We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Great Views & Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Villa Colonial de Zacatecas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Villa Colonial de Zacatecas
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean,Great Views & Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have been to many hostels and this is by far one of the best we have ever stayed at! Not only is the staff VERY friendly but the rooms / bathrooms are very clean as well. They have a wonderful balcony with kitchen included and bbq pit with a great view of Zacatecas. The location is perfect and is within walking distance of everything important. The streets are safe at all times of the day and you can't beat the price!

We would recommend to all who visit!

Room Tip: make sure to ask for one on the top floor. But you may get winded by the altitude .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
29
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here recently for 5 nights over Semana Santa, and luckily enough it coincided with the music Festival Cultura. The hostel is well situated, literally 2mins walk to the main street Hidalgo containing all the major shops, restaurants and handicrafts stalls etc. There was a bit of confusion about our reservation for a private room when we arrived (make sure you ring them if you are arriving late as they did not have access to their email at the time), which resulted in us having to sleep in a dorm the first night. However, they did apologise for the confusion and upgraded us to a nicer room with a kitchenette which proved quite useful. The dorm we were in the first night wasn't great, quite small but did have lockers. The shared bathrooms for the dorms both needed a good clean. On the other hand, the room we were upgraded to in the annex building (across the street, which contains the private rooms) was immaculate with a new bathroom and really good shower, and the TV with cable was an added bonus. The staff were all really nice and helpful, and we were offered to have the room cleaned every day. Most of the private rooms seem to have small balconies and there are beautiful roof terraces overlooking the city in both buildings.

Lastly, the WIFI signal was great in both buildings and computers are available in the hostel, as is a kitchen and really good book exchange.

Some tips on where to eat:
Garufa - great steaks, big portions but probaly one of the priciest restaurants in town.
La Traviatta - Good thin crust pizza & cheap beer
Mykonos - new Mediterranean restaurant opposite Lavaderia El Indio Triste - really good gazpacho and hummus. Really cheap wine and beer.

Room Tip: Go for a private room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoycieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

What can I say that hasn't already been said?

From my experience the staff was helpful and very friendly. Some of which spoke amazing English. The people staying there were also very friendly and interesting. The location? Top notch. Walking distance to most amazing things in the town, the centro for sure. Security is great with cameras and somebody at the front door all night. My motorcycle remained untouched for 5 days on the street.

I'm traveling on my motorcycle with a tight budget an for 90 pesos the place was hard to beat with its amazing views and location. The showers could have been a bit cleaner, but after all we are in Mexico and by its standards they were clean.

When I'm not camping I approach every place with an open mind and this one surely didn't let me down.

I high recommend it. Thursday night they have a party and it's a good time to meet friendly Mexicans and travelers alike.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSmith1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

i cannot speak more highly of this hostel! we had a private room in a seperate building which was great! we had our own bathroom too and it was so cheap!! internet, steaming hot water, cable tv, it was great! the hostel has parties once a week where you pay for the cup then get unlimited margaritas! then pub crawl! the hostel has international phone calls for cheap, internet and computers for use, information about the city and surrounding areas, we organised a trip to la quemada the ruins about an hour away. the rooftop patio was so nice as well with stunning views of the city! perfect location aswell only a block from the cathedral! such a lovely hostel! oh and the black lab is adorable aswell!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motown93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
276 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Nice place, very downtown located, not exactly luxury, but cozy and with some great views at Zacatecas and the Cathedral from the terrace. I did not really like the dorms much, but the private rooms (with or without bathroom) are a great deal for just about 20 - 25 USD! Number 11 is especially nice with two huge windows. There are details ... like the table lamp did not work, but the overall experience was very good. The hostal has two kitchens you can use and internet with excellent signal inside all the rooms.

Room Tip: Go for private rooms. Try number 11 at the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

Fantastic location, a short walk from the cathedral and the historical centre. Convenience stores, banks and restaurants close by. Easy walk to museums and gardens.

Rooftop terrace with great view of the town, especially the cathedral. Wonderful sunset while we were there, though it gets very cold the moment the sun sets.

Margarita party on Thursdays for a small fee, followed by a bar crawl. Sadly we were too tired after travelling all day.

Our room was clean, spacious for a hostel, and comfortable enough. The pillows however, were completely inadequate, as they were so lumpy I found them unusable.

The staff were friendly and helpful, though with my limited Spanish I felt far less welcome than my partner, who is fluent.

The wireless internet is good in the lounge area/cable tv room, but didn't really reach our room like advertised.

A great little hostel if you're just looking for a comfortable place to stay so you can explore this wonderful town, but remember to bring a fleece for the evenings!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozamamainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

In 2010, I rode my motorcycle from Argentina to California. Along the way, I stayed in loads of different hotels, hostels and other assorted inns. This place ranks among my favorite places in which I stayed.

Staff was very friendly and happy to help me find a place to park my motorcycle. Thanks! My dormitory room was clean, nice and definitely worth the price paid. I didn't see them, but other guests had good things to say about the private rooms. The hostal has a very nice kitchen, plus a tv/reading lounge. The place also has very good wireless internet access. All things considered, I liked the hostel a lot, but the crown jewel of the building is the roof top patio. At night, it has one of the most amazing city views I've ever seen. A very enjoyable place to enjoy a few beers with friends (they sell good beer at cheap prices too)!

Finally, the location is hard to beat. You are about one and a half blocks from the main town square, in a clean, safe and well lit area. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0.3 mi away
Meson de la Merced
Meson de la Merced
#9 of 38 in Zacatecas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Rita
Hotel Santa Rita
#5 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Argento Zacatecas
Mision Argento Zacatecas
#11 of 38 in Zacatecas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Torres Hotel
Casa Torres Hotel
#4 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Real Zacatecas
Hotel Casa Real Zacatecas
#27 of 38 in Zacatecas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
#1 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Colonial de Zacatecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Colonial de Zacatecas

Property: Hostal Villa Colonial de Zacatecas
Address: Primera de Mayo y Cjon del Mono Prieto, Zacatecas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Zacatecas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Villa Colonial de Zacatecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing