We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shepherd's Delight

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer. Bluebells in May.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer.
Bluebells in May.
Cosy even in the snow.
The entrance to your own woodland.
The outdoor wood burning hot tub an amazing experience any time of year.
Cosy wood burner keeps you warm in the winter.
Our friendly alpacas just after being shawn.
Our 5 acre field.
The alpacas at sunrise in the autumn.
Luxurious bedlinen and an alpaca fleece duvet-a good night's sleep is imperative.
The composting toilet and washstand.
Try the unique experience of the steaming outdoor shower or use the guests only shower in our home.
Shepherd's Delight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheviot-R...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a rather excellent three-night stay at Shepherd’s Delight. It is even better than the glowing reports on Tripadvisor would have you believe. It is better than any photograph you may have seen. It is a total experience. Jo, the owner, seems dedicated to making your stay absolutely perfect and she succeeds! Not just a hut, or even a hut with a hot-tub, Shepherd’s Delight starts when you enter a little wooden gate and find yourself in a totally private garden area. The hut is probably 100m distant along a path lit by oil lamps with areas set aside with deck-chairs and picnic tables. The atmosphere is astounding. Our three-night stay was one of the most memorable breaks away we have ever had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ms”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just spent the weekend at this beautiful place! What a perfect way to celebrate my 30th birthday! Everything was in full bloom, absolutely stunning!
Jo really has thought of everything, the hut is very well equipped, although we didnt need to use half of it as we cooked our dinners over the fire! The hot tub was a huge hit and as we were very lucky with the weather it meant we actually got to use it 3 times! A nice hot cup of coffee sat in the hot tub at 8am on a Saturday morning-absolute bliss! So calm and tranquil and the complete opposite to our normal hectic life!
We visited the Malt Shovel for lunch, lovely food and most definitely recommend!

We had the most perfect time here and we cannot wait to return. Thanks Jo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aimeehors...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Absolutely amazing! Everything is taken care of and there are so many little details to enjoy from the hammock to the fire pit (with marshmallows provided) and the natural beauty and wildlife are just perfect. Everything is easy to use and accessible. There are lovely villages within driving distance and local pubs that you can cycle to easily. Cannot be faulted. Totally magical experience!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGRRosy
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Idyllic”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Tranquil, leafy and comfortable. The sun shone warmly for us so the hot tub in the late afternoon after a lazy relaxing day was just perfect--glass of wine to hand, birds singing, bluebells nodding, azure sky! The Shepherds hut was well appointed, Joanna seemed to have thought of every eventuality and every comfort. Goodies for breakfast each day were generous and tasty. We had plenty of wood to make a fire to cook over in the firepit, we didn't light the inside stove with temperatures soaring into the 20s, but it looked temptingly cosy for a winter stay.
The setting was so private but within walking distance to a pub for lunch (but we were so content we stayed on site!) and easy car drive to Harrogate, Ripon and other delights such as Fountains Abbey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley J...
2 reviews
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The perfect couple get away would be the best way to describe the Shepards delight. Lovely little area a drive away from Harrogate with some very nice personally touches. The host couldn't do more for you. Extremely friendly and approachable. I would recommend this place to anyone and would most definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

From the birthday cake that had been baked to the alpaca duvet, jo has thought of everything this place is amazing. The crocs to walk to the hot tub are a very handy idea and the local village has a amazing pub! Will definitely be back !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joegwhite...
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better weekend away. The hut and it's surroundings are beautiful. We will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing