We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sense of Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casona San Antonio
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Puebla
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sense of Place”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Casona San Antonio is just what it should be, a small, well run hotel in an old hacienda located a few blocks from the Zocalo, the heart of Puebla. The staff welcomes you as if to a private home and the spacious rooms are set around a charming courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 454Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    41
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
63
72
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I feel the San Antoinio falls between "average" and "very good" which I guess would be "good." The hotel is an odd spot - somethings are quite wonderful, others less so. We originally booked a "classic suite" but found that not only wasn't it a suite in the sense of more than one room (and this is a general regional use of the term "suite") it was a small, dark room that faced onto an inner courtyard with tables and bar service. And, as it turned out, many hours of canned music. We immediately upgraded ourselves to a "junior suite" which was far from this spot, quiet and much nicer. It cost about 20$ US more per night which was worth it. Our new room was also on the dark side but it was quite well appointed with a wooden ceiling that must have been 25 feed high. It had an excellent bathroom/shower (good pressure, lots of hot water - not so obvious in Mexico) and high speed, completely reliable wifi internet. It also had a very good bed.

Despite it's self-branding as a "spa" the San Antonio feels more like a small business hotel.

The one real real problem with the hotel was the complimentary continental breakfast. In a city justifiably renowned for its food (the home of mole poblano, no less) the breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, a fruit platter with unripe papaya (don't even know how you get that in Puebla) and white bread toast with a couple of little containers of butter and jam. Very sub-standard. When I pointed out to the waiter that the papaya wasn't ripe - he nodded and that was the end of that. I'm not sure what the rest of the menu (they're open for dinner, also) or even the full breakfast might have been like but it was off-putting.

That said, the staff was friendly and helpful and our nights were quiet and restful. If they could fix up the kitchen (or abandon it altogether) they would be better off.

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms around the small courtyard. Canned music and probably not too quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonKMontreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, exceptional staff (particularly Cesar Navarro who is REALLY exceptional!) good food and all at an affordable price. Que mas? This is one place well worth checking out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night only on Dec. 30th 2012. Parking is located behind the hotel (access from 11 oriente), traffic by road construction and one way streets everywhere, we spent a little longer time than we expected to reach the parking, but the hotel lady was waiting at the parking entrance (in cold night! Thank you!). Our room had 2 king beds on loft and sofa-bed on ground floor which was nice for 6 of us (3 adults and 3 kids). The lady made the sofa-bed and gave us extra towels right after we checked in. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was OK, good enough as it's included in fee. They gave us some tips around city for shopping and place to go with the area map. It is not very close, but not too far from Zocalo. We would consider staying again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bobochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We selected this hotel because of strongly positive reviews here (some negative ones have been posted since), and were extremely disappointed:
1) Arrangements were made in advance for an extra bed in one of our rooms, and confirmed on arrival at the hotel. Returning from dinner and finding no extra bed, we were then told the hotel doesn't have any extra beds. The only person at the hotel who seemed interested in actually solving the problem was a bellman/waiter (Raoul) who brought a second sofa into the room, which was a reasonable makeshift way for another person to sleep. Speaking to the manager two days later (the first day any management was present in the hotel), she said they should have borrowed a bed from another hotel, but she never followed upon this -- nevertheless, they continued the "extra person charge."
2) There was nowhere in the hotel other than the room to sit comfortably because of the cold. It was necessary to wear coats at breakfast most mornings. There were heaters in the dining room and patio, but I could not convince anybody to turn them on.
3) Terrible coffee -- probably instant. On occasion Raoul made us coffee from the espresso machine, much better.
4) Failed to service my mother-in-law's room one day because she was in it most of the day. But never asked her if she wanted service. She ran out of toilet paper, telling me the room was not properly serviced the day before. What competent room attendant leaves only 1 day's worth of TP in the room?
5) Upon check-out we were dinged US $2 for an accidentally broken glass in one of the rooms.
6) The much-heralded "spa" was unavailable during our whole stay.

These service problems are a real shame. The hotel has a great location and a nice facility. But it needs competent, attentive management, which would immediately realize it would make sense to have a rollaway bed or two on hand and to provide adequate heating in the public areas so that people will enjoy lingering over drinks and meals during chilly weather. They have apparently become lax because of the good ratings they've gotten up til now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The San Antonio was a beautiful, quiet, little hotel just off the beaten path but close to EVERYTHING! The staff were friendly and able to work with us in English. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was great with variety and choices. Enjoyed our short stay. Would stay here for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssteinfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved this hotel for its location, spacious and modern rooms, breakfasts and Caesar, who constantly went out of his way to ensure that the guests were happy and a wealth of information. The interior courtyard was great for reading and relaxing. The hotel's location was wonderful -- only a few blocks from the zocola and other attractions. We had a room with two queen beds located in the middle of the hotel on the second floor.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms that are on the front with two queen size beds that are beautiful and with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Puebla Centro Historico
0.6 mi away
Casona Maria
Casona Maria
#6 of 99 in Puebla
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
#17 of 99 in Puebla
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meson Sacristia de la Compania
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
#15 of 99 in Puebla
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nueva Luna Hotel Boutique Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona San Antonio

Property: Hotel Casona San Antonio
Address: 9 Oriente 203 | Col. Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casona San Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casona San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing