We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Puebla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona San Antonio
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Casona San Antonia is a great hotel in an excellent location for exploring the most beautiful and well-kept city in Mexico. The hotel rooms are very high quality with every amenity you could want - A/C, iron, TV, hairdryer, minibar, coffeemaker, etc. The hotel is located in a beautiful old building, among the many beautiful old buildings in Puebla. It's round the corner from the Museo Amparo and a short walk from the cathedral and Zocalo. Despite being on a fairly busy street, the rooms are situated round courtyards and are very quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful - as soon as we arrived in our rented car, they grabbed all our luggage and whisked the car away to their parking lot. The hotel restaurant, in the covered courtyard, is of very high quality. We ate dinner there one night and it was excellent, as were our breakfasts. Comfort and good value -- what more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the back and not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyGrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Used this hotel as a home base for my family coming from San Diego, CA for the wedding. We booked three rooms for over the weekend, and could not have been more pleased.

Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Each room had its own AC unit, TV, and the room with two double beds served as a meeting place for us all. (It was the most spacious and open!)

Service is top notch, each employee we encountered was attentive and met our requests. As a smaller hotel, my parents - who don't indulge very often - felt that this hotel was so nice and "exclusive," which means a lot!
We ate breakfast each morning we had free, and while it took some time for our plates to come out, everyone had a tasty dish (my dad ordered the campesinos plate twice!).

Locale is great, very near El Zocalo, el Parian for shopping... quick taxi ride anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have been to Puebla several times now and this is the best hotel I stayed in yet. The location is perfect, only a few blocks from the main city square in the old part of town. The rooms are spacious and clean. And the best part is the breakfast which offers a nice variety and is very delicious.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outside window which helps to get fresh air into the room if you are not a fan of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, very good location and very clean. Staff were very nice and the cook to order breakfast is very good. The rooms by the street are very noisy due to passing cars, buses ECT. We stayed in room 16 and did not sleep well the first night. However we changed to room 10 and had a very peaceful comfortable stay the next two nights. Also I paid for 3 adults and room 16 has 2 full size beds, room 10 has 2 king size beds, I booked 2 queen beds. The change in rooms saved the stay from being unpleasant.

Room Tip: inside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Booked for 5 nights, stayed for 10. Really friendly staff, in dining room , reception and room cleaning. Arrived late and were able to have a meal without difficulty. Hotel very well located, beside museums etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19marie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Casona San Antonio for 6 nights. It's in a beautiful old colonial building with a central courtyard on a quiet street in a great location, only a few blocks from the zocalo, near lots of museums and restaurants. The hotel is spotless, the beds are comfortable, the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, it had a great shower and plenty of towels were provided.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieC032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here in mid November for a couple of nights. It was OK,but just OK. Nothing special. OVerpriced by about $50,
Tries to pull off a modern twist but misses the boat.
Room was dark, and if not for the constant spritzing of the air freshener, would have smelled funky.
The front desk and restaurant staff make an effort, but they don't have much to work with.
The continental breakfast included in the room rate is a joke. Really, they shouldn't bother.
This is not a bad place, it's just not a great place or even a good place. It's just OK.
The saving grace is its proximity to the zocalo and museo ampara.
You can do worse, but you can do better for the money, we think,

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.6 mi away
Casona Maria Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#24 of 100 in Puebla
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.1 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#23 of 100 in Puebla
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andante Hotel Boutique
Andante Hotel Boutique
#22 of 100 in Puebla
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona San Antonio

Address: 9 Oriente 203 | Col. Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range: $71 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casona San Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casona San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing