We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sometimes Spurging is Worth It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Soledad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Soledad
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sometimes Spurging is Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

After looking at rooms in four hotels I went with Hotel de la Soledad.
Wow, I am so glad I decided to spend a little extra money to stay at this fabulous hotel. The building was built in 1701 and is of the classic baroque architecture as is much of the historical central district. Just a half block from the cathedral and around the corner from the Casino Hotel where you can sit have a drink and watch the people. My room was fabulous as well as spacious and seemly very new. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, really nice people. The price includes an American style breakfast. I had a room on the 2nd floor in the back that was very quiet and safe. Many locals come for wedding photo shoots because of the grandeur. For me it was expensive but I was glad I stayed there.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a little more money but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    70
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
70
99
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I spent 4 months in this hotel few years ago, and every time I am back to Morelia I enjoy spending at least couple of nights here. The service is excellent; they make every effort to anticipate your needs.

This time I stayed in the new side and even if I adore the old part the comforts of the renewed one are excellent. In the old part, there is not AC; in Morelia in the hot summer days, in the room can be hot even if the thick wall is a good isolator.

The garden is beautiful, peaceful great cocktails and lovely restaurant; on the weekend they also have live music, excellent to start the weekend. The view of the cathedral from the room upstairs is amazing.

Room Tip: in summer new side in winter the old side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strubi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, Illinios
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had stayed at the La Soledad a few years ago and it was a nice, very well located hotel and a wonderful, colonial and historic city.
They since started renovating the hotel. We stayed in the renovated rooms, which are beautifully done. I believe it is well on its way to being a deluxe hotel.
We were 3 adults and were given a very spacious room with 2 queen beds. the wall above was beautifully done with light to enhance it.
The bathroom was very modern with a slanted sink of light cream colored onyx which could be lit.
I highly recommend it. It is 1/2 block from the main street and the Cathedral.

Room Tip: believe rooms in the back are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calicantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I last stayed in the Hotel de la Soledad in 2007 and it wasn't a very pleasant experience. In the ensuing 6 years ownership and management of the hotel has changed and some serious, and much needed, renovations have been completed. All I can say is WOW, what a major change, all of it good.

The rooms have been upgraded and modernized and are bright, clean and most of all comfortable. Bathrooms received total overhauls and now feature beautiful stone work, rain shower heads, wall mounted double sided mirrors that light, and lots of room. The beds are cozy and certainly conducive to a good night sleep; a major departure from some of the rock hard mattresses found all over Mexico. The new beds at the Soledad are made up in what appear to be high-count bed linens and sport an abundance of pillows in various sizes, shapes and firmnesses.

Service at all levels was outstanding. It really seemed all the staff were working together as a team to ensure that guests had to best experience possible. The public areas have all seen substantial renovation and the staff did everything they could to help guest enjoy them, whether it be at the morning breakfast buffet or providing refreshments to beat the afternoon heat. If it's an issue, there are enough people on the staff with English skills so that any problems can be easily and quickly resolved if necessary

On a recent trip with friends I had not been looking forward to staying at the Soledad. So glad I let my friends overrule my concerns as this turned out to be a real gem. The only reason I didn't give it a "5" is because some of the interior rooms tend to be quite small, and the outside rooms that border the street tend to be noisy. There isn't much the owners can do about either of those 2 situations, but they can detract from the overall quality of the stay, especially the street noise.

The Soledad is centrally located and within walking distance of most major attractions tourists want to visit. The new ownership and massive renovations make it the best and most logical place to stay. It's a charming, lovely and very well run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiningDiva619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The walls are thick the feeling is old Mexico and it is close to everything. We had a great stay and would certainly return for another visit. It is a very short wealk to the cathedral and you can see the church from the second flootr and quite nice at night when being lit or already lighted. There is a very nice area for drinks or casual conversation in the courtyard. The staff was very helpful in making arrangements for adventures.

Room Tip: 210 is avery nice king bed and a small sitting room. We were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigstitchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We loved the Hotel de la Soledad... It has a very unassuming street facade but you step through the entry way - filled with lovely glass work - into a courtyard filled with trees and statuary and birds. The rooms are built around the courtyard. It is delightful.
We were travelling with our daughter and her beau. Originally we were booked into the older rooms. They were lovely, quaint, clean and really very charming. However, ours was a corner room on the main floor. Very noisy. So we opted for one of the more expensive but recently renovated rooms at the back of the hotel. That bathroom was like a fairy land... And although we didn't really spend a lot of time in the room it was worth the upgrade.
The hotel is in a perfect location for walking to local museums and restaurants. The desk will give you directions to the tourist information booth around the corner and they in turn will give you a map with all the historic sites clearly marked.
The staff was great. Thank you Julio for all your efforts in having my phone returned to me. I was lost without it.

Room Tip: Room 114 on the main floor is a corner and very noisy. We opted out for one of the more expensive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveljaneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

this cute hote has wonderfully finished rooms. This is a historic building 1 block from the Catherdral and the centre of historic Morelia. A very good and caring staff. Breakfast included is of good value. We took a side trip to the Monarchs and the tour the hotel uses is the same as that advised in Trip Advisor. We had booked online ourselves and it was a very well organised outing. - beware it is 3 hrs travel each way to the sanctuary and lots of " topes" on the way. We had a junior suite - loved the decor. I would concur with all the positive reviews so far

Room Tip: book a cheaper room then the reception staff will show you the available rooms and offer an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.0 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
1.7 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#5 of 66 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#13 of 66 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#9 of 66 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Soledad

Property: Hotel de la Soledad
Address: Calle Ignacio Zaragoza No. 90, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
#1 Family Hotel in Morelia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morelia
#3 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Soledad 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XVII century colonial building decorated with a vast collection of works of art, paintings and furniture and antiguos.Modernas Charming rooms furnished with fine marble details, onyx, wood and quarry, retaining its essence colonial.Galardonado I have one of the colonial patios most beautiful of the former Valladolid. Located in the heart of the historic center of Morelia, near the most representative attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de la Soledad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Soledad Morelia
De La Soledad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing