We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great play area

Been here loads and returned this weekend to find a fantastic new play area. Well worth a visit... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
158rossm
via mobile
Excellent dog-walking area

Very scenic and enjoyable walking for the dog-walker or family with access to the beach beit... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
EllenMay2013
,
Colchester, United Kingdom
Read all 222 reviews
  
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
118
73
22
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
73
22
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country park foot ferry bird hide sea wall open grass information boards great walk lovely place to visit nature reserve the shore line east mersea ice cream great play area bird watching dog walk plenty of space long walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here loads and returned this weekend to find a fantastic new play area. Well worth a visit with the kids and dog

Thank 158rossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very scenic and enjoyable walking for the dog-walker or family with access to the beach beit pebbles, especially in late Spring or Summer. Adders sometimes visible near the carpark area and so some caution required with inquisitive dogs. Parking is a little pricey.

Thank EllenMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

A pay and display car park that is just a field. The whole thing is just a field. Windswept and untidy, Sorry you cannot charge people for this, its a tax on going for a walk. Why not add an oxygen fee as well for the sea air or a fee for the view?
When did this start happening? AND Why do we put up with it? Whats worse who are we thanking for it? Booooo!!!

1  Thank stanley2759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

I was looking for new places to walk my dog on a Sunday afternoon from clacton. After a single track road with many passing places you arrive at the country park. Large car park but you have to pay for parking, its not cheap especially if you just want to walk your dog, you will need at least 2 hours which costs £3.30. But for this you can use the toilet facilities which were very clean and the parking contributes towards the upkeep of the park, so in a way is worth the charge.
There's a lovely bird watch spot and plenty of walk ways.
Overall a very enjoyable park.

Thank uktravellero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

OK, the positives, and there are many.

There are toilets for all three genders (male, female and disabled) at the car park and there are three fantastic play areas for kids, with seating for parents close to the car park.

The area is very suitable for the disabled, I passed both wheelchairs and bikes as I walked along the sea wall. The path is a little uneven, but the covering is stones set into some solid foundation and no problem for wheels.

I walked out along the seawall and back along the beaches. Nice views, nice atmosphere and some world war 2 bunkers and artefacts to add interest. I didn't see much wildlife, but I can believe it was there are there are large acres of brush and cover for birds and animals.

You can walk quite a long way along the beach then, when the cliffs come down to the level of the sand there is a path back to the car park through the woods (ignore the hostile sign "you are trespassing" - the path takes you right back to the play area).

OK; The car park. It costs £3.30 for two hours (probably a minimum time you would be there) and it is guarded by a user-hostile ticket machine, that wants to car reg and an arm and half a leg before it begrudgingly parts with a ticket. (By comparison in West Mersey I found a carpark for 50 for two hours plus the first hour is free for a short stay)

Overall a great couple of hours, I just do not think the parking fee is justified.

Thank Andrew_Paul_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Love the place - loads for all ages, beautiful and tranquil. Mersea is a real gem in total so having such a great park too is such a bonus

Thank SAWithamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Accessed down a narrow lane, this is a large area where you can picnic, walk, play and enjoy being out in the fresh air. Right on the edge of the water but with safe areas for children to play. A small cafe/takeaway which gets horrendously busy on nice weekends and cannot cope. Easy parking and areas for dogs to be let loose and play too. Great walks and large grassed areas to picnic or play games. Well looked after.

Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We came here two weekends ago and had to come back with our family to share it with them too - they loved it!

There is a variety of wildlife to see, especially if you're an eager twitcher! The beaches are beautiful and perfect for a bit of beach-combing. We had a picnic on the benches (mainly located near the park and car park area). A perfect place for people with dogs as a good number of dog-bins provided. The history is very interesting and the landscape is very varied (rivers, grasslands, wooded areas and beaches). Parking is quite pricey but probably on par with our local forest (which is a National Trust site). Highly recommend.

Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Lovely area to spend the time. Good play area which is only a short walk to the beach. Worth the drive from Chelmsford

Thank juliecat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

this was a great place to visit! random choice, didn't know anything about the park, fantastic sand/obstacle play area for the kids, a great walk with loads of the war history info osted along the way! we will be keeping a eye on future events here!

Thank TShotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews