We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great atmosphere, fantastic staff”
Review of The Coast Inn

The Coast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tollesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great food, great atmosphere, fantastic staff”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

a truly enjoyable and satisfying experience, i go here quite a lot. great food always, lovely atmosphere, excellent location, friendly staff, rustic experience, book for best results

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    129
    45
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Drink by the water”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What better place to have a drink or something to eat, amazing views across the water, especially watching the sun set

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Turned up here on a Sunday evening and unfortunatly missed the food service, but the staff were so helpful in finding us somewhere else that was serving food, even down to phoning the place to double check.
As the place seemed so nice we returned the next day for lunch and found that the staff were really friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was fabulous - great fish and chips!!! The bar was cosy and we really felt comftable there even with our four year old, who ate all his dinner up (wow!) and it looked really tasty, even down to the small bits of garlic bread on the side!
We would recommend this place without a doubt and will return as soon as we can bringing others with us!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookie4002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent VFM, you wont leave hungry!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

A great little pub/restaurant in a good location. Very generous portions of your favourite classics. I had a baked lamb dish and it was very tender and piping hot.

Efficient service and good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The Coast inn”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to the coast inn for 6 years. The food has never disappointed. We have taken various family with us. Who have all enjoyed there meals here. The staff a very friendly, and quick to serve, and very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coast Inn also viewed

 
Mersea Island, Essex
 

Been to The Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing