We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing historic hotel in the heart of beautiful Morelia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mision Catedral Morelia
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing historic hotel in the heart of beautiful Morelia”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is amazing. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but it is probably the most authentic Morelian hotel experience you can get while you're in the city. Supposedly, the hotel used to be an old private residence (which is hard to believe just due to the sheer size of the place!) and it is located across the street from Morelia's cathedral. The city itself is so beautiful, and the rooftop bar offers amazing panoramic views of the mountains and the city. The hotel rooms were very nice and updated, you just have to make sure to get a hotel room with a window because some of them are in the interior or the hotel with views of the atrium (but there are no windows and climate control is very difficult in there). The wifi is very spotty too. I stayed here for a week and had a really accommodating stay. The location is close to shopping, restaurants, landmarks, bars, and even the pharmacy. I would absolutely stay here if I were to return to Morelia.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have windows, so make sure to request a room that faces the street, they usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios es un placer saber que su estancia fue placentera sin duda nuestra ubicación es inmejorable , cerca de todo lo que nuestros visitantes desean conocer , considere esta su casa , siempre será bien recibido por todo el equipo del Hotel Misión Catedral .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    79
    43
    19
    13
See reviews for
63
59
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Location for the value can't be beat. Roof-top is great for a relaxed afternoon coffee and watching the weekend (yes, every weekend) fireworks display. Food in the downstairs cafe is excellent and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su experiencia , es grato saber que disfruto su estancia con nosotros , seguiremos trabajando para brindar el servicio que nuestros clientes merecen , sin duda nuestra ubicación es inmejorable y el servicio de café y bar que se ofrece en la terraza del hotel es decorado con la maravillosa vista de nuestra ciudad , lo esperamos en su próxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molnlycke, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Hotel is situated in a perfect location in the beautiful town Morelia. You are close to sights and shopping. The Hotel rooms are no luxury, but still offers what you'd normally need. The terrace bar was a nice place to hang out and enjoy a coffee break and not having to worry about traffic and our young kids whereabouts. The breakfast was okay, but the alternatives were changing depending on how many visitors they had. I lacked cheese to put on my sandwich.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, it's nice to know that your stay was enjoyable, we will consider your comments, and of course will give us great pleasure to welcome you again in this home Hotel Mision Catedral Morelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We felt very lucky to have picked this hotel, which is directly across the street from the plaza and the cathedral, at a good price. Couldn't find any history of the building, but it certainly appears to be one of the 16th century buildings of the area (but modernized). It has a beautiful central courtyard (enclosed with glass) that is the reception area. Our room was spacious, with two double beds and a very large shower (with good water pressure and lots of hot water). We overlooked the side street and could, therefore, open the glass doors and look up the street toward the plaza. No flies so we kept the doors open during the day. The hotel served a full breakfast that included eggs, ham, fresh fruit (papaya, pineapple & cantaloupe), FRESHLY SQUEEZED orange juice, and (of course) beans -- after this trip I'm beginning to enjoy beans. The hotel also is near many good restaurants, including a number under the portals looking out toward the plaza. Great place for drinks and people watching. Also, have the local gazpacho (this is not tomato based soup) of fresh fruit, cheese, and peppers. The street on the opposite side of the plaza from the hotel has a number of gazpacho shops and everyone said the gazpacho there was find to eat -- we had no problem. Also, the "Augustina" restaurant across the street from the gazpacho shops was good -- with even a nice bottle of wine.

Some little things in the hotel -- every day there was a fresh bottle of water, although we didn't have any problem with the hotel water. However, as others have said, there was no hair dryer, only two bath towels, there was shampoo and soap but no lotion. None of this, however, bothered us. We even found chocolates on the dresser the last day. We picked an outside room, two floors above reception (lst floor is one floor above reception), as recommended. Yes, it was noisy at night because of a band on the hotel's fourth floor rooftop, but we brought earplugs which helped. Our last night/morning, however, was particularly loud. And we were awakened at 7 am by a loud microphoned voice announcing the start of a marathon directly in front of the hotel! So we'd recommend inside rooms toward the back (away from the plaza). Our friends' room overlooked an internal courtyard, so it didn't appear claustrophobic.

Another thing -- this wasn't a hotel catering to US tourists (although we saw other American tourists there), so the day and night clerks didn't speak English, but the morning clerk did. Also, consider whether you want to pay for the room at the end or when checking in. We picked when checking in, but then we were not able to cancel one night (which we had paid for) when we decided to spend the night in the mountains near the monarch sanctuaries.

Finally, consider what you're bringing because the elevator doesn't always work and you have to take the stairs -- but it was good exercise!

Our favorite restaurant was "Marisol" one block over from the artisan shops. We were sorry to have only found it the last night, but it is a beautiful restaurant with great service, and good drinks. Sorry we didn't get a chance to try their food.

Room Tip: take an inside courtyard room, unless street noise doesn't bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Google Translation
Agradezco sus opiniones las cuales son muy importantes para nosotros pues nos ayudan a mejorar aquellos detalles que requieren de nuestra atención para lograr que su estancia sea completamente placentera , nuestro compromiso con usted y con todos nuestros clientes es siempre el ofrecerle un servicio de calidad y unas instalaciones impecables , estamos trabajando en todos los puntos que menciona esperando contar nuevamente con la oportunidad de servirlo , reciba un saludo desde esta su casa Hotel Mision Catedral.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Right across from cathedral and main square. Close to all the main sites. Nice roof top terrace. Safe. Clean and Comfortable. Has the basics.....you have to ask for iron or hair dryers but they have them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios sin duda alguna nuestra ubicación justo en el corazón de Morelia es inmejorable la cual le permite conocer atractivos turísticos sin necesidad de utilizar transporte , nuestro compromiso es seguir mejorando para brindar cada día el servicio de calidad que nuestros huespedes merecen , considérenos una opción de hospedaje en su próxima visita .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Mision Catedral for 9 days. The hotel staff was friendly and the room was clean and roomy. At first I requested an extra bed and was told none were available at the time, so I told the front desk to never mind. I then reconsidered and two days later I advised the front desk that I would like the extra bed. Two days later I still didn't have the bed, so I walked to the front desk where I was told there was no request for the extra bed and there was none available. That was a little frustrating to me, but I was able to manage without it. The other frustrating factor was the Wi-Fi. The first two nights the Wi-Fi worked well, but after that it was a hit and miss on a daily basis. I will say that we had connection just 4 out of the 9 nights we were there.

I took a traveling iron and blow dryer, so that worked out great since there was neither in the room.

The beds were comfortable. At night the music from the rooftop bar was pretty loud and didn't end until 3ish in the morning.

Overall, the hotel was good, really convenient to other restaurants (I recommend Lu's and Trico) but I will try a different hotel on my next stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KNM-Esc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We welcome your comments and we will answer all of your comments are very important to us, our commitment to provide quality service and satisfaction to our customers feedback will help us improve the points of opportunity, hoping to have the opportunity to again serve receive a greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I arrived at The Mision Catedral with trepidation, after reading mixed reviews on Trip Advisor - "grumpy staff", "unhelpful", "rooms without windows" etc. On our arrival I was struck by the beauty of the building, with its lovely central plaza and peaceful ambience, compared to the frenetic traffic outside. The guy on reception was friendly, although didn't speak English (or was reluctant to), but my Spanish is adequate enough to ask for a nice, quiet room with a window, so no problems there. The room itself was on the side street, rather than looking over the main plaza, but was still lovely and spacious, with a small balcony. We bumped into a cleaner on our landing, who again greeted us warmly with "Hola, Buenos Tardes". In fact all of the staff we met, were all friendly, so I'm suspecting that other review writers maybe don't speak much Spanish (apologies if I'm incorrect there), as we found everyone helpful and warm. I do agree that perhaps compared with other hotels the room facilities may not be to your liking, we always have a travel hair dryer with us, so again. It a problem. But overall I thought the hotels was great and I'd definitely stay there again. In particular, check out the rooftop terrace bar - wow, what an incredible view, especially at night with the city lit up - magical!

Room Tip: Learn a bit of Spanish, be brave and use it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizwiz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatedralMorelia, Gerente at Mision Catedral Morelia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is very important to know that we are achieving the main objective is to provide a quality service to our customers, to the staff of Hotel Mision Catedral is satisfactory to have such good feedback from our customers, will be a real pleasure to have visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#7 of 65 in Morelia
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 65 in Morelia
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#10 of 65 in Morelia
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Juaninos
Los Juaninos
#13 of 65 in Morelia
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Express Morelia
City Express Morelia
#17 of 65 in Morelia
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Catedral Morelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Catedral Morelia

Property: Mision Catedral Morelia
Address: Calle Ignacio Zaragoza 37 | Col Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Catedral Morelia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It has comfortable rooms, some with private terrace or balcony , where you can admire the beauty of our city. Our mission is to provide the best service among all the historical center to our clients hotels. Hotel Mission in Morelia has 61 standard rooms fully equipped , including 1 junior suite and 1 master suite. The great services and details of Hotel Mision Catedral Morelia, will make you live a pleasant stay while its corners , corridors , balconies and terraces will make you go back in time . Hotel Mision Catedral Morelia has a terrace for up to 200 people exclusively to the Cathedral of Morelia , wireless internet access , business center , multipurpose room , meeting room , restaurant, medical service and babysitting view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mision Catedral Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catedral Hotel Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing