We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pandanus Palms Resort
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed in this Resort twice and never had a problem.
The rooms were always clean. The views a amazing and if you are traveling in July you can even see the whales from the room.
The Villas are very spacious with queen beds in both rooms. Front room has a balcony and awesome views. The bathroom was very clean and looked like they just renovated it. The kitchen is very modern with all the facilities you need. We took all our own food over from the main land but some of the restaurants are ok. Just typical Island prices.
The only thing i would say, it could do with a new couch. The old one looks very used and not very inviting. Also we washed the dishes before we used them.
If you have to use the internet just beware as it is quite expensive to use.
There is a tennis ground and a swimming pool. Also parking on site.
But I would not recommend the restaurant on site. Went there the first time and it was amazing. But since then it's been sold off and the new owners need a lesson or two in cooking and service.
Would stay at this resort every time. Annette is very helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ocean/ Beach villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us recenlty. We value your comments and love the fact that you find our villas clean and the views were enjoyed. I shall pass on your comments about the couch to the owner of the unit and see if we can have that replaced and sorry to hear that the dishes needed to be washed. That's something I need to address with the cleaners as it's not good enough that you needed to wash them. They should be clean when you arrive and I apologise for this.

The internet is unfortunately supplied by a providor who sets the price and I will be in contact with them with your feedback.

I have also passed your review on to the Whales Way restaurant for their consideration.

I hope to be able to give you a better experience next time you come to visit and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We treated ourselves to an ocean/beach villa and did not regret it. Although we hadn't realised the villas weren't actually right by the beach until we got there, the hillside location didn't disappoint. Views were stunning.

Annette was welcoming and very helpful. She offered a late checkout as it was a quiet period.

Villa was very clean and more than spacious for just two of us. Felt quiet and private also. Decor was quite dated and some fittings could do with replacing. Kitchen and bathroom absolutely fine and well equipped. Plastic loo is just wrong though!!!

There was no aircon or ceiling fans in our villa which surprised me and could be a problem in summer. Pedestal fans were stored in cupboards. We were here in the winter and I worried we would be cold at night but it was absolutely fine.

The only big let down was the Whales Way restaurant which is on site but not really managed by the resort. Think there must be a premium charged for its location - which becomes pretty meaningless after dark. Paid $32 for a seafood curry and got 2 prawns and a scallop in it!!!! Staff didn't ask how meal was, presumably because they already knew the answer.

Would go back to Pandanus any time but not to the Whales Way restaurant!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us recently. I am happy that you enjoyed the view and will address the issues you had with the loo and lack of ceiling fans in the villa, although we never seem to get really hot being perched up high on the hill, as we always seem to get a cool breeze.

I will pass on your thoughts about the restaurant to the owner/operator. I am sorry that this was not a pleasant experience and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Pandanus is centrally located in Point Lookout It has a great restaurant, Having dinner watching the sun set, with a great red and the love of my life and strolling back to our apartment, no need to drive what a great holiday. You ask what could be better, well all of a sudden a pod of whales started jumping about. Now I understand why they cale it the Whale way Restaurant. The accommodation was clean and had everything for a weekend or an extended stay. Office staff were friendly and available. We spent lots of time exploring the island the beaches were unbelievable and mostly empty. We skinny dipped twice. A memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusOnTheGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you had an enjoyable stay and would love to welcome you to stay with us again to re-visit your fantastic holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed there before easter holidays in 2011 and 2012. It has a magic view from the Ocean and beach units at the front of resort. Both units we stayed in had been refurbished and we very comfortable and well equiped. Annette is very welcoming and does a great job.It is a great place to relax and enjoy the view and the peace and quite.N.Stardbroke is a beautiful place.., the walk along the headland, the beaches, the dolphins and turtles etc We look forward to our next trip to Pandanus Palms hopefully in the whale season.

Room Tip: pay the extra and take the beach and ocean units...ask for one that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. Your kinds words are much appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you again and offer you the holiday experience you have come to know and enjoy.
Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The views from the resort are sensational and the location is perfect for Cylinder Beach. We had stayed at this resort before and had been happy, but this stay was very very disappointing.

This review applies ONLY to Unit 13. Unit 13 was dirty, had not been cleaned properly and furniture was broken. Admittedly this is really cheap basic budget accommodation ($140 per night for 4 people through wotif) but there is no excuse for not cleaning holiday accommodation properly. We raised these issues with the Manager and she said would "have a word with the owners". The manager did say that the owners were 'new owners' so perhaps they need some guidance in how to furnish and clean a holiday rental.

These were problems:
1. The floors had not been swept and most floors had sand and grit on them when we arrived (if a vacuum cleaner had been provided we would have cleaned the floors, skirting boards and corners!)
2. The grouting on the bathroom tiles was black with mould and need a really good clean - nothing that cannot be rectified with a bit of bleach, a good brush and some elbow grease!)
3. Cobwebs hanging from the ceiling in the main bedroom
4. Rubbish in the wardrobe in the second bedroom (clearly the cleaners are lazy and the manager can't be bothered to check on cleaning standards in units)
5. All of the window panes and frames were dirty and needed cleaning (The communal gardens are very maintained so I am not sure why cleaning the window panes and window frames is not part of routine cleaning)
6. Broken chair on the balcony (Why would you leave a broken chair there?)
7. Two broken chairs in the back garden. (It would be fair to say that it looked as though the owner had gone around to kerb side collections to get the furniture for the back garden)
8. Chipped mug in the kitchen. (Some of the cutlery and crockery was a bit dirty but I guess the previous tenants had not washed up properly)
9. Kitchen cupboards needed a good wash and clean as did the gaps either side of the oven (between the oven and the cupboards)

A few bottles of Ajax, a heavy duty vacuum cleaner, a day of spring cleaning and a trip to IKEA for some new furniture and this would be a great unit to stay in!

Room Tip: All of the units are individually owned so I guess its lucky whteher you get a clean unit or a shabb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelsmithtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been noted and we have addressed your concerns with cleanliness and overall appearance of the villa and taken steps to have these rectified. We welcome all comments as they do give us an insight into the guests experience when they stay with us be it positive or negative.
I hope you will return and have a more pleasant stay next time and see the improvements that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Large roomy town house with a great balcony. Everything thought of and provided. Only down side is the 9am exit when ferry does not depart until 6pm. Great spot, close to great beacehes, and lovely holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H, Manager at Pandanus Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property and your kind words about the management. Your comments about the presentation and the TV reception have been noted and acted upon and we hope that you might see a difference if you wish to return in the future to our beautiful slice of paradise on North Stradbroke Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I stayed for four nights in an "ocean view" unit with my wife and visiting sister on a special deal that offered four nights, including ferry to the island for our 4wd plus passengers, for $500. This was excellent value, especially given that the normal ferry return alone would have been $135.
The unit was a two-storey villa with good ocean views from the upper floor, and a nice balcony with barbecue. The main bedroom (double bed) was spacious and the bed and pillows comfortable. The second bedroom (two single beds) was more cramped but adequate. The bathroom was spacious and well laid-out, but the separate toilet was cramped.
Upstairs was the kitchen/living area. The kitchen was modern and fairly new, really very good and well-equipped, and the living area light and comfortable with a good
TV and DVD (though only a limited range of digital channels). There were good ceiling fans in all rooms.
The resort itself was fairly basic: a small swimming pool (adequate for us but would get crowded in high season), tennis court, and an on-site restaurant (Amis) that appeared to be independently operated and did not seem to be open while we were there. This did not matter to us, because we were prepared and wished to be largely self-catering, but could be a problem for travellers more used to eating out.
The location of the resort meant that transport was needed to the many excellent beaches in the area and to the cafes and few shops in Point Lookout. Again, this was not a problem for us and probably would not be for most travellers attracted to this sort of self-catering accomodation.
Our only complaints were three. First, some of the crockery was chipped while the previous tenants had done a poor job of washing-up crockery and cutlery, and apparently the cleaner had not noticed or taken action on any of this. Secondly, the villa contained only one old and noisy air-conditioning unit (in the main bedroom) - not a major problem for us, but ac would have been useful on one of the nights. And thirdly, the small backyard (with clothes line) was messy and untended with dead leaves and dying plants all over the place.
Ending on a very positive note, the managers were extremely friendly, helpful and accomodating. Our original booking coincided with a period of heavy and constant rainful, and cool days. I 'phoned on the morning we were booked in, only two hours before the ferry time, and asked about the options for postponement. I had got to the stage where I was willing to sacrifice the $100 deposit I had paid, but the person I spoke to had no problem in changing the booking for both the unit and the ferry at such short notice. This was kind and thoughtful and made good business sense, and I'm happy to recommend the resort to anybody with own transport and looking for a self-catering holiday on a beautiful island, within easy reach of beaches and local amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrisbanePassionfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Lookout
0.2 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Anchorage on Straddie Beachfront Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Islander Holiday Resort
The Islander Holiday Resort
#8 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#2 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandanus Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandanus Palms Resort

Address: 21 Cumming Pde, Point Lookout, Redland City, North Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4183, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > North Stradbroke Island > Point Lookout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Point Lookout
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pandanus Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pandanus Palms Holiday Resort provides distinct private resort accommodation choices with our two bedroom and three bedroom villas. All are self catering with large living areas and private balconies with modern conveniences, own BBQ, undercover parking and unsurpassed ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pandanus Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandanus Palms Resort North Stradbroke Island/Point Lookout, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing