We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Food”

The Victory at Mersea
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Mersea Island
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Victory at Mersea is a very popular pub/restuarant/inn right on the waterfront on Mersea Island, with great views of the Blackwater estuary. There is a large beer garden with plenty of room for alfresco dining and a separate childrens play area.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“No Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Its a little late and hopefully much has changed - our visit was the bank holiday at the end of summer 2013. As the title suggests, when we visited on the Sunday of the bank holiday, we were told they had run out of food (what were they going to do on the Monday??) and had to settle for drinks.
The location is great, but struggles for parking and has lots of outside tables. Locals suggest the manager 'knows best', experience says they need to listen to the customer a little more or perhaps they don't care?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexBoaters, Owner at The Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I am somewhat confused as to why you have waited 9 months to write your review. I cannot remember the situation (we have never run completely out of food so I suspect it was just one of two dishes) but we do have deliveries on Bank Holidays from most of our suppliers. I am sorry you were not hapy but am at a loss to explain the situation from so long ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    104
    49
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hugely dissapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Our family meal was ruined when we were placed on two seperate tables after booking one table. Noisy clinking bottles, waitresses shouting to each other over us people bustling past our seats. The good food didn't come close to making up for it. A huge dissapointment.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexBoaters, Owner at The Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We were very sorry that there was a mix up with the booking and we did supply a round of drinks free of charge that totalled £30. When you said that you weren't happy with the roast beef, we didn't charge you. We creditted your bill with over £50 and apologised most profusely on several occassions. Unfortunately for you, it was our busiest day of the year so far, which meant that the bar was extremely busy and noisy. I know it was a birthday celebration and I felt very bad about the situation, but I had hoped that taking over £50 off the bill had remedied the situation a little.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful oustide space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Really nice pub with a wonderful garden! Nice friendly staff and great atmosphere expecially on a sunny day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks_8020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent food, decent service, a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Went here several times during an Easter visit. The menu is decent quality, all homemade and a good variety of seafood and meat dishes, as well as plenty for the children to pick from (the kids pizza a sure fire winner!) Also good service and the staff were very helpful, especially with the kids. The playground in the beer garden was a godsend as well, although it did get a little bit crowded pre supper time. Popular spot! Lovely views out to the estuary and nice to be able to keep an eye on the little ones whilst enjoying a drink outside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonviveur23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Underwhelming. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Went here for annual Easter Sunday lunch will the family, 7 of us in all. Sadly, in spite of the pleasant surroundings and attentive waitresses the meal was frankly poor. Most of us felt that the baby corn, courgette and sweet mange tout we're more fitting for a "stir fry" than a Sunday roast. The roast potatoes were an unmitigated disaster, clearly bought in pre cooked. Meat was nice though. One of us had the Asparagus and Broccoli soup which was like water and give the waitress her due she immediately took it off the menu. Overall, quite disappointing as was so looking forward to this having been on a hard core diet for 2 weeks. Sadly won't be going back soon. Shame, could be such a lovely place.

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexBoaters, Owner at The Victory at Mersea, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I am sorry that you had such a disappointing visit to The Victory. As you said, we did take the soup off the menu as soon as you complained about it. The potatoes are not ordered in pre-cooked, they had been cooked that day. We felt that the selection of vegetables complimented the spring feel to the weather and made a change from the winter vegetables we had been serving. Sorry if this was not to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victory at Mersea also viewed

 

Been to The Victory at Mersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing