We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the most amazing crafts in central Mexico”

Museo Michoacano de las Artesanias en Exconvento de San Francisco
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the most amazing crafts in central Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is THE PLACE to go to buy handmade crafts and art. Beautiful ceramics, sculpture, textiles, woodworking - and a museum. Outside there are often even more artisans selling their work, so it's nice to be able to buy direct as well. This place is not touristy, but is where you can find a real piece of the wealthy cultural traditions of Mexico.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emlysabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Michoacan Aratesans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

A beautiful assortment of fine artifacts, furniture,sculptures, etc. all a bit pricy but totally worth the prices if one can afford them. Very affordable artifacts sold outside at the entrance....lovely works.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dolores402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erongaricuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Casa de las Artesanias”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Above is the museum, but the first floor is the House of Handicrafts of Morelia. Here you can view and buy exquisite crafts from all over Michoacan, The museum upstairs has craft workshops where you can view craftsman at work, from around the state.

Helpful?
Thank DMHAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing selection of high quality regional crafts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was an excellent display of regional ceramics, woodwork, textiles, and other crafts - we were very limited on budget, but would have bought several things if we had more money! A great visit even if you're just going to look and learn.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NateandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A museum where you can by the art off the walls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Artisan Museum for the State of Michoacán is more than a museum of exhibits. It is a place to buy crafts and art made throughout the state and brought under one roof to save you the trip. Last week I went with a family friend to visit the museum and stores in the San Francisco Plaza of downtown Morelia. It is odd how being with a person who had not been there before gave me a different point of view. The family friend is a resident of Quiroga along the lake who is familiar with craft markets around the lake. Michoacán is famous for a division of artisan traditions in its separate pueblos. Paracho for stringed instruments. Santa Clara for copper. Tzintzuntzan for straw Christmas decorations. Capula for both Katrinas and dinner ware. Fanciful polychrome statues from Ocomichu. And the enormous pottery from Cocuchu. The large galleries and courtyards downstairs show a mix of the many different items together in spectacular displays. You will see price tags and the clerks there will be happy to help you find what you want. Upstairs in small cloistered cells (this had been a monastery remember) you can go into individual shops each from one town. If lucky you will find carvers, weavers and other crafts people working in them as well. We had an hour to rush through seeing maybe ¾ of the place before leaving. I asked my companion how the prices were, since she was obviously interested in this factor as we had gone through the stores. “They were the same as at home. Something here for a 1,000 pesos is what I have seen in the markets in Quiroga at the same price.” This was a revelation to me as I had always thought the prices would of course go up in the state capital. I was and am impressed. Now we did not price silver or bronze or guitars. She asked about textiles, embroidery, sheets and table cloths. But wow that is a good start. The place is not obvious. It is huge but no neon sign saying it is a treasure for art and craft visitors and buyers. Entry is free. It is behind a big plaza with a fountain and a portico of seasonal stalls. Walk in and be amazed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patzcuaro_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Michoacano de las Artesanias en Exconvento de San Francisco also viewed

 

Been to Museo Michoacano de las Artesanias en Exconvento de San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing