We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smart hotel with a couple of details slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Real Zacatecas
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Zacatecas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

POSITIVES

 A very helpful receptionist when I arrived (Filiberto) – I was very early but he found me a room immediately and provided a real welcome.
 A large room: with flat screen TV (didn’t try it) and 2 semi-comfortable chairs.
 There is a safe in the room, ironing board and iron. Wifi is provided and is fast and reliable.
 There are large and smart reception areas – but there is no heating and nobody chooses to use them.
The room is very quiet.
 The bed (a king) has good linens and is very comfortable.
 A striking conversion of a former bull ring.

NEGATIVES

 The desk is a glass shelf on two concrete owls – it is a bit too high to be comfortable to use. There is a lamp. The desk chair has a wicker seat and the chair doesn’t give enough support for work of any length at the desk. I would prefer a proper desk and comfortable office chair.
 The hot water in the bath / shower is very slow. 25 minutes to fill the bath – but it is hot.
 The tub is stained and the taps and plug showing their age.
 Breakfast is not included and costs $160MEX. It is served in a formal dining room and the service is very fussy. The food was good. I would much prefer a relaxed buffet (and a lower price).
 There is an evening bed turn down service – very fussy with slippers positioned next to the bed and a sweet placed on the bed. Adds nothing as far as I am concerned.
 The internet expires after 24 hours and asks for $88 US for another 24 hours access – I went to reception and they gave me another 24 hours gratis.

CONCLUSION

A pleasant and comfortable hotel to stay in. For the price I would expect the last few details to be gotten right. I don’t know who likes the fussy bits of the hotel – to me they add nothing to my stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 305 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Even if you don't plan on staying here, it's worth a visit. This is a very unique property built around two historic attractions, a bullring and the aqueduct. The property is very well maintained, they have events in the bullring so ask the concierge for the schedule.

Room Tip: Bullring view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wow! This is an excellent hotel built on the outer, circular portion of the grandstands of a bull fighting stadium. This reconstruction was done many years ago and has been well maintained. The bricked courtyard is the old bull ring. The hotel has an excellent bar and lounge located in the corral area where the bulls were held. The grand architecture with the many bricked arches is wonderful. The terraced restaurant that we frequented was elegant and the food was first class. You would think you were in Paris or Manhattan. Our room was one of the most elegant places we have ever stayed, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. You will be given a menu showing a variety of pillows for you to choose from. The view from our room was of Zacatecas' old aqueduct which nicely framed our views of the city. Go and enjoy! And you will thank me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the aqueduct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Both Lonely Planet Mexico and Karen Brown Mexico guide books said we had to stay at Quinta Real Zacatecas and experience it. Lonely Planet said “it’s worth seeing red (in terms of your bank balance) to experience this luxury treat.” We know, after 17 years of our peregrinations, to be skeptical of claims like that. We wouldn’t say that we were looking to find fault but we were on the lookout.

Our first impression of the Quinta Real in Zacatecas was with Alberto at the reception desk (Hoteles Quinta Real, Av. Ignciao Rayon 434, Col. Centro, Zacatecas, Zac., CP 98000, Mexico, tel. 492-922-4104, 800-500-4000, web: www.quintareal.com). Neither Dimitri nor I liked him. Dimitri had pre-paid for our Master Suite (M$1612.50 for 3 nights plus IVA M$774, plus ISH M$96.75 = M$5708.25 total or US$137 per day) The first room Alberto showed us was small, had no view (and not much light either) and using the excuse that, because it was a smoking room, we told him we wanted to see another room. Even though it wasn’t clean we were shown room 303 off of the lobby. It was bigger, had a desk for one of our computers, a balcony overlooking a small courtyard off of the bullring, a fireplace, a king bed, a flat screen TV over the fireplace with good channels (but no music channels like we had in another hotel), two chairs that looked like they might be comfortable in front of the TV (they weren’t), a big armoir that had a mini fridge in it, 2 shelves, 2 drawers (and 2 drawer-looking things that were fake).

We said that we would wait in the lobby for room 303 to be cleaned. We were told that Internet was wi-fi in the lobby area and free. In the rooms it was Internet with a cable and we were told it was US$8 per day extra. For the wi-fi in the lobby we had to get a password each day—what a pain. We think that the charge for the Internet was outrageous (and the cable would have served only one of our computers anyway) and ridiculous. While we waited the 40 minutes in the lobby we used the free wi-fi. When Dimitri got bored, he went to the room and found that it was clean. No one at reception told us, and no one offered us anything to drink, or anything, while we waited. We were getting a very bad first impression of this hotel.

In order to put all of our stuff away, we asked for the mini-frig and the shelves around it to be cleaned out of the alcohol, glasses, sodas and candy. That is the first thing Audre likes to do in a hotel that uses our limited space for its junk. The second thing that Audre does is make sure we have hangers because clothes have to be hung if drawer space is limited. The third thing Audre does is to get two bathrobes (why do hotels leave only one when it is clearly a double room?). We didn’t bring all of our suitcases in, just our overnight bags, our Igloo (everything in it fit in the mini fridg) and our frugality chic food bags with our dried fruit, mixed nuts and crackers.


After we unpacked we went for a walk around the hotel (with no lights on during the day, the halls were dark). This is what Lonely Planet says about it: “Spectacularly situated around the country’s oldest-now retired- bullring [that dates from 1866] and near El Cubo aqueduct, the 49-room hotel is one of Mexico’s most contemporary and fetching. The least expensive rooms are spacious, comfortable master suites.” That’s what we had a “master suite” for which the rack rate is around M$5200 without ISH and without IVA. The rate that Dimitri got off of the Internet (and pre-paid) was M$5708 for 3 days or about US$137 per day (without breakfast).

Dimitri set up his computer on the desk, and voilá, we had wi-fi Internet from the lobby for free. Our room was off the lobby and the signal was (just) strong enough for us to “get it”. Maybe we would get to like this hotel.

We went down to the bullring level and found a modern, air-conditioned gym with sauna and a silly hydro-massage shower. The LifeFitness equipment and the universal machine looked so good (and we had been sitting in the car driving all day) that we used the gym. Then we used the sauna and the silly hydro-massage shower. The hotel was growing on us.

We like a hotel that exudes charm and also is functional. We were making our room functional and we found the charm of the hotel.

When we got back to our room after dinner, we saw that we had had the old-fashioned “night service” or turn down service. The bed was ready for us, the curtains closed, all of the used towels changed, the trash removed, etc. Nice. Okay, maybe this hotel was a good one.

Before we went out the next morning for our tourist-ing, we told the front desk that we needed to have the duvet (couverture) replaced with a light blanket, we needed more hangers (ganchos), the drain (drenage) in the sink in the bathroom needed cleaning and we needed pillows (almohadas) that were denser. The next day after our touristing and lunch, we found that everything we asked to be done in the room had been done) and we found free champagne and flutes available in the lobby. This hotel was definitely growing on us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent experience. Service awesome, I went for a friends wedding and I need to iron my tuxedo and after 45 minutes they left in my room perfect. Food is ok but not the best, is very clean and smell good. I recommend this hotel in Zacatecas

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent several hours here but we did not stay here overnight. and it was a great experience, and to give the staff their due, they let us look the place over without hasseling us.. thank you. We took 20 photos and gasped in wonderment at how developers accomplished such a feat in building this place without interfering with the original structure
But we really would not want to pay the asking prices here... plus the whole place had a feeling like we were in a mauseleum or a library !! Not much sound of life here.. no families..no children.. frankly, I reckon that I could have wandered around with my pants down and no body would have noticed! Some reviewers have noted that it is a distance from El Centro.. well maybe it is , but the walk in and back is very interesting and you can wander through a great market area on the way... and we all need the exercise I suppose?? All in all, if you do not look at this place you will regret it.. and if the money does not worry you, then staying there will be an experience you will talk about back home.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel is beautifully designed in an old bullfight arena, site is spectacular, location is very convenient, close to historic centre. However, rooms are relatively small and also quite noisy, so sleep quality is not that great -- AC in my room was very noisy, also could hear noises (and AC) from adjacent rooms, would expect these details addresses in this type of hotel. On the positive side, service was really outstanding, and restaurant was very good as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-NYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zacatecas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
Hotel Emporio Zacatecas
#1 of 37 in Zacatecas
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Rita
Hotel Santa Rita
#6 of 37 in Zacatecas
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baruk Teleferico y Mina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meson de Jobito
Meson de Jobito
#7 of 37 in Zacatecas
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Zacatecas
Fiesta Inn Zacatecas
#3 of 37 in Zacatecas
309 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Zacatecas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Zacatecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Zacatecas

Address: Avenida Gonzalez Ortega S/N | Colonia Centro, Zacatecas 98000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Zacatecas > Zacatecas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zacatecas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zacatecas
#2 Family Hotel in Zacatecas
#3 Business Hotel in Zacatecas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zacatecas
Price Range: $114 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Real Zacatecas 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quinta Real Zacatecas is just a five minutes stroll from downtown, 10 minutes away from the Convention Center and 30 from the Zacatecas International Airport. The hotel has 49 well-appointed suites to choose from: 36 Master Suites, 10 Grand Class Suites and Presidential Suite. Restaurant Bar Silver Shop Logo Shop Restaurant open 07:00 a.M. To 12:00 a.M. Bar open 6:00 p.M. To 01:00 a.M. Gym open 06:00 a.M. To 10:30 p.M. 24-Hour suite service Medical assistance (24-hour) Baby sitting Laundry and dry cleaning Local Attractions Cathedral 10 minutes walking Gonzalez Ortega Market 7 minutes walking Francisco Goytia Museum in front of to Quinta Real Hotel Rafael Coronel Museum 10 minutes drive Pedro Coronel Museum 10 minutes walking Cable car 15 minutes drive Eden Mine 10 Minutes drive Museum of Abstract Art 15 minutes walking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta Real Zacatecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Zacatecas Hotel Zacatecas
Quinta Real Hotel Zacatecas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing