We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Historical Sight and it's Free”
Review of The Aqueduct

The Aqueduct
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built of stone in 1785, this Aqueduct with 253 arches is one of Morelia's biggest attractions.
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Historical Sight and it's Free”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

On our first day in Morelia, we decided to check out the Aqueduct, having seen the one in Zacatecas a year ago. We saw it on a Sunday which I highly recommend since they close the streets around it on that day. We started at the Tarascas Fountain and walked alongside the Aqueduct, passing the Contemporary Art Museum and ending at the Plaza Morelos. We then walked back down the Calzada Fray Antonio de San Miguel, which is an old walkway always closed to vehicles. We encountered a group of musicians from a local church singing worship songs. Nice touch on a Sunday morning, as well as families with children, young lovers and people watchers. The next day we returned to walk to the end of the Aqueduct where there is a statue and a plaque honoring the workers who constructed it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    159
    37
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oaxaca
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pretty and Alongside a Wonderful Long Outdoor Walkway”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The aqueduct is extensive, and only a 15 minute walk from the heart of the centro histórico. It runs alongside an attractive park, and is close to the museum of contemporary art, a must. There's a long pedestrian walkway running beside it; quaint, quiet, yet filled with lots of student activity, and comfortable for a nice afternoon walk.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mezcal_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“NICE part of Morelia”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

around and along the aqueduct,part of Morelia with a lot of trees,quite place,very diferent of mineral center !!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MARCOITALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

As with many parts of Morelia...beautiful. Worth seeing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very beautiful, especially when it is all lit up an night

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank clar_desilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aqueduct also viewed

 

Been to The Aqueduct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing