We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casona Rosa, Morelia
Ranked #1 of 49 Morelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I'm just wrapping up a great week long stay at La Casona Rosa in Morelia (see http://www.casadelarosa.info; http://lacasonamorelia.blogspot.com). La Casona Rosa is the main house of Casa Rosa, recommended to me by friends that I met in Guanajuato. I have to say that the city of Morelia, and the warmth and charm of La Casona Rosa, exceeded my expectations. Maria, the on-site manager at La Casona, could not have given me a warmer or more gracious welcome, and I felt very much at home the entire week I was here. The room that I am in -- the Frida Suite -- is quiet, bright, clean, and very comfortable. I've enjoyed making use of the kitchen for breakfast, and there always seems to be hot pot of coffee ready first thing in the morning. I was also lucky enough to be treated to Maria's fine cooking during my stay as well -- a generous and fabulous addition to my week. Finally, I took a day tour to Paztcuaro and surrounding towns/sites with Jesus Lopez, the driver recommended by La Casona Rosa (yuslopez@sbcglobal.net; cell 443 305 2058). Jesus was great fun, informative, and very flexible in terms of timing and taking me to places that interested me. I couldn't have asked for a better outing. In short - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Casona Rosa. The suites are a nice escape from the bustling city, and if you have the same experience I had, you'll feel very much at home.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vaughn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

We arrived in Morelia with backpacks and no accommodation booked.........after walking the streets for a few hours and viewing a dozen options from filthy dark backpackers to affordable hotels with rude unfriendly staff and then some ridiculously expensive hotels (just to see what they were like!) we found Casa Rosa. It is literally a little piece of heaven. Centrally located within easy walking distance of all the great sites,cathedral, museums, food options and drinking spots, this place is a total gem. Maria the host is a complete delight, graceful, friendly and welcoming, fluent in spanish and english and a mine of information about Morelia. There are several sleeping options in this lovely renovated old house. The rooms are very spacious, beautifully decorated and with comfortable beds. There are rooms with one and two beds, an excellent kitchen, beautiful longe and dining area, wonderful courtyard and a second formal dining room. We had two dinner parties with other guests in our 7 day stay! There is also a self contained apartment at the back of the property with two bedrooms, mini rustic kitchen, bathroom and its own courtyard with sun and shade......this is where we stayed. Great for short and long stays. If you are in Morelia and you want charm, comfort, excellent location, very good value for money and wonderful hosts then Casa Rosa is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank semaphore_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cianflone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank OSCAR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank TesseSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasonaRosa-Morelia, Owner at Casona Rosa, Morelia, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MMARIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 66 in Morelia
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#6 of 66 in Morelia
82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#10 of 66 in Morelia
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#20 of 66 in Morelia
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Rosa, Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Rosa, Morelia

Address: Calle Galeana 274 | Colonia Centro Historico, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Morelia
Price Range: $66 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Rosa, Morelia 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have said~while staying at Casona Rosa they have the feeling they're in a private hide-out of Frida Kahlo. Casona Rosa is an inn just two blocks from the main street and Morelia's famous pink cathedral. It is a romantic, intimate place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. There are 4 suites each with private bathroom and 2 rooms with shared bathroom; access to a large, fully-equipped kitchen; plus several in and outdoor sitting areas. The suites are situated around an outdoor patio area for relaxing. Much attention was paid to decorating each suite with locally made handcrafts. Check out our Facebook page (La Casona Rosa Morelia) for updates on the latest Casona happenings...Enjoy and "Viva la vida!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casona Rosa, Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rosa Hotel Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing