We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable, quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Real San Juan
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I wish there were a rating between "average" and "very good". This is a nice little hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and nice baths. There is plenty of hot water. Toiletries and linens are above average for Latin America. The restaurant serves a very good breakfast with Mexican specialties predominating.
Internet is available in the lobby and dining areas only. There is no air-conditioning, but it is very cool at night in Morelia and I slept well with an open window.
The location of the hotel is also a plus. It is two blocks off the main street, so it remains quiet at night. The "centro" is a few blocks in one direction, and the "mercado" fewer still in the other direction.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor receive more of the cool breezes from the mountains at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONICA C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thanks for booking with us and waiting soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a great place to stay for the price. It says on hotels. com that it is 3 kilometers from the city center, but it is only 2 blocks to the main drag where you can pick up a 7 peso collectivo to the centro or anywhere else. The motel was very clean, the hot water almost scalding, room service just great and a restaurant inside.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, But first floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie9940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's impossible to find a better value in the entire country. This is the most modern hotel I have found in Mexico (that is not outrageously expensive.) It's supremely clean, nicely decorated, and in a fabulous location. It's far away from the Cathedral and most of the sites to not be noisy. The black-out curtains are a nice touch; it was the best night of sleep we've had in eight months of traveling around the country!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms not around the central patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkonkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONICA C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Real San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for chosing Hotel Real San Juan and hope you can take us into consideration for your next visit to Morelia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We took three rooms here for two nights in May 2012. We arrived from Guanajuato driving around noon and even though check in was 3:00 our rooms were ready and we were given early check in without asking. The secure parking next door to the hotel was very convenient and we found the staff to be friendly, organized, helpful and well informed. They had maps available at the front desk and were very willing to provide any information we asked for.

All of our rooms were at the back of the hotel, ground floor, just outside of the restaurant. We had one room with a king bed and two other rooms each with two double beds. All rooms were modern with nice furniture. The mattresses and pillows were comfortable and the sheets and towels were nice. The rooms with the double beds were quite a bit larger than the room with the king bed, so if a king bed isn't a priority and you want a bit more space you may want to go for a room with two double beds.

The drawback with the double rooms was that they didn't have windows to the outside and while the king room had one window that opened to the outside for air, the window was very high up in the wall, too high to see out of and I assumed that it opened on an air shaft. These wouldn't be the rooms for you if you need windows you can see out of but we didn't care about that, we only slept there anyway so it was no big deal. There was no a/c but the ceiling fan kept the room comfortable. The hotel was very quiet at night, we all slept very well. The hotel was also secure at night, when we returned after 11 pm the front door/gate was locked but that was no problem because the receptionist was there to buzz us in.

Location wise it was great, a few blocks and we were at the aqueduct, a few more blocks in the other direction and we were at the main square by the cathedral, just down from that we were at the Templo de las Rosas and the Jardin Luis Gonzales; also called Jardín de las Rosas. We couldn't fault the location at all.

Both mornings we had breakfast in the central courtyard, it was good value, tasty, well prepared and conveniently located just outside of our rooms. My favorite was the chilaquiles in green sauce, one friend loved the omlettes and my boyfriend went wild over the jam filled French Toast smothered in powdered sugar and cinnamon The price of $580 pesos per night, per room was very good. I'd stay here again when I visit Morelia.

Room Tip: Might want to ask for one of the upstairs rooms as they appeared to have windows that opened on to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Traten de llamar unas 100 veces para confirmar su reservación por que las cancelan cuando a ellas se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ARCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONICA C, Director General at Hotel Real San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Nattalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONICA C, Gerente at Hotel Real San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estefania
Hotel Estefania
#52 of 66 in Morelia
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Calle Real Morelia
0.1 mi away
Vista Express Morelia
Vista Express Morelia
#40 of 66 in Morelia
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#6 of 66 in Morelia
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portico
Hotel Portico
#18 of 66 in Morelia
31 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Campestre Morelia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real San Juan

Address: Calle 20 de Noviembre 585, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Real San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Real San Juan is a four star hotel that opens its doors to offer a different option in service and accommodation. With a unique a personalized sense of style, so that you can enjoy your stay on you trips whether that may be for pleasure, business, culture, or educational reasons. Hotel Real San Juan is located in the Majestic Capital of the State of Michoacan, the City of Morelia, only five minutes away walking distance from our beautiful cathedral in downtown and between cinemas, restaurants, shopping centers and surrounded by culture! A stay at the Hotel Real San Juan is delightful for anyone who loves comfort and impeccable service. Each of our 15 rooms have a very nice design and ambience, and you can also enjoy breakfast at our restaurant or terrace. Our Terrace is very spacious and fits approximately 60 people. We have flat screen Televisions that can be used for presentations, as well as a great sound system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Real San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing