We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Soledad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Soledad
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Morelia
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

this cute hote has wonderfully finished rooms. This is a historic building 1 block from the Catherdral and the centre of historic Morelia. A very good and caring staff. Breakfast included is of good value. We took a side trip to the Monarchs and the tour the hotel uses is the same as that advised in Trip Advisor. We had booked online ourselves and it was a very well organised outing. - beware it is 3 hrs travel each way to the sanctuary and lots of " topes" on the way. We had a junior suite - loved the decor. I would concur with all the positive reviews so far

Room Tip: book a cheaper room then the reception staff will show you the available rooms and offer an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    70
    15
    10
    7
See reviews for
70
99
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Morelia to visit the monarch butterfly preserve in late February 2013. We spent four nights at the Hotel de la Soledad and were impressed by the ambiance, value and quality of service of the hotel. It is located only half a block from the main plaza which is a one minute walk but far enough away from the constant din of traffic in the center of town.

The central courtyard of the hotel has a fountain and beautiful flowers climbing the stone walls in the corners. The perfect place for a happy hour drink after an exhausting day of being a tourist. My wife was especially impressed with the art and the hand-carved furniture chest on the perimeter of the courtyard.

The perfect place to stay.

Robert Hill
Westminster, Colorado

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a lovely old building with modern features in the room and bathroom, a nice melding of the old and the new. Charming interior courtyards grace the grounds, with the dining room off the main courtyard. The included breakfast was excellent, cooked to order, and the staff were helpful. The location was ideal, close to the historic center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lologantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this hotel thanks to Trip Advisor, so I'd like to confirm the excellent reviews given by other travellers to this hotel. It is located half a block from the cathedral, so the location could not be more central, yet quiet. This is the oldest hotel in town from the eighteenth century. We stayed in the newly renovated section of the hotel, a bit pricier but well worth it. The decoration is a success in fusion of modernity in a colonial setting. One of the best parts of the hotel is its restaurant, which had been recommended by a friend. It never disappointed. One of the waiters is about to reach 50 years of service next year. He's officially retired, getting his social security pension, but the employer asked him back. He excels at a job that he enjoys. All the personnel are courteous and helpful. Perhaps the top marks go to the beds, with the new ergonomics: rather than tough, they adjust to each individual's shape, so it feels like you are laying on a cloud. But just about everything else is right, from the decoration to the amenities. A couple of missing things: a coffee maker, and an iron and board. Check out the hotel's website, which has pictures: http://www.hoteldelasoledad.com/. My picture is of the central fountain, in front of the lobby on one side and the restaurant on the other.

Room Tip: Room 405 is great, spacious and renovated, but priced as deluxe--it is worth it, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
608 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is about 50% into a full renovation. The updated central courtyard is a very nice improvement. The new rooms are very well done but on the small side. The large bathroom was the best part of the room we had. The bedroom area was so small with the king size bed there was no space for a luggage rack. A minor inconvenience. We had a ground floor room on the smaller inner courtyard and it was very quiet. Free wi-fi in the room was a bonus. Our price included breakfast served in the tastefully decorated dining room and the food and service were good. The improvements to the hotel are a welcome addition to lovely Morelia centro..

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms may be quieter as the bar/restaurant are on the entry courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel cannot be faulted it's absolutely stunning, the rooms though small are very tasteful and the beds are big and comfortable. The location could not be better as a base to explore this most gorgeous of colonial towns. The restaurant is only fair, there is much better food out in the main square. The staff are cold and distant and perhaps even a little stuck up, far from friendly but hey you can't have it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went on a tour of Mexican colonial cities in September and by far this hotel was the star of the trip. The decoration was impeccably done, colonial with a mix of modern blown glass and Mexican art. Everywhere one looked there was a treasure for one's eyes! The patio was laden with green plants and a nice fountain.
The rooms were wonderful too, high ceilings, nice bedspreads, blending in the with colonial architecture.
This would be our hotel of choice if we return to Morelia which is a very representative town of the best of Mexico. The hotel is walking distance from the Centro Historico.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astute4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.0 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
1.7 mi away
Villa Montana Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hotel Horizon Morelia
Hotel Horizon Morelia
#4 of 66 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#13 of 66 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casino Morelia
Hotel Casino Morelia
#9 of 66 in Morelia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Soledad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Soledad

Property: Hotel de la Soledad
Address: Calle Ignacio Zaragoza No. 90, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Morelia
#1 Family Hotel in Morelia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morelia
#3 Business Hotel in Morelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Soledad 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XVII century colonial building decorated with a vast collection of works of art, paintings and furniture and antiguos.Modernas Charming rooms furnished with fine marble details, onyx, wood and quarry, retaining its essence colonial.Galardonado I have one of the colonial patios most beautiful of the former Valladolid. Located in the heart of the historic center of Morelia, near the most representative attractions of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de la Soledad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Soledad Morelia
De La Soledad Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing