We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-beat, good service and food”
Review of Chango Restaurante

Chango Restaurante
Reserve with OpenTable
Chango Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 364 Restaurants in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Off-beat, good service and food”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It is in what appears to be an old house. Funky, good food, lots of choices. They have specialty mezcal cocktails. I recommend it and would return if I were in Morelia!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank janinairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chango R, Propietario at Chango Restaurante, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoy your experience in chango.

we hope you can come back soon to morelia and visit us again!!


Daniel Aguilar Bernal

executive chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    86
    14
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss in Morelia”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Once of the best restaurants we've been to in our almost 2 years living in Mexico (including several visits to Mexico City). We loved it so much we went 2 nights in a row--something we almost never do when traveling! If you like seafood try the tuna & other fish entrees. Perfectly prepared! The pulpo (octopus) appetizer was also outstanding. The seafood (shrimp) risotto was excellent as were 2 different salads. If you like muffulettas you'll like this appetizer but be forewarned it's big enough for a main course. Prices are very reasonable & service was great. Our waiter the 2nd night was especially helpful in making wine & tequila suggestions. Chango could improve decor a bit without spending a lot of money--just my opinion. Otherwise perfect dining experience

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TYHCuenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty Supper”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a good meal here - seafood risotto, and can't remember the other entree - along with an excellent salad, service was fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tutchone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muensingen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very cozy”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The waiter was very friendly, the meal excellent. We celebrate my birthday, so gives for "Birthdaychildren" a specially rate in prozent how old you now (only with id-card or facebook-account)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank UlliAndy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chango R, Propietario at Chango Restaurante, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
thank you for your review, i hope you visit us back soon!

Daniel Aguilar Bernal

chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food good price excellent service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We visit this restaurant on two occasions. The first time we accepted recommendations by the waiter Carlo. Both salads we had were excellent one had melon and the other one had grilled beets. We also had some mojito and lemonade with ginger. As an ontray I ordered a sandwich and my wife ordered the ribeye. Both were very tasteful and we were very happy. As a dessert my wife ordered a banana cream dessert and we share it we finalized with an expresso and a cappuccino. We return a second day and once again the food was great and the service very good. Only think I miss was not been able to return on Sunday since they close early. Definitely will return to this restaurant next time we are in the area. Congratulations chef for training your cooks so well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chango R, Gerente at Chango Restaurante, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
thank you for the review, we appreciate very much the feedback from our costumers, i´m glad you enjoy your meals and the service we gave you. i hope you come back soon to Morelia and chango restaurante.

karlo sends his regards.


Daniel Aguilar Bernal

chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chango Restaurante also viewed

Morelia, Michoacan
Morelia, Michoacan
 

Been to Chango Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing