We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for 50 USD”
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I was looking for a chip, clean and close to downtown hotel. This one fits the profile just right and service is great.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Reedmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 109 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

Rooms are on 3 stories surrounding the inner courtyard. Any noise echoes and noise is prevalent until late at night and early in the morning. Service is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitaInJocotepec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We have just returned from three nights at the Imperial Hotel Puebla. There were lots of positives about the hotel, but some unforgiveable negatives as well.
This hotel is an antique and in some ways rather charming. It is in a great location just a couple blocks from the zocalo. The lady who runs reception during the day, Sandra, is charming, smart and has a welcoming, warm smile. She does not speak English, however, and if this is important to you, you should beware. (The majority of people we encountered in Puebla had almost no English. I speak enough Spanish to get by and I don't know how things would have gone if I did not have this skill.) The evening reception person, Edit, does speak English well and was adept at solving problems.
The breakfast was about as limited as I have seen, and i am a true budget traveler. Toast, cornflakes, melons and weak coffee. There was a group of students staying the same time as us. On their first morning they overpowered the breakfast and the staff ran out of coffee in ten minutes. After that we made coffee in the room and bought pastries to supplement the breakfast. There are fewer pastry shops in Puebla Centro than you might expect, We were directed to a good one (Flor de Mexico?) on 3 Sur and Reforma, six blocks from the hotel.
Our room was on the top floor and was charmingly Mexican. Mexican linens and small windows that open over bars to the walkway / courtyard. It was fairly clean but the carpet was filthy. We had a patio-type table from which we ate our breakfast. The TV only showed programs in Spanish.
The sink failed on our first night and we had to crawl on the floor to use the stopper after that. The shower rod was about ready to give up the ghost. It took a long time to get hot water.
Two out of three nights the other residents were noisy through out the night and the hotel did nothing to correct them. The rooms are far from sound proof.
They advertise an evening snack. The snack is awful and the people who show up for it would fit right in at the nursing home houses Homer Simpson's father...if it were in Mexico. Ordinarily I love Mexican cuisine. Both the snack and breakfast were below the level that the hotel advertises.
In spite of all this, the people were nice and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a quiet room on the upper floor, knowing that noise is likely and hard beds are a st...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel itself quite nice but a little worn out.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for a week. Booking a room directly proved difficult as they required a bank transfer (i'm UK based and the instructions didnt make sense). Good value rooms, basic breakfast, snack in the evening (beer and a small meal), staff OK and rooms cleaned regularly. You can't complain at the price and close to the centre of Pueble and trhe conference centre. Rooms towards the front are cooler in temperature than those at the back due to open inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Ask for those towards the street, not at the back
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The Hotel was very clean and the maid service was excellent. I was there in the week of the Mexican Spring break. I did not know that the hotel was full of young kids from soccer teams from all over the country. There was a quiet time of 10 pm, of course the kids carried on at full voice long long after 10. Nobody in the management ever asked them to be quiet. I found it very noisy when I was there and not too easy to sleep.

When I had problems with the WIFI there was nobody there who had time to help, only one person on the front desk with a dozen people waiting. Probably the only time I could get the attention of the front desk was when I came to pay my nights stay.

If you are looking for a clean place at a value, this is a pretty fair deal.

If you plan on needing the help if the front desk for anything, keep on looking!

Room Tip: If they are hosting a tournament keep looking!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

It's a very old hotel with old fashion smells.
You can see the owner tries their best to make guest comfortable on details.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puebla hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Senorial
Hotel Senorial
#20 of 100 in Puebla
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gilfer
Hotel Gilfer
#43 of 100 in Puebla
111 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Puebla Plaza
Hotel Puebla Plaza
#88 of 100 in Puebla
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Star Express
Hotel Star Express
#55 of 100 in Puebla
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Paseo
Hotel del Paseo
#74 of 100 in Puebla
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson San Sabastian
Meson San Sabastian
#63 of 100 in Puebla
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: 4 Oriente 212 | Colonia Centro, Puebla 72000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Puebla > Puebla
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Puebla
Price Range: $38 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Imperial 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Puebla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing