We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than an amazing apartment...”
Review of Casa Baden-Powell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morelia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Baden-Powell
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We enrolled our kids age 8 and 7 in the Baden-Powell language school during Thanksgiving weekend. The school set up everything - airport pickup and drop off, host families for our two kids and the apartment for the remaining family. Everything was top-notch and very affordable. We will be heading back this summer!

Room Tip: The El Museo Del Dulce right around the corner is a wonderful museum worth visiting. http://mexicou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beldzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 29 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

For 2 winters I attended the Baden Powell school to study Spanish and lived with a family. The following year I returned to Morelia as I wanted my husband to see this wonderful city. So I booked the Baden Powell apartments. Our apartment was beautifully decorated but simple with Mexican art. The furnishings were very comfortable and the kitchen worked very well. There is a fabulous market in Morelia where you can get all kinds of good things to eat and try. We loved bringing home fresh fish, vegetables, desserts and eating in our apartment. Then going out to the roof terrace to enjoy the views. There is free wireless as well.

Eugenio Cortes and Regina from the school are wonderful hosts. Eugenio runs a walking tour of the city and he is a man who knows his history. Highly educated, excellent English, gracious and polite , the tour is a really good way to discover this very historic and beautiful city.

Eugenio runs the Spanish school and its worth a visit to the school as well.

When I visited on my own in previous years to study Spanish I always felt safe, even walking home from the centro historico under the bright lights at night. Its unfortunate that a kind of hysteria has developed over mexico. Morelia is very much a city of families, music, culture, history, wonderful food and markets and close to interesting sites, including the monarch butterflies. We also went to a soccer game which was great fun.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helensadowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

When you can stay in a small apartment near the centre of town that is modern, clean, secure and friendly why would you stay anywhere else ? We rented a one bedroom apartment for a week and the experience was excellent

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junkscience89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I'm writing this review to let everyone know that not only is this a great place to stay, but also that the travel advisory issued by the US State Dept should be ignored unless you intend to travel to one of the smaller towns Michoacan where the narcos are a strong presence. As a tourist in Morelia you have nothing to worry about because not only does the familia Michoacana only target those they know, but the state of Michoacan and in particular Morelia is now incredibly reinforced with police.
As a Canadian I was bit put off by the strong police presence which is so different from my country, but after having been in this state for almost ten months I realized that it's a different culture here (sort of like Texas) the presence of police with guns is much more accepted.
As to theBaden Powell apartments in Morelia, I've been here for 10 days and it's so great! The kitchen is well equipped (actually more appliances than I need) , the mattress and pillows the best in Mexico so far, the wifi works well and best of all I love walking just a block around the corner for fresh baking, making coffee and then opening my bedroom windows and watching the hummingbirds feasting on the wild flowers growing on the roof across the street. Did I mention that the Baden Powell cafe has great take out coffee if you can't be bothered making your own!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is a fantastic "apartment" building where you can have your own good size one bedroom and up apartment for a reasonable price. After travelling in hotels for a while you can really appreciate staying here and enjoying the new, clean, rooms with a great firm king size mattress.

Basically this is a large home converted into apartments. The hosts are gracious and professional and you never see them. The other guests are around when you need to bump into someone on the terrace, otherwise it is dead quiet and peaceful.

We stayed for 3 nights only which is shorter than most people who stay here for a week or more while attending the school

It's a great bargain and I highly recommend this place if you are ready to stay some where quiet and peaceful, but still be just a few blocks from the center of town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter.craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Behind security doors are 8 fabulous, spotlessly clean, well-stocked apartments. We stayed in C which was in the back on the bottom floor so it was very quiet and cool. There was milk and Coca Cola in the refrigerator, a bottle of wine on the dining table, and all the spices we needed. There were books, a CD player, flat screen TV with cable, plenty of hangers and hot water with lots of pressure. There's a rooftop terrace as well as a shady courtyard where you can sit and chat with the friends you will meet during your stay. The location is great for a walk to the cathedral or the grand mercados. You don't have to go to the Baden-Powell Language School to stay in the apartments, but if you do decide to study Spanish, the school is a short 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandKLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I recently stayed in the Baden-Powell apartments for two months. In addition to being clean, modern, comfortable, and attractive, they are centrally located in historic downtown Morelia. The owners, Gabriel and Eugenio Cortes, are warm hosts, very attentive to the needs of their renters. Their language school (just around the block) is very professional--be sure to visit the Conversation Club every night from 6-7pm to practice your espanol and help locals with their English!

These apartments are indeed the bargain of the city--you can do whatever cooking you'd like to do in order to save some money, and the rent is very reasonable. But take advantage of the lovely restaurants in Morelia, too--Pablo's, anything in the Portales, Fonda las Mercedes, Juaninos, el Cafe del Conservatorio, and many more, all walkable. The colorful San Juan market is only several blocks away.

I've always thought that Morelia is the best kept secret in Mexico--wonderful art and architecture, a great cafe scene, rich musical traditions, plenty of handicrafts and folklore, friendly citizens, and efficient public transportation (try the "combis"--the vans that follow specific routes for only 5 pesos a ride). And the indigenous region of Patzcuaro is only 45 minutes away by bus or cab, a don't miss for the Day of the Dead!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reina-de-cafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Gran Hotel Morelia
0.2 mi away
Casa Castillo
Casa Castillo
#20 of 49 in Morelia
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Only Backpackers Morelia
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morelia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Estefania
Hotel Estefania
#50 of 67 in Morelia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Baden-Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Baden-Powell

Address: Calle Francisco Manuel Sanchez de Tagle 138 | Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Morelia
Price Range: $32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful apartment house within historic downtown Morelia. A great place to visit any of Morelia's imposing sites by foot. And after that, return tou your cozy apartment. A place to rest and be in the middle of every thing at the same time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing