We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second times a winner”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shepherd's Delight

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer. Bluebells in May.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer.
Bluebells in May.
Cosy even in the snow.
The entrance to your own woodland.
The outdoor wood burning hot tub an amazing experience any time of year.
Cosy wood burner keeps you warm in the winter.
Our friendly alpacas just after being shawn.
Our 5 acre field.
The alpacas at sunrise in the autumn.
Luxurious bedlinen and an alpaca fleece duvet-a good night's sleep is imperative.
The composting toilet and washstand.
Try the unique experience of the steaming outdoor shower or use the guests only shower in our home.
Shepherd's Delight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa B
1 review
“Second times a winner”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here twice now, once in the summer and now we've tried the winter. It's such a special place and Jo makes it an amazing experience. Would recommend to anyone who wants to switch off from the hustle and bustle of life for a few days, experience a piece of beautiful Yorkshire countryside and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a wonderful place. I Would recommend this to anybody. We stopped for 2 nights in the middle of storm Doris!! We couldn't have been any warmer at night, I had to sleep with the door open the first night as i under estimated the log burning stove. It heats up so quick. The hot tub was to die for, a little bit of determination needed but it sure pays off in the end. Also once hot it stays hot for hours, was even warm enough the morning after for a quick dip. The hot outdoor shower was lovely too if you dont mind the quick dash back into the hut at -23455 degrees :). The breakfast basket was a nice touch (jam was delicious) and feeding the pheasants in the morning was something different. All in all such an amazing place and can't wait to come back in the summer! Thanks Jo x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
1 review
“Shepherd's Delight:”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I am so glad I found this little gem of a hut and for staying patient until the last of my searches, after hours of Googling!

On arrival, Jo greeted us with a huuuuge smile, which made us feel very welcome. She matched the person I thought I was emailing in advance of the stay, which was also very pro!

Jo then takes you to the hut shows you around and gives you tips on getting the fires started - especially the hot tub! Then after that, she'll tootle off back down the hill and the rest of your stay at the hut is entirely private! Jo will leave more wood at the entrance gate to the land (approx 100m from the hut) but will not intrude.

Personally, we loved how cosy it was and even though we've only been in winter, we felt we best appreciated the hot tub, fire pit AND log burning stove in the colder months - especially the 1am hot tub! I loved keeping three fires lit while Chloe loved toasting (and eating) the marshmellows we were given best.

The hut itself is AMAZING 10/10 superb 5 stars. Lovely decor, everything you need really, for a no gadget glamping holiday to get back in touch with nature, which is what I believe Jo wanted to create for couples to experience at her hut. Stunning job Jo; we'll be back!

Alex & Chloe

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice_Chu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best 30th Birthday!! An unforgettable couple of days.”
Reviewed December 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This place is an absolute MUST. Jo is hugely welcoming, full of warmth and enthusiasm along with tons of helpful information. She lets you get on and enjoy the privacy of this incredible space which is meticulously planned down to the last teabag! It is a great camping experience with enough luxury to make it very comfortable! From the hot tub to the alpaca duvet, every touch is perfect. We are already planning our return!! PS. Thank you too for the homemade banana cake!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing, wonderful, fantastically relaxing respite away from normal life”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Shepherds Delight is exactly that, a truly amazing delight.
The facilities were second to none, everything was quality and we were short of nothing.
Breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable. Great fun cooking and eating outside, feeding the pheasant.
Sitting by the campfire, listening to the sounds of the night and the crackle of the fire was absolutely wonderful.
The 2 days we stayed here were like a little piece of heaven, so relaxing and great fun.
Would highly recommend and hope to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shepherd's Delight”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Shepherd's Delight was a fabulous experienced, a beautiful private land. Amazingly there were many things available to use that you don't need to bring except clothing and food if needed. Hot tub was superb. We were very lucky that the weather was great. Thank you Jo for a wonderful hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey E
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so relaxing!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just got back from an amazing weekend spent at the shepherds hut for my husbands birthday. The owner Jo is so friendly and has literally thought of everything you could possibly need or want to make your stay perfect. She had even baked my husband a birthday cake which was a lovely touch. The hut itself is so cosy and all the little Quirky touches really are lovely. The hot tub is fab too and my husband made it his job to get the fire going to heat the water up! I would definitely recommend visiting you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing