We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out..”
Review of Otterton Mill

Otterton Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Otterton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set beside the River Otter in one of East Devon's loveliest coastal valleys, Otterton Mill is the place in Devon to experience the ancient traditions of flour milling, bread baking and much more! The idyllic setting of our historic working watermill and the stunning surrounding countryside attracts visitors year round from all over the world. They come to enjoy our mill, bakery, cafe-restaurant, local food shop, gift and craft shop, art gallery, wildlife shop, live music, and other events.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good day out..”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Visited Otterton Mill recently. A very cool place, to see something so old & with so much history, working like it did hundreds of years ago! A tip, the Mill only does working demo's on Thursdays so I would check before you visit. Very cool..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kckeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    114
    27
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant oasis”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Interesting mix of a traditional working mill with a decent cafe and some traditional craft products on sale. Excellent place to recover after the walk to and from Budleigh Salterton. Lunch prices are ver y competitive compared to local pub and choices are as good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PRM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter devon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Recently reopened after flooding still maintains a very good standard.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited the mill on Easter Sunday. weather was good. large numbers of visitors. the cafe was very busy. we ordered a soup and an open beef sandwich.the food took little time to appear. both were very good indeed. although under pressure. the staff were friendly and chatty.its good to see the Mill open again after the terrible flooding. parking is free and there are some interesting crafts to see. may need to increase number of toilets.?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank devonwebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cream tea”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have been going to the Mill on for years now and found that the food has varied according to who is in the kitchen. There seems to be a rapid turn over of staff so this is bound to have an effect on the food and service. That said, on our most recent visit last week the cream tea was the best we have ever had there. The scones were perfect, perfect, perfect (and thrust me living in Devon we have tried alot of scones/cream teas). The jam was also excellent and a generous amount of cream meant the whole experience, on a very cold afternoon, was a very pleasent one indeed. I just hope that the standard remains the same in peak season. Also there tiffin from the shop is the best I have ever had.I don't feel it is expensive if you want quality ingredients and produce. Good produce is costly. Surely recent headlines have raised awareness of what "cheap" buys you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our second visit to Otterton Mill - 18 months apart.
We only had tea and a cream tea / cake on both occasions and this was not cheap but very nice and worth the money i would say. Gift shop is very expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mumfo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otterton Mill also viewed

 

Been to Otterton Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing