We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shepherd's Delight

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer. Bluebells in May.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer.
Bluebells in May.
Cosy even in the snow.
The entrance to your own woodland.
The outdoor wood burning hot tub an amazing experience any time of year.
Cosy wood burner keeps you warm in the winter.
Our friendly alpacas just after being shawn.
Our 5 acre field.
The alpacas at sunrise in the autumn.
Luxurious bedlinen and an alpaca fleece duvet-a good night's sleep is imperative.
The composting toilet and washstand.
Try the unique experience of the steaming outdoor shower or use the guests only shower in our home.
Shepherd's Delight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amyuk2015
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We’ve just come back from three nights here and can’t recommend it highly enough. Jo has thought of everything to make the hut a wonderfully comfortable place to stay, even in the cold! It’s definitely worth paying for the hot tub which is just glorious. If you crave peace and quiet, the hut is the place to go. We were warm and cosy and slept so well every night, the countryside is gorgeous - a perfect place for a getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley B
1 review
“Lovely getaway ”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shepherds hut this weekend, it really is such a tranquil place where time just stands still! We loved sitting all toasty in the hut and just peering outside at all the local wildlife, we were lucky enough to see the resident robin twice along with pheasants, deer and of course the alpacas.

The hut is beautifully cosy with every thing you could possibly need in it and more, Jo was extremely welcoming and has thought of all the little extra touches to make the hut even more appealing than what it already is, she even left us a homemade cake in the mailbox as she'd heard we were celebrating a birthday. (which was beautiful may I add)

Would definitely recommend the Shepherds delight and Jo's hospitality and would love to come back in one of the spring/summer months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a beautiful hut set in a beautiful wooded/grassy area. It is reached by going up a hilly field with lovely views (and alpacas) and then down an oil lamp lit path. The hot tub was great and there were lots of opportunities to light fires - from the log burning hot tub, to the log burning stove to a fire pit! The Hut was well equipped with towels, robes and crocs for the hot tub. The breakfast basket was lovely. A very relaxing break. Thank you Jo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Brilliant Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A peaceful relaxing stay which was great fun. Jo was warm and welcoming. The Hut was adorable. An experience that everybody should try at least once in a lifetime.
The hot tub was superb, the lamps just lovely. A perfect holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klridpath
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our first time at Shepherd's Delight, and I'm sure it won't be our last.
It was so peaceful, tranquil, and a great secluded escape.
Jo's warm open manner put us at ease from the moment we arrived and she was incredibly thoughtful, leaving us some little gifts to celebrate our anniversary and big birthday, which was very much appreciated.

The facilities where great and I'm completely in love with the wood fired hot tub! if you can tare yourself away from the hot tub and camp fire there is plenty to do both within walking distance and a short drive.

I can't recommend this place more, they book up fast and the reason is they are simply fantastic!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine...
1 review
“Shepherds Delight was delightful”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A most amazing place to get away from it all...and I mean really get away from it all. Jo, our host was lovely and had thought of everything to make our stay perfect. The breakfast basket is a great welcoming detail and the hut has everything you will need down to binoculars to watch the wildlife and every cooking utensil you might need. But if you don't fancy cooking, Jo had some great tips on where to eat which we took advantage of. The inn at Stainley does some pretty decent sea food. If you want to relax around the fire pit or spend hours in the relaxing hot tub...this place is for you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheviot-R...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a rather excellent three-night stay at Shepherd’s Delight. It is even better than the glowing reports on Tripadvisor would have you believe. It is better than any photograph you may have seen. It is a total experience. Jo, the owner, seems dedicated to making your stay absolutely perfect and she succeeds! Not just a hut, or even a hut with a hot-tub, Shepherd’s Delight starts when you enter a little wooden gate and find yourself in a totally private garden area. The hut is probably 100m distant along a path lit by oil lamps with areas set aside with deck-chairs and picnic tables. The atmosphere is astounding. Our three-night stay was one of the most memorable breaks away we have ever had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing