We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hostal, excellent owner!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Castillo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Castillo
Ranked #16 of 48 Morelia B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent Hostal, excellent owner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent 4 days in this hostal after 1 day in Hotel Imperial in Morelia. I was surprised how nice and familiar this hostal was. Its
just a 10 minute walk away from the central plaza in a secure area of morelia. The house is big with wide open rooms and a beautiful teraza on the top - perfect to chill out after a long day. The owner cares a lot about his guests and tries to communicate with them. He studied internal design and you see that in how the hostel is designed inside: a lot of nice decoration create a familiar feeling and let you feel home to
this place.
The only thing I wished it was less strict was about the breakfast. You can only eat a precise number of poeces of bread but this is because of the cheap price of the stay.

I had wonderful days here in morelia because I had a home.
Thanks a lot

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leolucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Terrific location, midway between the two hubs of interest - the Aquaduct area and the Cathedral square. Ari is very helpful, speaks good English and is very chilled out. The casa is done up really well, and is everything the pictures make it out to be. The rooftop's a great place to hang out and enjoy a drink or two, and the dogs are very well-behaved.

If I had to present areas for improvement, I'd point to (i) the slightly austere breakfast and (ii) the fact that the bathroom in the room we stayed in - I think ours was the only room with a private bathroom - could do with a spot of renovation. Having said that, Ari did tell us we were welcome to use the other bathrooms on the floor which were quite new.

All up, good value for money. I'd definitely recommend Casa Castillo.

Room Tip: We had a room with a private bathroom and a big dome-like skylight in it. The bathroom was fairly ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I reached the hostel around midnight without a reservation and the I was made very welcome. The dorm was very well done. Beautiful, comfortable and with a balcony. The place was beautifully furnished and clean. The location is very central and it was a great experience staying there. I had originally intended to spend a night in Morelia and a night in Patzcuaro but I loved the place so much that I ended up staying two nights there and making a day trip to Patzcuaro. Thanks for the hospitality! Sumedha

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sumedha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I whole heartedly agree with all the brilliant reviews of this hostel.
Impeccable taste, great position, super friendly owner.
I stayed in the dorm and was perfectly happy.

nice roof top to view the cathedral and fireworks.
also a kitchen available if you want to make your own meal.

all makes this the perfect option in Morelia!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aribraun, Propietario at Casa Castillo, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for you coment here at Casa Castillo was a plasure to have you
Ary Braun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is one of the nicest hostels we have stayed in anywhere. We spent 7 nights here and found it to be very comfortable, super clean and enjoyable. The owner is a very nice person and very helpful to us in every way. The included breakfast is very complete and healthy with fresh brewed coffee, milk, cereal, juice, fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, etc. The kitchen is well equipped and very clean. Great location in the historical center of Morelia that is convenient to everything. The rooftop patio is a great place to view the lighted church bell towers at night or to relax at any time of day. Bottom line: good location, excellent included breakfast, free Wi-Fi, nice shared kitchen, clean throughout, good value.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 double beds and private bathroom, the Tzintzuntzan room. The room has a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hostel/ inn is one of the nicest places i have ever stayed in on a quiet street only 4 blocks from the cathedral.

The dorm is not at all like a dorm but very cosy and comfortable whilst still being clean and practical. The house is decorated beautifully, with a lovely breakfast area and rooftop terraces where you can have a coffee or watch the sunset. Brilliant view at night. Owner is a gem and had two little cute dogs we could play with. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemexico89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We could never have such a wonderful trip without Casa Castillo! The room is clean, and the patio on the roof is very beautiful. The house is beautifully decorated with traditional Michoacán furniture and local arts. The place felt rather like a bed and breakfast than a hostel to me. The location is very convenient right in the centre of the city, we were able to walk everywhere very easily. Above all, The owner is super super nice and friendly!! He is very genuine, and always happy to help us out. We had so much fun together while we were staying in Morelia! We can't thank him enough for everything he did for us, amigo! We will definitely visit him (and cute doggies,Tomasa and Dixie) again.:D Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chika_chan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#3 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial De Morelia
Hotel Colonial De Morelia
#41 of 67 in Morelia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Only Backpackers Morelia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zapata 91
Hotel Zapata 91
#6 of 48 in Morelia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Castillo

Property: Casa Castillo
Address: Calle Serapio Rendon 170, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing