We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel or Dormitory Quality... at Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista Express Morelia
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Have high degree of trust in Tripadvisor so when I saw this place ranked at #5 in Morelia I thought it would be fine but boy was I wrong! My first instinct was to stay at the Virrey de Mendoza but I was seeing over $200.00 a night and didn't want to pay that.

But, when me and my partner got to the Arancazu I realized we'd made a mistake ...but still I thought, well, just 3 nights in Morelia so we ought to be able to handle the cheap institutional look and dirty carpets. At $55.00 a night however the room was not a particularly good deal. After a long first day of touring around the city and experiencing nightlife to boot we repaired very late to our room for much needed rest but no rest for the weary here due to the uncomfortable bed (too short and I'm only 5'9"), sounds of slamming doors and voices from adjacent rooms all night, poor ventilation and then construction on a room below beginning at 8am.

After breakfast we returned to the Aranzazu, packed up our things and moved to Virrey de Mendoza for the rest of our stay in Morelia
(see also Virrey review). Our visit to Morelia was saved as we were very happy with the move!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IntrepidMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2008

Following the suggestion of another T/A member, I booked my room using the Sidestep booking agent. It did generate a very attractive rate for this city, which, for some reason, has very high hotel rates.

The location was a block from the main drag between the city's center and the aqueduct and Santuario de Guadalupe (which was perfect for 12 December). The room, on balance, was comfortable and quiet -- probably more so than many of the more expensive places near the Cathedral.

On the minus side, there was not a lot of charm in the place -- it appears to be a place that caters to business travelers and meetings. Also, there was a hefty charge for Internet use and I couldn't even figure out how to get it to work.

The little groovy bar across the street has Wi-Fi (unrestricted) as do many other eating/drinking places, so it' was only a minor inconvenience for me.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank senorbigstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

Hotel Aranzazu in Morelia is one of a small Mexican chain. I booked through a travel website on Sidestep.com and the price was great compared to their rack rates. The hotel is well located, a few blocks from the main squares/catheddral yet on a quieter street. A big market is just a block away and there are two other hotels next door with handsome restaurants. The Aranzazu was very clean, had a pleasant restaurant (although the breakfast prices were out of line) and a very nice lobby area. I was given Room 205 which was a kind of suite, with a large room with a table and a nice bedroom with 2 queen beds. The bathroom was very large, had a great tub and shower. It had large windows facing the inner patio but it was never noisy even with the windows open for fresh air. I really enjoyed my stay at the Aranzazu and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCarolinaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Esta muy cerca de los sitios de interés en todo
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Juan Pablo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jovan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERNESTO G, Gerente at Vista Express Morelia, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERNESTO G, Gerente at Vista Express Morelia, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Calle Real Morelia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real San Juan
Hotel Real San Juan
#26 of 67 in Morelia
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estefania
Hotel Estefania
#50 of 67 in Morelia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
City Express Morelia
City Express Morelia
#18 of 67 in Morelia
143 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#8 of 67 in Morelia
144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morelia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Express Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Express Morelia

Address: Calle Aquiles Serdan 647 | Col. Centro Morelia Michoacán, Morelia 58000, Mexico (Formerly Vista Express)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range: $39 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Express Morelia 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vista Express Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranzazu Acueducto Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing