We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice staff, excellent location -- I recommend!”
Review of Reyna Soledad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reyna Soledad
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Zacatecas
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice staff, excellent location -- I recommend!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here in March 2013 for 8 nights. I got 20% off because I was staying more than a week, and for paying in cash -- definitely worth asking for! The hotel itself is just lovely, the location can't be beat, and the staff were so nice.

Hotel: An old ex-convent, two stories, with patios and a central courtyard. They've restored it in the best way, keeping all the good old decorative features but updating it to modern standards. The rooms are good size, with nice furniture to match the historic property. They've kept the old tiled floors and wood beam ceilings, as well as the original doors to all the rooms. The room doors have these little built-in windows, which were so charming and practical. The bathrooms are small but very well appointed, with hot showers, fresh white towels, shampoo, lotion and soap provided, and a hair dryer. There's excellent wifi and purified water, both for free!

Staff: My travel partner and I came down with vomiting and diarrhea, and the staff could not have been nicer. From the maid who cleaned our bathroom with grace and efficiency, to the porter who carried our bags up and down the stairs, and finally to the front desk staff who recommended items from the pharmacy, we were well cared for during our convalescence. When I complained one night that our neighbor's TV was too loud, the staff quickly took care of it. The housekeeping staff is really top-notch, better than any 5 star hotel.

Location: The location can't be beat! Despite being right on the main street across from the plaza and next to the cathedral, we never had a problem with street noise.

Room Tip: The hotel's website has photos, which are completely accurate of just how nice the hotel is. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murwillumbah
Level Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Zacatecas is a very interesting place. Good museums, a scenic cable car ride, the visit to the Eden Mine. The Reyna Soledad is in a very central location and though only basic is very comfortable. It's housed in in a building that was built as a convent in the 1700s so it has a fair bit of historical character. 590 pesos per night for triple share was good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Funny, how the end of your stay can color the whole experience. On the positive side: the Hotel Soledad is well-located and moderately priced at 590 pesos/night. It has colonial charm, hot water, okay beds, and TV. There are no other amenities. Realistically- if your neighbors are noisy – you will hear them, as the gaps under the doors are significant – But the doors are beautiful from an architectural viewpoint. On the negative side: It does not have heat. It is dark and dismal in the rain. The minute you walk in you are bombarded with a sales pitch to buy tours. THERE IS NO REFUND IF YOU LEAVE EARLY. This was not communicated to us either during our reservation process or when we checked in. We stayed there from Jan 31 to Feb 3, 2010 and had made reservations for 4 nights via e-mail. Unfortunately, the weather was unusually cold and rainy during our stay and after 2 days we decided that we wanted to leave 1 day early. We told the reception of our plan and they said no problem. Unfortunately we do not speak Spanish. When we went to check out they refused to refund the 4th night. The mistake we made was paying in advance via credit card for our entire anticipated stay. Our credit card company - Citibank was not able to acquire a refund for us either.
We would love to come back to Zacatecas when the weather cooperates. We saw several other nice hotels in the central historic district that we would consider next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred&Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Arrived Feb 2nd 2010. Hotel would not honor the booked rate although I had a printed confirmation sheet. They added !80 pesos a night on top. They also took all three nights rental payment from my credit card the minute I arrived. It was February and cold about 35f-40f. The rooms had no heat at all, when I asked for heat there wasn't any. No one spoke English at all, normally this is not to much of a problem the staff work with you to understand your needs. Not at this hotel staff at front reception not cooperative at all. The maids and other staff were very nice. I moved to as soon as I could. All the hotels in town were running promations with 4 star hotel cheaper then what I paid at Reyna Soledad.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank pceire32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We spent two nights here enroute to the States. Our room was quite large with a king-sized bed and rustic furniture (colonial) which is fine with us. The only thing we didn't like was the parking which was valet only and apparently an outdoor lot as we had lots of leaves on our car. Inconvenient to have to ask for our car every time we wanted it since they usually didn't have but one person tending to everything. We didn't mind driving in and around Zacatecas at all as we live south of Guadalajara and have to drive there about once a month. The hotel is half a block to the cathedral and there are plenty of restaurants very close. We had a floor fan and were very comfortable with only that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceinAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We spent two nights in a master suite at the Reyna Soledad. The location couldn't be better - one block from the Cathedral and Plaza, but far enough to be away from any noise. We made a reservation through the on-line service after not being able to get through to the hotel by phone. The rate quoted was for two people, but the manager did not charge us for the extra child after I explained that I had tried to call them directly without success.
The hotel was a 16th century convent, so the rooms are set around two small courtyards. There is a pleasant patio on the second floor with tables and chairs.
The room we had was spacious with rustic pine king and double beds, wardrobe, vanity, desk and several chairs. We entered through two huge wooden double doors unlocked with an old fashioned key. The beds were firm and comfortable. Because of the construction of the building, there was only one inward facing window, but the room was large enough that I didn't feel penned in. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional with a separate shower stall. There was ample hot water day and night. There was wireless Internet service in the room that functioned perfectly.
There was no restaurant on-site, but there are many places within a block or two to choose from: cafes, bars, panaderias, restaurants, and convenience stores. We had a delicious buffet breakfast at the Recoveco Restaurant for 62 pesos a person - it's a 15 minute walk away.
I would recommend the Reyna Soledad to those who prefer historic rather than modern hotels. The rates are very reasonable for the quality of the accomodation and the management was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BetsyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Very close to the Cathedral - that is really the only good thing about this hotel. We reserved a junior suite for $54, which was under renovation when we got there, so they gave us a standard room with no windows for $52 - a much higher price than the standard room's online $38 rate. After we sat down and talked to several hotel staff members about this, the manager eventually offered us the lower rate for the second night, but would not honor the rate for the first night. Around 8pm on our second night there, the back portion of the hotel lost power. The staff offered us candles for lighting. They kept messing with their fusebox, trying to get the power back, but never called anyone who knew how to fix it. The power was still out when we left the next afternoon. They welcomed us back to stay with them on our next trip to Zacatecas, in all seriousness.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the unfriendly and unhelpful management
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nopalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0.2 mi away
Meson de la Merced
Meson de la Merced
#9 of 37 in Zacatecas
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Argento Zacatecas
Mision Argento Zacatecas
#11 of 37 in Zacatecas
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
#1 of 37 in Zacatecas
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Rita
Hotel Santa Rita
#7 of 37 in Zacatecas
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Providencia
Hotel Providencia
#13 of 37 in Zacatecas
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Real Zacatecas
Quinta Real Zacatecas
#3 of 37 in Zacatecas
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reyna Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reyna Soledad

Property: Reyna Soledad
Address: Calle Tacuba 170, Zacatecas 98000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Zacatecas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Reyna Soledad 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Reyna Soledad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing