We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Decent hotel. I stayed three nights and liked it here. Breakfast buffet was decent. Location is excellent in the historic district. My only conplaint was when they set up teh breakfast buffet in the morning, they didn't seem aware of the fact that people might be sleeping at 530AM. It was the same thing every morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night and then transfered to a B & B which we had previously reserved for the subsequent three nights. Hotel Alameda has everything you could want in a hotel in Morelia: beside the plaza (portals in the centro historico), A/C, WIFI, immaculate rooms (modern / contemporary vs. traditional), Cable TV, helpful staff (English too), and valet parking for a nominal daily sum. The prices are different depending on how you book, but the range was only about a $15 USD difference, so no big deal. Value was excellent. Highly recommended, and far superior to where we ended up for the subsequent three nights (had booked with a deposit). When we return to Morelia we will definitely stay at Hotel Alameda.

Room Tip: King bed was offered at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezcal_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

For me the best part of this hotel was the location, very close to a cambio, shops, restaurants, the cathedral and a walk into the heart of it all. The staff was friendly and a number of them had a great command of English. The food was ok, Main concern for me when I was was there was the student protest and cars were being burned. The room was a little cramped but decent and clean, and I had a great view. Another downside for me was the lack of a gym here.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlossantos1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location is unbeatable, however, the hotel is composed of two different buildings. We stayed at the renovated colonial building which is relatively new and quite good. The "modern" building, though, has older and much more cramped rooms. The breakfast was ok, not worth the price unless you want convenience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salatapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel is right off the cathedral/park. Our room was a weird L shape. Quite dark. No functioning outlet to plug in a computer except in bathroom. Water sloshed out of the tiny lip on shower stall and flooded bathroom. I would not return. BUt if you do stay here, know that the restaurant named Tricos along vaulted arcade is really good. We went for dinner, then back for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Jo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My 75 year-old dad and I stayed at the Alameda for five days in May 2011 and were completely satisfied with the room, service, convenient location and price. I grew up going to Morelia once every couple years but never stayed in hotels because we had family there. I remember walking by the Alameda many times and wondering why it was weirdly modern compared to the historic buildings along the Avenida Madero. There are fancier, historic, boutique hotels just steps away but they cost two or three times as much. If you are looking for a central location, friendly service, and a clean, comfortable room this is a good choice. You will be across from the main plaza, close to many cafes, bars and restaurants, the candy market (mercado de dulces) which has an assortment of artisan candies, wood, textile and leather products, the university, cathedral and other impressive churches, banks, grocery stores, and just about every other kind of business you might want. A few things to consider:
- Our room was a double and the bathroom was a bit small but everything worked fine and we were comfortable.
- We requested a room with view because we wanted to see the cathedral at night. It is a great view but even with windows closed the street sounds were noticeable. This might be a problem for light sleepers.
- We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but it looked busy every morning for breakfast/brunch and in the evenings. You can opt for breakfast to be included in the room fee.
- The hotel offers parking for a small fee and it is totally worth getting if you are driving.
- This is an older hotel so there is no pool.
- There is a great convenience store downstairs for toiletries, liquor, soft drinks, snacks, etc

I recommend the Alameda if you are traveling on a budget and want to stay in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great location. Extremely helpful staff, who went out of their way to help me. No problems with using Internet. Super shower pressure. Quiet interior room, but sometimes had to put up with people smoking cigarettes in the courtyard outside my door. (Next time, I might request a room off of the first floor.) The price was extremely fair. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fibonacci2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 66 in Morelia
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#12 of 66 in Morelia
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#9 of 66 in Morelia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#17 of 66 in Morelia
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#5 of 66 in Morelia
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alameda Centro Historico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alameda Centro Historico Hotel

Address: Avenida Francisco I. Madero Poniente 313 | Frente a Plaza de las Armas, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morelia
#10 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range: $54 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alameda Centro Historico Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alameda Centro Historico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alameda Centro Historico Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing