We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baruk Teleferico y Mina
Nearby Hotels
$156
$126
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meson de Jobito(Zacatecas)
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$38
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Rita(Zacatecas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
104
43
30
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
43
30
15
19
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 211 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel rooms were awesome, the view amazing and the service was incredible, the concierge was the best I have ever come across and is fluent in English. Me and my friends were backpacking but got one room for four people, it was more expensive then a hostel, but you should seriously consider it because it was so nice to come home to a clean room! Best Mexican hotel experience! Pool is at other hotel but can be used by guests at this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBruno0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We would have given this hotel a positive rating except for two circumstances: our room became permeated with a strong smell of sewer gas, and the management did not provide a discount as compensation. We cannot recommend this hotel, and we are not likely to stay here again.

We first noticed the odor on the evening of our check-in when a sewer gas smell drove us from the room's outside terrace. The next day the odor appeared in the bathroom. We plugged the shower drain and kept the bathroom door closed, but by the next morning the smell had permeated the entire room.

When checking out, we informed the desk clerk about the problem, and a maid went to the room and confirmed it. The clerk said we would have to wait approximately half-an-hour to discuss a discount with the manager. Not wishing to delay our departure, we asked the clerk to tell the manager to apply any discount to our credit card. As of 48 hours later, no credit has appeared, so we believe management has ignored our request.

We understand this rambling, hillside property was designed by a famous architect in 1960 and was completely renovated in 2006. It has some interesting architectural features including the restaurant and the meeting center. But our room showed signs of wear such as the malfunctioning sewer system, damage from a water leak in the ceiling, non-working bathroom scale, chipped paint, balky toilet, etc.

PROS:
-Outdoor terrace attached to rooms.
-Most rooms seem to have good views of the town and Cerro de la Bufa.
-Good breakfast if you pay extra for the good breakfast.
-Close to the teleferico (cable car) station and the mine tour.

CONS:
-Strong sewer smell
-Unresponsive management
-Deferred maintenance
-Not convenient walking distance to the town center: must circle around the teleferico station and head downhill. As my wife was nursing a sore foot, we took a lot of taxis.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a local Folk Festival we were involved in. Overall, it was a beautiful hotel. The photos on the webiste are accurate. The rooms were spacious, the design was nice and the view was amazing. The location was also ideal. It was relatively close to the historical part of town (Plaza de Armas and the Cathedral). You could easily get there by taxi OR walk down several steep flights of stairs directly to the center of town. The only challenge was walking back UP the steps at an elevation of over 8000 ft.

Just around the corner is the Teleferico, or the sky cable car. It goes across the city and is an amazing way to get a spectacular view. Also down the street is the "Mina de Eden" which is an old silver mine. The tour is in Spanish so unless you're going with a translator or speak Spanish, you won't really know what's going on. However, the mine itself is lovely.

My only complaint is that for a very fancy hotel, it lacks the usual amenities of a business hotel. There was only one computer in the "business center" and it was not connected to a printer of any kind. There was also no way to connect MY computer with the front desk computer or printer. They also wouldn't allow me to use THEIR computer to try to print something. They also didn't have a copy machine. You could make copies through their fax machine but you ended up getting the old fashioned thermal paper. You would also only be able to copy single sheets of paper (as opposed to a book or a passport). Your only option is to climb down the steep steps to the colonial part of town and find the internet cafe or a "papeleria" for copies.

If you're NOT there to do business, it's a great hotel. The free wireless internet was also a bit sketchy (it sometimes works and sometimes doesn’t).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnipegHiroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que revisen que todos los servicios de la habitación funcionen correctamente.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baruk H, Ecommerce Baruk at Hotel Baruk Teleferico y Mina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baruk H, Ecommerce Baruk at Hotel Baruk Teleferico y Mina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews