We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Otterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with a group of 10 other friends for two nights and used as a base for walking a section of the South West coast path. Excellent value for money with no hidden or expected frills. Good clean comfortable rooms albeit some of the en suites are rather small and awkward to use. Nice varied menu with something to suit all and within a reasonable budget. Staff were very polite and helpful. Location is great for anyone who enjoys walking in this lovely part of the country. The hotel is also the local pub but don't be put off, it's an added bonus as once you have parked the car, then everything is at hand. There is also a local Mill for cream teas which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaraunt (3,4,5,6), are the quietest with the rooms at the front (14,12 especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind, honest and genuine comments regarding your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share them with other potential customers.
It is always unfortunate that establishments have some rooms better positioned than others and I am sure future guests will find your comments most helpful, our staff will, of course, provide advice on rooms whenever requested at the time of enquiry/booking.
As mentioned in other replies, we have an ongoing refurbishment programme and although we can not make the en-suites any larger we are, wherever possible, intalling the biggest possible shower cubicles as part of that scheme.
We are very pleased to abe able to provide accommodation for large walking/social parties similar to the group you are part of and judging from the response of other members we should make more of our suitablility.
We hope you will visit us again in the future, many thanks once more for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 316 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Orford, United Kingdom
22
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although well situated for our trip to East Devon which we do regularly we shall not be staying here again.
The worst item was the waste macerator, Saniflo, in the ensuite bathroom which was excessively noisy and would start up when no one was even using the bathroom - waking us up at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I apologise if your stay was spoilt by the noise from the saniflo. These units are in a small minority of our rooms and were all serviced in June. We have since requested an engineers visit and he can not see any fault with any of them, but we will do our best to monitor the situation. Of course inconveniences like this, especially those at night, can not be rectified unless we are notified of them and I can assure you that had we known of any possible fault prior to, or during, your stay we would have found you an alternative room of equal or higher classification without hesitation.
Please contact me personally should you be in the area again and I will do everything in my powers to ensure a relaxed & comfortable stay for you.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed overnight after a Dorset and Devon roaming holiday. This was a last night and it was by far the best of the 5 places we stayed at. Really friendly staff. Very clean and relaxing room. Had a meal in the restaurant that night - superb value and quality. The breakfast was sensational - a real hearty and large full English. We will definitely stay here again - cant wait. Well Done!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was a double at the back and was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValandBrian3589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review and your kind comments concerning the standard of accommodation, food and service you received during your recent stay with us which I have passed on to all of our staff.
It is always most gratifying when a customer takes the time to write about the positive elements of a business and I can assure you it is certainly appreciated by all concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Arms on some future occassion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arrived late Friday for a stay in the village and went to the Kings Arms - quite busy which is always a good sign. Had a very good meal and were looked after by friendly helpful staff. Menu was extensive, reasonably priced and my Moules were perfect. Visited again twice and on the last evening had a superb slow roast belly pork, again we were well looked after by the staff. Well worth a detour if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review and your kind comments concerning the standard of food and service you received during your recent visit to Otterton, which I have passed on to all of our staff.
It is always most gratifying when a customer takes the time to write about the positive elements of a business and I can assure you it is certainly appreciated by all concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Arms on some future occassion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

i have passed this country pub many times when i have been in devon,so on this visit it was my intention to try out the food and drink,i visited their website and i booked a table a couple of months in advance ,when i arrived at pub it was very busy,carpark full,managed to find space down the road near otterton mill, i am so glad that i booked my table in advance,as the outside seating/dining and inside dining area was very busy, we shown to our reserved table by one of the welcoming staff,we both had the sunday carvery,choice of beef,pork,lamb,as much freshly cooked vegetables as you can eat,we both had beef this was cooked a treat,the chef was very welcoming andinformative regads the floods in otterton on july 7th, there was a lot of resevered tables as this must be a very popular eatery,the dining area has modern exposed beamed ceiling,some of the walls are painted burgandy with a very fine gold flec in the paint,

when i visit this part of devon again i shall make a point of eating/drinking here

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, our food is gaining a solid reputation locally and, although it is in no way 'fine dining', the standard, choice and simplicity of it is equally important to our many guests. The carvery you sampled has been further enhanced this year as we now serve meats from our own farm and it only does 18 food miles from field to table - fantastic !
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Arms in the future, perhaps to try something from our Specials Board, which features not only our own meat but fish from our own boats as well ! Incidentally, all of the produce can be bought from our own Farm Shop just a few miles away, please pop in when you are next visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for three nights in mid July. On arrival staff attitude seemed very relaxed, gave us our room key and not a lot else. The room was small but clean and tidy, As another reviewer also commented on, the pillows were very very thin. The bathroom was on the whole clean, not the best shower in the world but adequate enough. We ate at the pub on the Thursday evening and at 8pm most of the food was already sold out. The food was good, but poor value for money regards to the portion sizes. Our room was above the main entrance door, a fire door without a dampner. Between 10.30 and 12.30 other returning guests simply let this door slam and everything in our room rattled. On the Friday night, the doors slammed until 1.30 and we got little sleep for the second night. Saturday night, doors, showers, tv's, talking, you name it, we heard it, until 4.30am. The door was bad enough, but the walls between rooms and thin stud walls and all manner of sound travels. Breakfast was good, on the first day we were told breakfast started at 7am and when we put our order in at 7.30am was told the kitchen was actually closed, however the cook had arrived and would make us something, just this once !
The pub itself is very charming, the atmosphere seemed good, the food on the whole was good, however, this is a very noisy place to stay and in our opinion does not seem to focus enough on it's guest accomodation, you are left with the feeling that the B & B is an ancillary service rather than it's main purpose.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room far away from the main entrance door !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bristolwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Kings Arms O, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in the summer and apologies for the delay in responding. I have taken on board your comments about the disturbance and although we can only be responsible for our guests behaviour to a certain point, we will be doing everything we can to eliminate the noise nuisance you encountered.
We have already taken steps to improve the communication with our guests, especially on arrival, and believe our guests are now better informed of facilities at that point.
I can assure you that the accommodation sector of our business is in no way ancillary and we are always looking to improve this area when budgets allow. We currently have an ongoing programme of refurbishment in our bathrooms & bedrooms and I would be happy to show you the improvements should I have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Kings Arms in the future. Thank you again for the constructive feedback received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

When visiting the Kings Arms we were exceedingly disappointed with the service offered. One member of my party found their drink tasted strongly of chemicals and cleaning products. When asking if her drink could be changed the man, whom we were later told was the manager, decided to TASTE the drink himself, pass judgement, exclaim there was nothing wrong with the drink and then handed it back for my party member to drink. THIS is appalling behaviour on many accounts - it is certainly a clear health and safety problem and anyone who creates such an excruciatingly bad rapport with their customers shouldn't be able to run a pub. We then complained again and another member of staff gave us a new drink. It was a real shame this happened because the food was brilliant compared to the god awful service provided.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffanyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Kings Arms Fore Street, Otterton EX9 7HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Otterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Otterton
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Kings Arms Otterton. Located in the beautiful village of Otterton Devon. A stones throw from the river otter is our 18th century 15 bedroom Country Hotel. With our stylish interior throughout, comfortable clean light accommodation, locally sourced quality food, friendly service and real ales this is defiantly a place not to be missed. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Otterton
The Kings Arms Otterton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing