We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in a Mansion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Virrey de Mendoza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay in a Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just returned from a warm, sunny and wonderful vacation to Morelia/Patzcuaro and Uruapan. In Morelia we had the great pleasure to stay at the Hotel Virrey de Mendosa. The location can't be beat, right on the Plaza de Armas which is the center of the historic district. The Hotel is made of stone with a center courtyard lobby covered by a beautiful stained glass ceiling. On the second floor is an open arched terrance that overlooks the Plaza and by wandering through the back side of the Hotel is a staircase and passage to the rooftop and beautiful view of the surrounding city. The Hotel staff was always cheerful and accommodating. We stayed in a junior suite on the second floor with french doors overlooking the center lobby, very comfortable king size bed with lovely linens and terry robes and slippers, flat screen TV, WIFI and creaky wood planked floors. The room was a great sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Outside of important holidays, they are currently offering 50% off posted room rates based on availability. Our room was approximately $110 USD including taxes and fees and includes breakfast in their elegant dining room. Also included a welcome cocktail, 15% off other meals and 50% off the Sunday brunch. It was so worth the price for the location and wonderful experience we had at the Hotel. Highly recommended! English is not widely spoken so contact Miguel Angel Centeno Marin through the email address reservaciones@hotelvirrey.com.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 119 which is very quiet, room 103 has great view of the Plaza but noisy with stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
54
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Staying in this hotel is to experience the charms of Colonial Mexico. It is beautifully appointed with wonderful antique furniture, portraits from another era, and a strained glass atrium ceiling in the lobby to die for. The rooms are spacious and generously furnished. The American breakfast which you can add to the room is worth every penny, and the dining room is elegant with good service. I recommend a cathederal view room because it provides you with an opportunity to people watch that can't be beaten. Don't worry about the noise because if you close the heavy wooden shutters on the windows silence reigns.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral room suite on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeraldineOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very nice historic building, but needs to be refreshed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here for several days with friends in January, 2006. We were not disappointed! It has the feeling of days gone by, with a beautiful lobby and friendly staff. It is centrally located which is quite important. Great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Disastrous from start to finish. First, they got our reservations wrong. Booked only half the rooms. After a long stand-off, they tried to make it up by upgrading one of the rooms to the master suite. Well, the suite wasn't ready. It took a team of very surly staff a long time to get it ready. Meantime, the streets had turned mean. Two of our group were harassed at night on the way back to the hotel in the evening. To top it all, no room service at night.

The next morning, breakfast was pathetic. Ill-prepared and badly served. Check-out took forever. And the whole time, this air of apathy hung around the place. The staff just couldn't be bothered.

Definitely seen better days, this one. Such a majestic building going slowly to seed. Time for a management shake-up if you ask me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singhy_the_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

This beautiful Historic hotel right in the center of the historic district, is an absolute gem. The rooms are furnished with lovely antiques imported mainly from Europe, and all linens are plush and monogrammed.
It is ideally situated for shopping, tours and close to many excellent restaurants. The hotel restaurant is also top notch. All meals are elegantly presented and some dishes are amazingly delicious, such as the cream of artichoke soup, the best I've ever had.
We have recommended this hotel to friends who were delighted with it.
We also plan to return on an annual basis, since it is now our home away from home and a truly romantic getaway. The city is our favorite in all of Mexico.
I would recommend a suite overlooking the lobby. Much quieter than an exterior facing room, and extremely reasonable. We paid roughly $130 a night which included breakfast. The suites have floor to ceiling windows and an excellent view of the gorgeous lounge and its grand piano. Now about 150 years old.
One minor warning, the bathrooms are a bit old fashioned. Personally, I find them charming and part of the overall ambiance. They are very clean, huge bathtub in our room, and the towels and bathrobes first class all the way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexigal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

In the midsts of beautiful, historic Morelia - Loved this hotel: opulent, eye catching, full of history..the lounge is quite stunning.

Stayed in 2 different rooms- the junior suite was wonderful, with antiques and a great view across to the magnificent cathedral. The standard room was more simple, with too much noise from the central courtyard-lounge...

Morelia is terrific - and this is the place to stay in style (ask for a quiet, roomy room)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonartist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#7 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
1.6 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Los Juaninos
Los Juaninos
#13 of 67 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virrey de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virrey de Mendoza

Property: Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Address: Av. Madero Poniente No. 310 | Centro, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Virrey de Mendoza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic center of Morelia, opposite the Plaza de Armas, is the "Hotel Virrey de Mendoza", considered one of the most beautiful buildings in the city dating back to 1744. It features elegant and comfortable rooms decorated with beautiful antiques that give a particular style to each of them, from some of the suites can enjoy the view of cathedral. The hotel has a restaurant that serves international cuisine and traditional dishes from Michoacan, has a bar and outdoor cafe and live piano music in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Virrey de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virrey De Mendoza Hotel
Virrey De Mendoza Morelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing