in a side street without too much difficulty. The door staff offered to park the car and our luggage was taken for us. A great start. Then we walked into the antique shop which serves as reception. That is not a style observation but a fact, the reception is an antique shop with piles of Mexican furniture and decorative bric-a-brac jammed into it. Ok, I thought, quirky, intriguing, I sort of get the vibe, and then we were shown into the courtyard around which the bedrooms are located. You can see from the pictures on here that it is painted in a bold pink, but what they don't show is that it has been painted, re-painted here and there in different shades of pink, and that large sections of the pink paint are peeling away from the wall, particularly high up next to the cheap agricultural greenhouse plastic that serves as the all-weather roof.

As we walked through the courtyard we noticed that everything we passed is also for sale. The vases, pictures, mirrors and even the rather alarming Jesus that is hanging on his cross halfway up the stairs has a tag hanging from his nailed foot. The little tags, like a serious antique dealer in Mayfair or New York, are written in code so that you can't actually see the price without asking. OK, this is an hotel-stroke-antique shop. Fair enough, it is in a street that is full of antique emporia.

And so the rooms. Nicely designed with a retro-antique feel as you would expect. We had room 3 however which has low ceilings, and one external oval window about the size of a dishcloth that looks out onto another wall two feet away. The other half of our party was in the next door room, which was almost identical, except they did have a view of a car park. The bathrooms are small, tiled in decorative Mexican tiles, and the door is so low that the outside of it is padded. Sadly the inside of it isn't and my partner nearly split his head open walking out of the bathroom the first time he visited.

There is free wifi with a good signal, and we logged on to make sure we hadn't got the wrong hotel. Nope, we were in the right place, and it is on here as one of the best hotels, and 'the best' restaurant in Puebla. We also noticed that it had a cooking school, so thought we would have dinner in the hotel.

So what do you imagine dinner in such an august establishment would be like? I think you're with me now... Average would be a compliment. The white wine we ordered was corked, the waiter had absolutely no idea why we wouldn't want to drink it anyway. He changed the bottle, it was also corked. We asked to try a different white wine, it was boiled which is not an uncommon problem here. When a Sauvignon Blanc turns amber and smells of sherry it's time to leave it alone. The waiters were completely puzzled and confused about why we were sending back the wine. Eventually a manager appeared and produced a wine which was not on the list and it was fine.

The food then, was that world-class cooking school fare? Not in a month of Sundays. I had a chicken dish that came with a warning that it was super hot, and to be fair it was very good indeed, and my partner had a dish with three very good moles on it. But one of our friends ordered a Milanesa de Res. This is a classic all over Mexico despite the Italian heritage, and flattening a steak, bread-crumbing it and frying are not skills that you would expect to be lacking in an 'fabulous' (and I quote Trip Advisor reviewers) cooking school. Well sadly these skills are entirely absent. The Milanesa was too brown, very soggy, and tasted as though the beef had been pre-cooked. The breadcrumbs were a very dark brown, dripping with oil and patches were falling off the meat. What waiter in the world would pick that dish up from the kitchen and give it to a customer?

Well these ones would, and again they were completely bamboozled when our friend asked for a replacement Milanesa. So befuddled were they in fact that she gave up and ordred a Caesar salad, which was very nice.

At breakfast one of us asked for toast with the fried eggs: no they don't have toast. IN A COOKING SCHOOL THEY CAN'T MAKE TOAST??? What exactly do they teach here? I asked for some black pepper and ketchup to add some flavour to my eggs. I asked again. I asked another waiter. In fact I actually asked for black pepper five times before another sullen waiter came over and told me that they don't have any black pepper. None. Did I mention that this is a cooking school?

The rooms were quirky but very dark, and the lack of an external window in the rooms we had meant that I found it quite claustrophobic and our friends found the same. There are rooms with windows at the front so if you go then I suggest you have those. I was woken on our second morning by the loud echoing of voices around the courtyard and I think that is an issue with all of the rooms.

The rooms were good value, and the location is amazing. If the reviews on here were a bit more realistic I may have been pleasantly surprised, but if you turn up here expecting to be in one of the best hotels in Puebla, and to be able to stroll gently downstairs to the best restaurant in Puebla then you are going to be sorely mistaken. We saw some lovely hotels on our walks, and we ate in Entre Tierras which was one of the best meals of our trip.

Oddly enough, you may be surprised to learn, we elected not to do the in-house cooking lessons, but if they would like me to email my recipe for Milanesa de Res I'd be happy to help.

Do go to Puebla, but if you stay here take your own white wine, toast and a portable pepper mill.

Room Tip: Get a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barsa, Gerente at Meson Sacristia de la Compania, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear guest.
We welcome your comments and offer an apology for not meeting your expectations.
We understand that the concept of our hotel is unique and completely different from the conventional.
By way of clarification we would like to tell you that the doors of the bathrooms are small because they belonged to cells and have over 300 years old.
The white wine Estacion Porvenir we offered in your dinner is a traditional Mexican wine unfiltered, generating sediments known as wine diamonds that have no impact on wine quality. Any way taking your order, we returned those bottles to the supplier who told us that the wine was in good condition for consumption.
Actually our cooking workshop has been featured in multiple international media, but our specialty is the traditional Pueblan cuisine and in our breakfast we offer bread from artisanal ovens, for this reason we do not have sliced ​​bread, ketchup or black pepper permanently, but I can assure you that the waiters had to do everything possible to get these ingredients.
Finally, we want to offer you a courtesy for one night with a cooking lesson included.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We use TripAdvisor for all our travel needs, and once again were not disappointed. Meson Sacristia de la Compania was a wonderful place to stay in the historic district of Puebla, only a couple of blocks from the zocalo (public square) and also a small outlet of the renowned Talavera Tile factory, a little cafe with great food and great service called Celia's Cafe, where you can also buy genuine Talavera pieces. But back to the hotel - we stayed in spacious Room 9 which was filled with antiques and also a comfortable bed and glassed-in shower with plenty of hot water and good pressure. The temperature was just right. Our room looked out over the enclosed court yard, protected from street noise, but convenient to the talented musical serenades that took place on Fri. and Sat. nights. Breakfast was included, and we had fresh-squeezed juice (try the orange mixed with nopal - incredible!), and other dishes like eggs with a sauce unique to Meson Sacristia, chilaquiles to die for, and even enchiladas if you have the appetite, and we did. The service was attentive, prompt and friendly. Our manager was kind enough to arrange a trip for us to the pyramid at Cholula which was very reasonably priced. Staff were always available, always friendly, and always helpful. Most spoke English and tolerated our pathetic Spanish with grace. They went out of their way to be helpful; for instance, I asked for a bottle of wine. Not only did they bring an excellent Mexican wine out, but they chilled it, brought it to our room, opened it, and poured it, for hardly any more than the cost of the wine. The food is genuine Pueblan fare - Pipian, mole, etc. We tried a couple of other places for dinner, but none beat the food at Meson Sacristia, so we had most of our meals there. This is not a hotel for people who need Marriott or Holiday Inn type predictability; it's a family owned place and reflects the personality of the owners, which is what we love. Be prepared to possibly hear some noise in the morning when the kitchen staff come in to start breakfast; but when you eat the delicious breakfast, you'll be glad they came in early. There are more expensive places to stay in Puebla, but none better. Our only regret was not signing up for the cooking school. We'll do that next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chile93
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Fabulous cooking classes with an internationally known chef!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zwindy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very charming AUTHENTIC hotel in historic district of Puebla, Mexico. Highlight was the 5 day cooking school starting at 10 AM daily. We loved the chef, Alonso, and his assistant Cinthia. We cooked authentic Puebla dishes, then enjoyed what we cooked for lunch. Extremely well organized with only fresh ingredients. Since most of us did not speak Spanish, Cinthias translations were great. I highly recommend the cooking school....lots of fun. Alonso and Cinthia also took our group to the local Market where we could purchase fresh produce. Mexican vanilla is the BEST! Many types of chiles sold, sugar cane, chocolate.

The hotel is extremely conveniently located to the Zocalo area (city square) so we could walk everywhere and felt extremely safe. Many good restaurants nearby. When we tired of spicy food we found a great pizza place, Vittorios, on the square. Shopping was wonderful for our group of 12. We walked to the Talavera Armando factory and had a tour. Talavera pottery is made in the same way as hundreds of years ago, each piece hand painted. I purchased several plates here. Don't miss shopping on the " candy street"....blocks of tiny candy shops that also sell Talavera plates, mugs, bowls. The yellow coconut macaroons are yummy.

The hotel staff was excellent and we enjoyed the meals served here. Breakfasts were great, service excellent. The lobby and rooms are furnished with antique pieces. Our room #1 was huge. Our king size bed was comfortable, unfortunately our son slept on a roll-away hard as a rock. Now for the bad.......our room was noisy from 7 AM to well past midnight! The kitchen is right below and you can't sleep for the clanging pots, stomping feet and loud music. All of the other rooms were ok for the rest of our family.....we had 5 rooms.

I would recommend this hotel if you want an authentic experience.

Room Tip: Do not get room # 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Overall hotel is ok but room 1 is extremely noisy at night due to noise in kitchen below, metal spiral stairwell just outside window accessed by rooftop occupants; also the shower water temp is uncontrollable & with very little pressure. Do not use a rollaway bed, they are rock hard.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einsteinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#6 of 99 in Puebla
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#19 of 99 in Puebla
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#16 of 99 in Puebla
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona de la China Poblana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson Sacristia de la Compania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson Sacristia de la Compania

Property: Meson Sacristia de la Compania
Address: Calle 6 sur No. 304 | Callejón de los Sapos, Centro Histórico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puebla
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puebla
#9 Family Hotel in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meson Sacristia de la Compania 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the outside, this hotel looks like a simple colonial building with typical Spanish terraces and heavy wooden doors. Once you enter the courtyard, you are instantly transported back to 19h century Mexico. The decor is an eclectic blend of beautifully preserved colonial antiques and rustic furniture. Each room is uniquely decorated with antique and, if you like what you see, you can buy the whole ensemble and take it home! How so? At Meson Sacristia de la Compania you can also immerse yourself in Mexico through cooking classes or hands -on pottery courses either one a memorable souvenir. The award-winning hotel restaurants is the place to experience true Pueblan food, served in the courtyard, made even richer by live traditional music nightly. Experience colonial Mexico and enjoy exemplary Pueblan service and hospitality. Opening times of our restaurant: Monday to Thursday: 8:00 am to 10:00 pm Friday and Saturday: 8:00 am to 11:00 pm Sunday: 8:00 am to 6:00 pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Meson Sacristia de la Compania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Sacristia De La Compania Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing