We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful sea town”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Rowan Cottage and the nearby 'Plough Inn'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage and the nearby 'Plough Inn'
The beach is 2 minutes walk from the cottage Modern, well-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Rowan Cottage and the nearby 'Plough Inn'
The beach is 2 minutes walk from the cottage
Modern, well-equipped kitchen
The rear of Rowan Cottage and it's colourful garden
The wood-lined sitting room
Lounge
Traditional fireplace in the Lounge
Oil-fired stove in the sitting room
Double bedroom
Fitted wardrobes in the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Rowan Cottage
Looking West along the beach to Chanonry Point
The beach is 2 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
caroldors...
Meeker, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful sea town”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Rosemarkie Scotland cottage is walking distance to the ocean. The Plough and the Croughter serve great food. Walk the Feiffer Glen trail to the falls. 15 minute drive to Invernes bus does go by so you can catch it too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you Carol for your positive review. I'm glad you had a good time and enjoyed the gentle pace of Rosemarkie and the Black Isle. Thank you for leaving the cottage clean and tidy and for the tip!
I hope you will be able to return to Scotland in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROBBO57
GLASGOW
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SO Relaxing”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Rosemarkie is a lovely place and Rowan Cottage the perfect location. Having a beautiful beach 3 minutes walk from the cottage is a real bonus. The beach provides a wonderful opportunity for an early morning walk. Don't be put off by the rather gloomy exterior of The Plough - 2 minutes walk from the cottage. If you like cask ale they always have 2 pumps on. It was great to have a 'watering hole' so close by after a days walking. Eating out ? - Book a table at Crofters, it's excellent. If fish and chips is what you fancy it's worth the 10 minute drive to the Harbour chippy at Avoch.

And now to the cottage : first impressions count and our first impression was reflected in the width of our smiles as we walked in. The cottage is exceptionally well equipped and really homely. The conservatory is a lovely place to sit even on a rainy day. If you get a sunny day it's great to sit in the garden.

A previous review mentioned problems with the wi fi, but we didn't have a similar issue.

This was our first stay at Rown Cottage, but it won't be our last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for your positive comments, I'm very glad you enjoyed the village and the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JML30
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a beautiful cottage on the main street of Rosemarkie. It is spacious, has a lovely garden and is always spotlessly clean on arrival. This is ideal for holidays to explore the Highlands. The beach is walking distance, the pub is even closer! Plenty of parking available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
536kf
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is located in an ideal location - on the main road next to all the amenities the hamlet has to offer and within easy reach of everything on Black Isle From Cromarty all the way down to Inverness. It is quiet, spacious and has a wonderful kitchen and conservatory. Within minutes you can be down on the beach or eating a great bacon cob at the Rosemarkie beach cafe. Parking is in a public car park but literally just next door. It is almost impossible to think of anything that could be improved upon. Top Class 10/10

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toni S
1 review
“Lovely wee stay! ”
Reviewed March 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Having never been to the Black Isle before we decided to head up for a long weekend in February. The cottage is in a great location, central enough to get to various places in the car, lovely walks through fairy Glen or along the coast. Of course the pub no more than a stones throw away from the front door was also a bonus.
The cottage itself is very well equipped and soooo warm! Like other guests have mentioned, the open plan kitchen with dining in the conservatory is lovely and we spent many hours there rather than in one of the two (!) lounges.
The only negative (and it's really so small it's barely worth mentioning to most people) is that the fireplace in one lounge is not used and the wood burning stove in the other couldn't be used as it was still to be inspected/tested. I realise that there is no mention of either in the description of the property however I made the assumption that they were usable from the photographs and as a result we toured round Inverness en route to fill the car with firewood and kindling, looking forward to getting cosy in front of the fire! Anyway, it's no biggie but wanted to point it out for awareness for future guests (to be honest, the cottage was so warm we'd probably have collapsed with heat exhaustion if the fire or stove had been lit!)
All in all, lovely cottage, lovely spot and we'll definitely be back, even if it's just to catch a glimpse of the dolphins!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Hi Toni,
I'm sorry you were disappointed to find there was no open fire. In recent years there have been more guests staying in the winter months so I will certainly consider having the chimney lined to make it safe to light an open fire. I will also be getting the oil stove commisioned very soon.
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyreen W
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is our third visit to Rowan Cottage and it is a delight to be back. The cottage is beautifully warm, equipped with everything you could need including a state of the art kitchen and very comfortable beds. The conservatory overlooks the small walled garden and seems to be full of sunshine even though the sun isn't shining! There is well stocked Spa shop just up the road and the nearby Plough Inn serves excellent meals. We no longer have a car but the bus stop is just opposite the shop and you can easily get to Fortrose or Inverness or Cromarty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing