We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful romantic hotel - great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful romantic hotel - great value”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just stayed at Villa San Jose for the first time and we really enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and does everything to make you feel home. The garden and the amenities (pool, tennis court, massage service, business center...) are top end and it is even possible to use the facilities of the nearby golf club Club Campestre (including big pool, sauna, steam rooms, sport courts...) free of charge... We also loved the room with great views of Morelia and an open fireplace. This place really is our favourite, as it offers a great price-performance ratio!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
26
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First time to stay at Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites and be outside the central area of Morelia. Great property with wonderful views and nice rooms. The hotel staff was especially helpful giving us directions to return car and catch early morning flight at Morelia Airport. Bar is dark but has two-for-one happy hour and good strong drinks. The restaurant was very good especially the table-side service to prepare the Cajeta Crepes for dessert. It is also located across the street from another luxury property that has a spa and we utilized the services there.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views of the city than others. And some rooms require climbing stone outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bboy-santafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and it was just amazing we had a balcony overlooking the city of Morelia. It was just amazing the staff is super friendly and the room was fenomenal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunallena21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The perfect place for a romantic date! The staff very helpful, friendly and detailed.
Caring staff always make us feel free!! The gardens are so beatiful!!and specially the view of the Morelia City is spectacular!!
An excellent choice to live with your partner one exceptional night!!!
Just love it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybe_lop_leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I travelled here against several travel advisories which suggested that Michoacan is a dangerous area. My 'Morelia' experience was fantastic from every aspect and never felt threatened for a single moment. This hotel was all I needed to complete a well-rounded authentic Mexican experience.

Helpful staff, extremely polite and effective - true ambassadors of the Mexican hospitality.

The hotel built in a bungalow style with traditional local design and tiled roofs, well maintained gardens decorated with pink stone sculptures (Morelia is the city of the pink stone - Ciudad de las Canteras Rosas) a swimming pool and a tennis court.

Comfortable room with ensuite bathroom (shower) decorated in Mexican colours and heavy rustique furniture. Big screen TV and free wireless internet cover the technical side of the offering. The decoration is complemented with a very artisan way of presenting towels folded like small animals.

The jewel in the crown of this establishment is the restaurant which offers a majestic view of the city from the Loma de Santa Maria. Whether for breakfast or for dinner the view is unforgettable and no guest should miss it! The quality of the meals served is very good and the service staff courteous and effective.

Finally, in an environment which the press characterises as unsafe - having experienced Morelia even by night, I wonder why is this perception there - in this hotel the feeling of safety is 120%.

In general, this is an excellent choice for the business or the leisure traveller and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexPOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Lovely romantic hotel on the hills above Morelia
Free and fairly fast internet wifi in rooms
30-45 min drive from the centre
nice tranquil environment with beautiful gardens
Restaurant has good views and nice food
nice heated open air pool
Safety priority with 24 hours security staff
Ideal for a romantic break or with families

Restaurant service can improve if waiters could speak better english
There is nothing much happening around the hotel apart from the restaurant
so you need to bring your company/entertainment in the evening
Rooms that have great views of Morelia are more noisy because of busy street

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexiko Stadt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Villa San José is a very nice option for staying a night over in Morelia. Rooms are very clean and nicely arranged according to a traditional country style. Also the garden with its art and beauty is overwhelming. Last but not least the hotel restaurant is delicious and worth a visit. Unfortunately the bar did not open, even though we stayed at Villa San José at a weekend. I want to believe that it was the season..
When it comes to location, it really depends on what you expect. If you prefer short ways after dinner or a night out in precious Morelia, you'd better stay in one of the centric hotels surrounding the cathedral. However, if you are looking forward to relaxing in your holidays and are focused on sleep quality, this is definately the place to be!
The hotel has frequent special offers that let you stay for 1299 instead of 1999 MXN per night. It is not the cheapest option, but once you stay there, you know it's worth every penny.
I liked it very much and for sure will return soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hernan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Gran Hotel Morelia
3.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#6 of 65 in Morelia
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 65 in Morelia
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#9 of 65 in Morelia
165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites

Property: Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites
Address: Privada Patzimba 77, Morelia 58090, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Jose Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing