We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place just gets worse”

Rosemarkie Beach Cafe and Exhibition
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Rosemarkie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Scottish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a social enterprise cafe run by Rosemarkie Amenities Association set in a nice green field right beside a sandy beach. We are a short walk from the nearest on street parking over a wee bridge. Great beach for rock-pooling, paddling and dolphin-spotting. Our young trainee staff learn to make simple food well: home-made soup, cheese toasties, hot drinks, salads. We have very naughty cakes and lovely ice-cream. We are not the Ritz and we can't do much about the weather but we have a nice wee exhibition about the local area which is free, walks leaflets, maps and our staff are all local. This year's profits will contribute to the replacement of our seaside tennis courts. Donations very welcome! We are open until 3.30 daily until early November when we go down to Friday, Saturday and Sunday instead. Come and see us soon!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service here was terrible when the old fella that ran it previously. It couldn't get any worse, yes it can, 40 minutes for 2 coffees, 7 customers in there, what's happening? The staff are clearly incompetent with no training, they probably are volunteers but this does nobody any favours. There were lots of irate customers that day, can you please employ some professionals. Such a shame as the location is fabulous.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skyewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped by for brunch - couple of 'big' breakfasts and black coffees. All pretty average but only 'big' due to small plates. Limited seating inside as a few were sheltering from the heights of the Scottish summer. Exhibition? Hmmm. Perhaps Information but nothing to consume >15 seconds attention.
Good location with the right weather. Hellmans Mayo
Its worth supporting this local venture.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely simple lunch of sandwiches, toasties and coffee. Great service, a very friendly welcome and extremely helpful.
Great location.... Whatever the weather

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ELLEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Community cafe and exhibition of dolphins
The staff were really friendly and we had a laugh when I was getting confused with my order.
Quick service, great cakes and unbeatable spot to admire the coast line and relax.
Loved it

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank rosetaole8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Provides home cooking coffees teas etc.A great place to pick up extras you may have left behind on your day at the beach. Has a tennis court, outdoor play area, information centre, lots of tables and benches,toilets and a shower

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank thephoenixtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosemarkie Beach Cafe and Exhibition also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Rosemarkie Beach Cafe and Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing