We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cherngtalay
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
263
50
24
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
263
50
24
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai restaurant traditional thai architecture six senses beach staff private beach beach boys dressing area pansea beach steam room the hotel manager room number main pool elephant sanctuary our honeymoon our night stay phuket airport breakfast and dinner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the amanpuri hotel had a really beautiful and amazing time the villa was off the chart beautiful the service was amazing people bending them selves backwards to please you in everyway it was non stop service beautiful views first class spa rooms where amazing i cant say enough about the service probably best service we have had in our travel career really something extraordinary

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start this off by saying the Aman brand has been very hyped up to me by friends and travel publications so my expectations were very high, and I am happy to report that I was not in the least bit disappointed by my first stay in an Aman property -- in fact, my expectations were even exceeded!
The staff is wonderful. They are all so kind and even upgraded our room upon arrival to one of Aman's private residences because we arrived just after the resort reopened from its Spring hiatus.
That brings me to our villa -- WOW. It had four floors with an elevator to access them, two maids to help us unpack, do our laundry and repack at the end of our stay, a private (massive) pool, meditation / yoga room and rooftop with two little pavilions on it and great views of the ocean. I love how the resort took traditional Thai architecture and modernized it to look sleek and stylish. I highly recommend booking one of these residences if you are a larger party traveling to Phuket. If we ever needed anything we could call the front desk and they would send over a golf cart to help us navigate the large property, and take us where we wanted to go.
The public spaces are beautiful as well. When you enter the resort a large pool is surrounded by houses with traditional Thai roofs, which contain the restaurant and spa. A long staircase across from the concierge leads down to a private beach and beach bar.
The food and drinks here were amazing. The restaurant serves up such tasty Thai staples with views of the pool. One day, there was even live music on the pavilion across from the restaurant, which I enjoyed.
Aman is known for being able to get the best reservations and the staff here did not disappoint in that regard. They organized dinner for us at Black Ginger, Blue Elephant and the Siam Supper Club. They also planned trips for us to visit the Phuket Elephant Sanctuary and Gibbon Rehabilitation Project.
The highlight of our activities has to have been island hopping on a private boat, however. We were taken around to the most scenic locations and even hopped off the boat at one point to kayak through some caves, which I highly recommend! On our boat trip, we also stopped off on Yao Noi island for lunch at the Six Senses hotel there, which was very relaxing.
Finally, the activities on the resort were great as well. My boyfriend played tennis the first morning of our stay and said it was such a good workout he repeated it every day we were there. We also took a Muay Thai class, which was very challenging and fun with a great trainer.
Overall, Aman has definitely earned its stellar reputation and I would love to return to this beautiful resort. I am even planning trips to other Aman properties because I have converted to being an Amanjunkie; there's truly nothing like it.

Room tip: Book one of the private residences if you can!
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylexvhors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Like most other people I chose an Aman for quality, at Amanpuri, unfortunately for us, it was the lack of.

1. HOLES in the bedsheets. 20 years ago I backpacked through Australia and I never found holes in the bedsheets in any of the hostels i stayed at. When i called housekeeping and explained the situation, they sent 2 male housekeepers with towels! another call later a lady came and said "oh i will change for you, it is ok". i was like, no, this is not ok. third call later a second lady came who was more apologetic. after the bedsheets were removed we found STAINS on the mattress protector, after they removed the stained mattress protector we found dried bits of leaves on the mattress. perhaps we should have dissected the mattress and perhaps we would have found an exotic animal living in there. note that while they were changing the bedding they placed pillows and duvet on the floor and practically on top of plates full of food and sauce. while the staff were waiting for new bedding to arrive they all just stood there and browsed on their phones. im sorry that you find your job so dull!

2. the next day a manager and a guest relations ladyspoke to me and apologised. i quote "we did a thorough check of beddings and found a few more with holes in them, so thank you very much for bringing this to our attention". hum ok, so i spent almost 6000 usd for 2 nights here to do your quality assessment. how lovely!

3. unfriendly staff especially at the Japanese restaurant where we were completely ignored by the chefs at the sushi counter. the rest of the time we saw staff bored out of their minds so a lot of gathering in small groups and chitchatting much like a sunday market.

4. we dined at all 3 restaurants, i'd say the italian one was ok, the japanese and thai restaurant were terrible for the price. i felt like i was eating at an All Bar One.

5. massage was not great at all.

the manager (not the GM, i dont think i met the GM) and the guest relations lady i spoke to were nice but on a very superficial level. i'm almost certain they were given a script of what to say to guests (yes that bad). Amanpuri is a resort capitalising on its brand name while providing major subpar quality of services. I will never return to Amanpuri and thank to this experience I will think twice, perhaps 10 times, before booking another Aman. 6000USD for 2 nights of this, woah...

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AVDBLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

Thank you Amanpuri for another unforgettable life-enriching experience!!!

This was our 3rd stay at this property and our first in a Villa (as opposed to a Pavillion). We were first reluctant to be farther from the beach and have to take Buggies to get there but once we got settled in Villa 26 we could never imagine going back to a Pavillion again!

Our Villa Angels, Khun Noo and Khun Porn made our holiday one of the most memorable experiences in Asia. Their genuine smiles and service with excellence continued to surpass our expectations daily. We arrived as guests and left as family!!! I will never ever forget these two amazing Thai women!! They have touched our lives and our hearts forever!

Our arrival involved some initial disappointments because of an error with our reservation but thanks to Maddie and Khun Gluay, who perservered to turn our situation into a positive one, we were quickly escorted into Aman Bliss!

The Beach was as brilliant as ever and we received fantastic service from Khun Eing, Khun Nut, and all the Beach Team. We love this iconic beach, one of the very best in Phuket.

The Spa at Amanpuri never disappoints! We were there daily for steam and amazing healing body work by some of the best therapists in Thailand!! Thank you Angels Am, Rose, Apple, Natalia, and all the team!!!

The restaurants at Amanpuri are one of the reasons I return to this magical place. All three Venues offer fantastic food and service.

Like always, the chefs at Buabok (Thai Restaurant), adapted beautifully to our request for vegetarian options and special requests! Thank you Khun Om and Khun Som for the amazing service!

Nama (Japanese Restaurant) is one of my favorite Japanese restaurants outside of Japan! Never disappoints!! Thank you Chef Tony for all the special dishes we created together!!! Also thank you Chef Hiro San!!! We ate here several times... as the food and atmosphere is heaven!! Thank you Khun Aof, Nick, Ae, A, Bo, Pam, & Nan for great service and for waiting for us every night (we are late diners).

At Arva (Italian) we were in White Truffle heaven!!!! Thanks to the Chef for honoring our request for White Truffle Pizza which was nothing less than perfection!!! Thank you Dragan and Khun Ami for taking such good care of our wine selection and opening the bottles prior to our arrival to breathe - makes such a difference with younger vintages -. we were so grateful!!! Thanks to all the team for amazing service and meals ... Khun Jip, Ris, Dennis, Tian, Out, Pauli, & Team!!

One of the most spectacular bars in the world - especially at sunset - thank you Khun Tae, Fom, and Dai!!!

There are so many other kind people who took such good care of us during our stay including the buggy drivers and front office staff! Buggy Drivers with smiles: Khun Lung, Lee, Pong, Song, & Khun Hah who drove us to the airport!

To our ANGELS Khun Noo and Khun Porn of Villa 26: We left you with hugs and tears but with our hearts full and our lives forever touched by your most gracious hospitality and friendship!!! We love you!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambinaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019 via mobile

We recently spent 5 days/ 4 nights at the Amanpuri while on our honeymoon traveling throughout Thailand and Vietnam. First off, I want to preface everything to follow by saying we ultimately had a wonderful time and enjoyed the beautiful beachfront at the Aman. The property is gorgeous. However, overall given the high cost and our expectations of the quality and service of a resort of this supposed caliber and relative to experience elsewhere throughout the region, we came away disappointed by the overall experience at the Amanpuri.

Resort and Amenities:
The private beach is the major selling point for this resort. Fantastic beach with easy access from the hotel. Beautiful water and shared beach in a protected lagoon with just one other hotel ensuring a comfortable experience on the beach. The location is very picturesque. But a nice beach alone doesn’t justify the price.

Surprisingly few rooms have ocean views considering the location. Most are clustered next to others with not much more than a few plants to look at. Expect to need to upgrade to a super premium suite to see anything of the beach or water.

The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, but once spending any time in it you realized a few things that hurt the experience, like the bathroom door that blocked the TV or the inability to maintain any natural light from your balcony with any privacy. If we had our blinds open, our bed looked right out at another room’s. The balcony is a nice space, but with the lack of privacy or sun/view it wasn’t very useful.

There are 3 restaurants in the property, each more expensive than the next. Sure you expect to pay a premium at any resort, but when you can walk 10 mins down to the town and enjoy a really good meal for 2 people for less than the cost of an appetizer, it quickly makes you feel like you’re being extorted. We ate at the restaurant our first evening and later had one lunch at the beach restaurant. The food was good, but the value was challenging. (Check out SUAY restaurant a few miles away for better food at half the cost if the local spots are not your style).

Service:
This was the main area of criticism. When we arrived, it was a bit of a cluster - no one seemed to know what was going on and seemed confused by us being there. Then we were met by seemingly the whole Management staff, but it felt like a glancing hello and they didn’t really give a hoot. It was more awkward than anything else. Then we got a quick walk through the main pool area to point out general directions around the resort, no real tour to understand what was available to us during our stay (spa, gym, beach toys, etc).

We stayed at a few other 5 star resorts during our honeymoon travels (Six Senses Yao Noi, Sofitel Hanoi, etc) as well as hotels a tier below. Each other resort had some acknowledgement of our honeymoon. However there was zero mention or recognition from staff at the Amanpuri, which was very surprising given the prestige and price of this resort. Not even flowers or champagne in our room, let alone a small room upgrade given the hotel was clearly well below capacity a few weeks before the main Christmas rush. Not saying at all we expected a glamorous welcome, but it was a signal of ignorance of the little things that many other hotels we enjoyed on our trip had right.

When we were shown to our room, we were very surprised it was just across from the lobby drive, above the street access that every vehicle in and out of the property would pass on. After a days exploring the resort, I’d imagine it was probably the worst room on the property that any thoughtful manager would leave to be the last room filled only if at absolute capacity. We’d been in the room 5 mins before it was clear this was not going to work. Nobody wants to pay $1000+ a night to sleep over a highway.

We called the front desk and requested a room change given the noise. They grudgingly moved us to a quieter room, but without any apology for inconvenience or recognition of the issue.

The remainder of our stay, the buggy drivers and beach attendants were all extremely kind and helpful. Things got better while interacting with lobby staff, though still lacking that premium service (like something as simple as knowing your name when you call from your room phone) you’d expect from a premier resort. Another example: On our last day while sitting by the pool, a woman in management stopped by, and asked about our next city and if we were staying at the Aman there. 2 hours later when we checked out, we ran into her again and she asked us same exact same questions, like no recognition. Super bizarre and awkward.

Overall:
Obviously the big element here is the cost of the rooms. At $1000+ per night and a premier service brand like Aman, you expect a certain experience. While a very nice place to spend a couple days enjoying a wonderful Thai beach, it was hard to separate that from the cost. We enjoyed the amenities but felt a bit uncomfortable our entire stay. We had just come from an incredibly positive experience at the Six Senses on nearby Yao Noi for a comparable price point and the Amanpuri just didn’t stack up.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Agreos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews