We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel quiet also” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson de la Merced

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meson de la Merced
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Zacatecas
hermosa beach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel quiet also”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

Very quiet, 400 meters from cathedral, on Juarez ave, internet computer in lobby, 65$ per night

  • Liked — good location quiet
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deserttraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
42
29
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2006

The ctiy of Zacatecas was very beautiful. This hotel was the worst part of my stay. We had to stay the full 9 days because they were having a huge festival and all of the other hotels were booked. Four days out of the 9 it rained and our ceiling would leak. We informed the staff and nothing was ever done. Then, we had to each night for some reason go to the front desk to have our key card reset to enter our room. Then, to top it off, I had hid 80 US Dollars in one of my drawers and when I returned it was missing. When I reported the incident to the manager he informed me that there will be an investigation. Which at this time I thought I had some hope in getting my money back. After a (THOROUGH?) investigation and me having to continously hunt down the manger, they would only give me $40 back. Even then, they just took it out of my bill.

  • Liked — Lobby area was decorated beautiful
  • Disliked — Staff, service and no A/C
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at the La Quinta Real, hotel de Bosque or Santa Rita all in the downtown area
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fherna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zacatecas hotels

Torreon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2006

Zacatecas was great. El Meson was terrible. The staff is sloppy in their customer care. (They forgot the toilet paper one day, and towels the next!) Desinterested and unacommodating. The room we stayed in was somewhat in disrepair. To top it all we were staying in the top floor (5 flights) and the only elevator was out of service for all but one of our 4 days stay. For the price I have done much better in Mexico, US and Europe.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Cillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2006

Stayed here with two friends over New Year's for four days. The hotel is not luxiourious as some hotels in Zacatecas are (Quinta Real or Emporio), but our room was very spacious (a triple with three double beds, one in a separate but open room with no door), the bathroom was clean with a HUGE shower, and there was a balcony overlooking a lovely square. Also, the staff at the desk was particularly nice and helpful. In fact, they let us stay in the room until 3 pm on the day of check-out with no extra charge. The hotel is a few blocks from the cathedral, but it's still in the beautiful, historic part of the city. Oh, and the room was a great bargain I thought at $70/night for three. The only downside was that the heating did not seem to work well; however, it wasn't cold enough for us to really require much heat, so we didn't complain or inquire about fixing it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2005

My wife and I have stayed here twice before and plan to stay there when we pass thrrough Zacatecas next week. A couple of blocks from the Zona Central, a half a block from a beautiful plaza (Cana Lilies in Early January) and restaurants on the same block. Underground parking, an elevator, indoor waterfall, budgy birds outside each room and restaurant in a courtyard overlooked by a balcony outside each room on 2 upper levels. At 499 pesos it was the best place we stayed in our previous 2 car trips through the west side of Mexico.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0.2 mi away
Mision Argento Zacatecas
Mision Argento Zacatecas
#11 of 38 in Zacatecas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Rita
Hotel Santa Rita
#5 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
#1 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Torres Hotel
Casa Torres Hotel
#4 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Zacatecas
Quinta Real Zacatecas
#3 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meson de Jobito
Meson de Jobito
#6 of 38 in Zacatecas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson de la Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson de la Merced

Property: Meson de la Merced
Address: Avenida Juarez 114, Zacatecas 98000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Zacatecas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meson de la Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Meson de la Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson De La Merced Zacatecas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing