We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views.”

Cudmore Grove Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
essex
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Views.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Love this place, great walks fab views, great for picnics. Plenty of parking , room for tents with great views over the sea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shellshock04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    52
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Consett
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a great place for a walk and Picnic”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great place to visit for walking or a picnic. Many picnic tables available for use and a great green expanse for kids and pets to play.
Connected to this is a ramp down to the beach and also a pathway onto a walk around the dyke surrounding half of this island. Fantastic sea views, although marred by windmills. Views across teh Colne estuary towards Brightlingsea and a foot passenger ferry to Brightlingsea if you are tempted to venture onto the water.
Car Parking is £2.20, opening times are variable and even when it is open - you cannot guarantee the Cabin selling food and Drinks will be open - it was teh first time we visited on an afternoon but not teh secind day at 09:30 in the morning.
Will return. We loved it and teh Dog loved it too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGNEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family time”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Amazing, time stayed at Coopers Beach and biked up. Caught the foot ferry to Brightlingsea.
Enjoyed the crabbing, but the boys won ;)
Can't wait to return next year

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pebblesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of England”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a lovely area to visit and a great day trip from London. We saw plenty of families and groups playing sport. The main map is hard to work out but the area is not too big so you can walk around most of it pretty easily.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlightlessKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A cheap and wonderful place for all ages”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had not been to Mersea Island before but had heard several good reports about it so when we had a free Sunday we thought we would go and investigate it for ourselves! We expected just a little island but it is not like that at all! After struggling to find somewhere to park in West Mersea for a cup of tea, (the pier is very popular for crabbing!) we headed to the other side of the island and came across Cudmore Grove Country Park and had we known about it we would have come here straight away and spent the day there; It was only £2.20 to park all day; you can pay that an hour some places! There is a kiosk that sells hot and cold drinks and ice creams which is plenty enough as most people take picnics with them for the day these days due to food being so expensive to buy out; there are toilets too. The park is vast; there were people with dogs; people flying kites; people visiting the bird hide; there were people walking along the marked footpaths; there were people on the beach; there were people paddling; there were people having a barbeque; there were people climbing on the pill box and there were people sitting on the many benches; It is just a wonderful place with stunning views that you can't help but want to stay a while ...... and come back again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cudmore Grove Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Cudmore Grove Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing