We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 'disneyland' mina!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mina El Eden

Mina El Eden
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Zacatecas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This closed mine, extremely prosperous in colonial times, offers tours of the old mining facilities and an underground nightclub.
Osasco, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A 'disneyland' mina!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I really like the guide explain, very sympathy. The mina is huge, very interesting and value the expensive entrance. Its a 'disneyland' mina (in bad and good view), cause they have a good system of illuminations, sounds, even a night club and museum inside the rocks!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank aninharocha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    242
    41
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Excellent MineTour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Mina El Eden tour was worth it . Easiest way to get to the top entrance is by taxi ($50 Pesos from Centro). The lower entrance can be reached on foot by following Hidalgo, to Juarez, turn right and walk past the long narrow park to the hospital and then turn right again for about 2 blocks. Entry price is $80 Pesos. Tour takes about 1 hour. The tour is in Spanish. For us we were fortunate the guide spoke English and provided translation. If you start your tour at the lower entrance you will finish at the top and from there it is a short walk to the cable car across the city to the Cerra de la Bufa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Deep and Dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I liked the jewelry/ gift shop, though somehow we weren't able to visit it after our tour - only before. (That might have been our own logistics problem.) The tour was good - the guide made several jokes. It was a little disconcerting when he said the upper floors had caved in and the floors below us in the mine were flooded. But from the tour, we got a real sense of the history and the hardship placed on the native people to work in the mine for the Spanish. It was a worthwhile tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roqzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Digging into history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The tour takes you down a few hundred meters underground with a bilingual guide. Mining activities are depicted with some human figures here and there. One of them was a small girl carrying water on a ladder from the bottom of the mine. The guide said the deaths averaged one or two a day. I must rethink the next time I use silverware.
The mine includes an excellent rock and mineral museum from different regions of the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yuki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amuzing, but not a "must" in Zacatecas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Compared to the excellent museums, the magnificent cathedral and the beauty of the city, this "Mina" falls short. It can be a fun experience, and the little "train" that gets you into the mine is really cool. If you only have 2 days to spend in Zacatecas, I believe there are more interesting things to do than a visit to the mine. But if you have more days, it can be a fun and constructive experience. The guides like to emphasize the story of the exploitation of the mine workers through time, so you can learn a bit of history about the colonial times, the nineteenth century and the current situation in Mexico.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank martar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mina El Eden also viewed

Zacatecas, Zacatecas
Zacatecas, Zacatecas
 
Zacatecas, Zacatecas
Zacatecas, Zacatecas
 

Been to Mina El Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing