We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internal windows looking on to a noisy light well” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Santa Rita
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Zacatecas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Internal windows looking on to a noisy light well”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Zacatecas is a town of beautiful rose pink buildings in a spectacular setting. On my second night I had a wonderful light filled room with a balcony over-looking the cathedral and Cerro de la Bufa – at the Hotel Emporio - for about the same price as I had paid for the drab, dull dark room at the Santa Rita which had only a small window that didn’t open and, in any case, only looked over an internal courtyard into the room opposite. Not somewhere to linger.

Had there been a window that faced the street - or possibly even a larger window onto the courtyard and one that did not look straight across into another room, this room might have been fine, as the bed was comfortable and both bed and bath room were spacious. But there again the noise from the stairway echoed as the floor was grey granite tiles and the acoustic was harsh.

Breakfast was basic though at least if you didn’t like the coffee included, the hotel’s main entrance was shared with a Starbucks…..and if you don’t like the sound of that, there are many other places to stay in Zacatecas with great locations and better rooms.

Room Tip: If you are agoraphobic then the internal rooms with their small windows will be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ramón C, Gerente at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
First of all, we appreciate the time you took to write this review. Knowing the feeling and experience of our customers in our hotel is very important to us because it allows us to improve our service.

We mentioned that we have corrected the details of the room and at any time our staff will be attentive to any situation to make you comfortable during your stay.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
38
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
357 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent two nights on a business trip to Zacatecas. Nice hotel with all the amenities. Wonderful artwork on all the walls and in all public spaces. You are just in front of a centuries old market and to the side of one of the most wonderful cathedrals. Service was good, nice breakfast included and attentive staff, had trouble trying to get a late checkout even though my company is a good client. Overall a good experience with opportunities for upgrading. This is a place to come on a weekend with your spouse, probably not children.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the street are clearly the best, specially on higher floors 4 and 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ramón C, Gerente at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
First of all, we appreciate the time you took to write this review. Knowing the feeling and experience of our customers in our hotel is very important to us because it allows us to improve our service.

We are very proud of our hotel and its service. Reviews like yours obey us to be even better. Thanks and we hope to see you soon here again

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Grand hotel on so many levels. Nice view of city, sounds of church bells through the day, bright and airy, the rooms with balcony. Very helpful, professional and friendly staff. Food and beverage team outstanding - delicious choices, impeccable and humble-friendly service, delightful! Room layout good (except bathroom-very awkward bathtub space, especially for folks using cane, carefully navigating). Charming, clean, well kept rooms, spacious and comfortable, VERY comfortable bedding. Elevator and other accomodations made for handicap good, little access through business door if late in evening. Overall very pleased and will book again without hesitation. Thank you for a great and relaxed vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony, other rooms are a bit dark, will cost a bit more-worth the daylight and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKCRUZADO, Director Comercial at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments
We hope you allow us to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel Santa Rita in the historic center of Zacatecas. The room and amenities were great, and I enjoyed the location near the cathedral: I could hear churchbells and the notes from the bandas performing at the callejoneadas when I opened the windows on the balcony. The staff was great-- everyone was kind and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VivaMexicoLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Ramón C, Gerente at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
First of all, we appreciate the time you took to write this review. Knowing the feeling and experience of our customers in our hotel is very important to us because it allows us to improve our service.

We are very pleased that your stay was a success, the callejoneadas are some of the very best of the traditional Zacatecas, we expect to see you soon!


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We went to Zacatecas to spend good Friday, the city is great but that weekend is specially crazy, people everywhere, and the streets are closed for the week. On the upside there are free cultural events throughout the city. Santa Rita is just across the street from the Cathedral, it has only a handful of rooms and no parking in the premises. The building has a great architecure and the rooms have been adjusted to fit the building. The rooms are clean, quiet and trendy. The restaurant service is great, the morning buffet is fantastic and not very expensive. Dont forget to enjoy the terrace where you can enjoy a great view of the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorghinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKCRUZADO, Director Comercial at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments
We hope you allow us to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
473 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed two nights at the beautiful, five star boutique Hotel Santa Rita. Our suite was located on the 4th floor, which is the top floor. It had two terraces, one off the bedroom and one off the bathroom and ample dressing area. The bedding, linens, toiletries and many amenities were all top notch.

From our terrace it seemed as if, by reaching out , you could almost touch the gorgeous cathedral. At night the views of the lighted city and the cathedral were amazing!!!!!

Our package included American breakfast : juice or fresh fruits, yogurt and granola, different kinds of delicious breads, cooked to order entree, coffee or tea. Our waiter, Gilberto, was wonderful!!!!!
The package also included a Swedish massage. Alberto, was a real pro, very professional. What a great treat! I really enjoyed every minute! I highly recommend it!

The hotel is located in the heart of the historic center. You can walk everywhere. It also had free valet parking. The staff was very professional and helpful, making restaurant reservations and providing directions to places of interest. Thanks to Lucia, Sara, and especially to the manager, Jose Chairez.

The Hotel Santa Rita is definitely a gem in beautiful and unforgettable Zacatecas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKCRUZADO, Director Comercial at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments
We hope you allow us to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2008

Everything about our visit was positive. The room was total luxury with great linens and we loved watching Fox International TV. Even the bath towels were folded into fans and tied with burgandy ribbons. The staff was wonderful and Jesus, the manager, was able to give us great suggestions for restuarants and sightseeing. It was a bit odd to not have an exterior window, but everything else was perfect.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank pookiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANKCRUZADO, Director Comercial at Hotel Santa Rita, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Thank you so much for your comments
We hope you allow us to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
#1 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Real Zacatecas
Quinta Real Zacatecas
#3 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Torres Hotel
Casa Torres Hotel
#4 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Zacatecas
0.1 mi away
Mision Argento Zacatecas
Mision Argento Zacatecas
#11 of 38 in Zacatecas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meson de la Merced
Meson de la Merced
#9 of 38 in Zacatecas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Rita

Property: Hotel Santa Rita
Address: Avenida Hidalgo 507 | A Centro, Zacatecas 98000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zacatecas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zacatecas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Rita 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Rita Hotel is located between the Cathedral and the impressive Theater Calderón. It has a facade of 200 years, a traditional exterior and modern interior.It has a total of 41 rooms, including indoor, outdoor and Suites. All offer plasma TV, air conditioning, safe box and free Internet.Santa Rita Hotel offers sober hardwood floors, comfortable beds, imported products bathroom and some of the rooms come with Jacuzzi, outdoor panoramic view, balcony and terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rita Zacatecas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing