We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, avoid 3rd floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Noisy, avoid 3rd floor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

This centrally located old hotel has beautiful public rooms, good restaurant, and an outside sidewalk cafe for people watching. Great location right on the zocalo.
The hotel is very noisy. There's a lot of street noise as well as hotel noise which echoes inside the interior stone corridors and atriums. Rooms on the first floor have French windows and a tiny balcony. First and second floor rooms are spacious with high ceilings. Rooms on the third floor are in an addition and are not worth the money. My room #310 had a miniscule window which wouldn't open. The bath smelled of mold and had no ventilation. The room was dark. A ceiling fan was the only source of air circulation in this hot, stuffy room. Although I was booked for a 5-night stay, the hotel staff was reluctant to change my room. #317 was small and stuffy but did not face the street and was considerably quieter. Upon my return, room #206 (second floor) was much nicer, although there was still street noise. Wooden shutters helped a bit.

  • Liked — nothing...I was disappointed
  • Disliked — no light or fresh air
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank traveler1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    44
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
27
56
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

This is an elegant old hotel. It is located on the main square of Morelia. Some of the reception staff speak some English. They were helpful and willing to let us change rooms. The rooms on the main street and square are very noisy. Ask for rooms on internal courtyards. The rooms are smallish, pretty spare and simple. They are clean and well serviced. They have ceiling fans and TVs. Our closet was not able to be opened because one of the beds prevented it. The bathrooms have tubs and an abundance of hot water.

The downstairs lobby is beautiful (the ceiling is magnificent!) and a wonderful place to have a drink, as are the sidewalk tables. There is a piano in the main floor lobby that is painfully out of tune but that did not prevent us from enjoying the tunes that accompanied our late night margaritas!

The dining room had good food and good service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise level
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

We arrived at the Hotel Virrey de Mendoza on a bright sunny afternoon. Our room was fantastic ( No.103), corner suite, views of the square and the cathedral. Beautifully appointed room and comfortable bed.

The noise form the street & sqaure was as expected and quite frankly not too bad. What we were not prepared for was the disco next door. At around 10:00 pm the dance music became unbearable, so loud that you not only heard the music but felt the base beat in your body. The music ebbed and flowed unitil around 4:00am.

We complained to the management the next day, they graciously cancelled our second night reservation and even found us another, quieter hotel. They told us they have been fighting the restaurant / disco next door for 6 months with no success.

We strongly feel that the hotel should be warning their guests about the noise.

  • Liked — Room was very well appointed
  • Disliked — Very LOUD disco next door
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrueTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

This beautiful hotel is right across the street from the main plaza square and the church. It reminded us of the Ritz in New York with its awnings and welcoming entrance. The lobby is huge with many comfortable places to sit and listen to gorgeous piano music playing.
Fresh flowers on the coffee tables. Check-in was accommodating and friendly.

We lucked out and got the Master Suite (for less) which overlooked the square and had a nice large bathroom brightly lit which is unusual for Mexico. This hotel could have been in SF or NYC. The bedding was ultra elegant with the hotel's initials on the pillow cases and sheets. Everything was very clean and the bath acutriments were high end.

We definitely would return to this hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsies-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

The Virrey de Mendoza is right on the main plaza in Morelia. The location is excellent. The traffic is horrible. The area around the plaza is always congested with traffic.

We paid $140 (with taxes) per night for a room with a queen bed. We had a balcony that was just large enough to stand on, and it looked down on the street. The street is very busy and noisy. The balcony has two sets of doors that quieten the street noise considerably. Because there is no air conditioning, we had to sleep with the doors open due to the temperature. The street noise got loud early. The hotel is very old and historical. The architecture of the building is colonial Spanish, with the building surrounding a central area that used to be the courtyard, but is now the main lobby of the hotel. The service and staff were nice.

I recommend that you eat at Casa de las Rosas, which is a tiny restaurant just a few blocks away. Exellent food and service.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank monterreyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sausalito
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

Had a fabulous one night stay in late May 2007. Our room (#103) was absolutely beautiful. It was a corner suite with 3 doors opening out onto the balcony overlooking the plaza and Cathedral. The view was stunning. We sat in the room and watched all the Sunday activities in the Plaza, dances, concerts, and a quick storm. The view of the Catherdral lit up at night was also just beautiful.

The stained glass ceiling in the lobby is amazing. We had cocktails and snacks in the lobby and breakfast outside. Food was good, margaritas were great. Had a fabulous meal at the Hotel Casino (the best Tarascan soup that I had in Michoacan). There was some street noise due to location but the beauty more than made up for it.

Hotel also set up a driver to take us to Patzcuaro. A great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2006

This is an excellent hotel in the middle of town on the square facing the cathedral. Sevice was excellent as the hotel caters the town's elite. The employees were very helpful even with our limited spanish.
I would highly recommend this hotel. The food was excellent. The hotel offers car rental service and can assist in just about any other request. We had them make reservations at an excellent restaurant, Mirasole (walking distance). We rented a car to see the old volcano field outside of Uruapan(sp). The hotel can also arrange guide tours if you like.
We found the hotel to be as clean as the pictures indicate. The furniture appeared to be the original antiques, they were in excellent condition despite their clear age.
This hotel was pleasant surprise and reminded me of the many excellent old hotels you can find Europe.

  • Liked — The hotel is a living museum.
  • Disliked — Leaving the windows open let some noise from the street in at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here when in Morelia.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bigshowjoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#8 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
1.6 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Los Juaninos
Los Juaninos
#12 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virrey de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virrey de Mendoza

Property: Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Address: Av. Madero Poniente No. 310 | Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Virrey de Mendoza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Morelia, opposite the Plaza de Armas, is the "Hotel Virrey de Mendoza", considered one of the most beautiful buildings in the city dating back to 1744. It features elegant and comfortable rooms decorated with beautiful antiques that give a particular style to each of them, from some of the suites can enjoy the view of cathedral. The hotel has a restaurant that serves international cuisine and traditional dishes from Michoacan, has a bar and outdoor cafe and live piano music in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Virrey de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virrey De Mendoza Hotel
Virrey De Mendoza Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing