We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad points.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mersea Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
1 review
“Some good some bad points.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

we have just returned from our week break at coopers beach,our first impressions when we arrived were, great clean park area and lovely and quiet.our caravan was dirty,cooker was very dirty and did not work, we had ants in our caravan , both of which were reported to security with promises of returning next day to do something about it but they never returned. (I can't understand why reception closes at 5),telephone reception is not very good there so trying to call security was not very easy,which is not parks resorts fault.
Swimming pool was disappointing out side pool was very dirty, stairs into pool were broken and was also very cold , although it says pool is heated.entertainment area was dirty and dead flies everywhere which were there all week, barman was nice and friendly shame about the pool staff.......when we left we spoke to staff regarding our complaints.
If they could keep it clean then it would be nice,as location is lovely and beach is nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Firstly, please let me apologise on behalf of the reception team that your complaint was not passed on, therefore giving us the opportunity to rectify your issues during your stay. I can assure you that we do our utmost to rectify any issues that guests report to us whilst they are on park.

I hope this does not stop you from visiting us again in the future, so we can demonstrate our usual high standards.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    113
    68
    52
    72
See reviews for
332
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Came back to coopers beach after a lovely stay last time and enjoyed it even more. Staff are helpful and friendly and look like they really enjoy their work. Ate in the restaurant most nights and food was good and good valve for money. It was a busy week as it was children's half term but was a really good week. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again and I look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a very nice Platinum caravan . Have been to Coopers before and consider it a very good site. The club house overlooking the sea is great to sit and chill out. Only criticism is that we were there on a lovely hot, sunny weekend in May and it was warm enough to go in the sea. Some other people were already swimming when I decided to take a dip, did not get to swim though as a group of people on jet skis were going far too fast and far to close to swimmers, some of the group were children of about thirteen years old, being left to handle those machines on their own (reckless), I did not fancy being decapitated , so had to come out of the water, the other swimmers came back to the beach the same time as me, and they said how dangerous it was. This was on the beach area to the left hand side of the swimming pool. A bit of safety here would be appreciated, like an area specified where the jet skis are not able to go, for the safety of sea bathers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Because it's understaffed, those who work there look like they'd sell their soul to be anywhere else, and you need a book or a hobby to pass the time it'll take for some sullen youth to bring any food to you. The food isn't half bad, as long as you're in no hurry, and whilst there's no attempt at waiter service and just one person occasionally dropping by the bar to provide service, there are two staff readily available to stick their hands into the innards of a cheap hand puppet to provide a lacklustre performance for an audience of precisely one disinterested toddler. Don't query why this is required though, you'll be stiffly reminded that it's a family resort (although a huge number of the caravans are owned by childless families or older couples with dogs) and so the deafening nursery rhymes are essential, apparently even if there are no children desperate for entertainment. Also, don't expect sausages in full English breakfasts, they apparently haven't got a handle on stock purchasing (and yes, there's a site shop on the other side of the restaurant wall that sells sausages, perhaps they were too heavy to carry for the apathetic staff on duty, or perhaps to go and get them would have interfered with their busy session of leaning by the kitchen door chatting and drinking slush puppies). This restaurant is a potential gold mine and asset to the park, but while staff behave as though the customers owe them a favour just because they bothered to turn up for work then it will continue to be somewhere to avoid. 500 caravans, and only 17 people in the restaurant for Sunday breakfast - perhaps the park manager needs to ask why.

Room Tip: If you're buying a holiday home on Mersea island, go to Waldegraves next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

With the arrival of a new menu this year the feedback has been excellent, however I am sorry that your meal did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I am also sorry that you were not happy with the entertainment. We do attempt to cater for all ages, however I appreciate that this is not always to everyone’s taste. We do have lots of new entertainment planned for 2014.

Once again I thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve for future guests.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a great week at Cooper Beach during May half-term with myself, my wife, daughters aged 4 and 7 and my parents. Stayed in Gold plus, Paddocks 7, nice size caravan with good heating. Radiators in toilets could do with a clean/repaint. Had some cutlery missing but soon rectified with a trip to reception. Was a little worried that the club house/restaurant would be too small with it being half-term but managed to get tables every night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good live entertainment over the Bank Holiday weekend and then mid-week. The girls loved the daily and evening children's entertainment with Wes, Jess and Ally. Special thanks to Ally who helped our daughter through her performance of 'Let it go'. Enjoyed the park linked bingo, madness and mayhem and especially bingo beats. Swimming pool is small but warm and having hourly sessions mean not too crowded. Play area good but unfortunately it was a bit of a wet week when we were there. Amusement area small but plenty of 2p machines. Toilets could do with a bit more monitoring (soap, wet floors etc). Definitely recommend for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review of our park. I will pass on your very kind comments to the team, who all work incredibly hard to ensure that they create amazing memories during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We decided on Coopers Beach as other parks close to Clacton were full. We didn't realise you could get stuck on the island by the high tide, we were given a free tide table at reception. Our caravan in the Saltings area was a little old, but very clean and comfortable. The tv had a dvd player, which was a bonus, we didn't know until a maintenance man pointed it out. He also showed us how to work everything without making us feel stupid! (Welsh guy)
The weather was not too bad, we visited a few local attractions, the zoo is worth a visit.
The on site nisa shop is a little expensive, there is a Tesco not far away. The entertainment team seem a little inexperienced, but kept the kids entertained.
This is a quiet park, so if you want all action this is not the place to be but we enjoyed our stay. The only problems we had were a missing sheet and pillow but this was quickly sorted by a tall guy. Sorry no names didn't know but he had a Manchester type accent. He made the bed too so this was a bonus!
The pool was a little on the small side but the kids liked the spa!
Overall a good break at Coopers Beach.

Room Tip: upgrade to silver if you want a newer caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coopers Beach or other Park Resorts sites in the future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

After driving for 4 hours I was relieved when we arrived and pleased that we were allowed to use the facilities until our caravan was ready at 4pm (although disappointed that others were checking in and gettin their keys early) The caravan was basic but then I guess you get what you pay for, the cooker worked fine but on arrival we had to wash the kitchen equipment as it was greasy, the fire worked and warmed the caravan nicely, the shower was nice and hot with good pressure, The mattresses were too lumpy and uncomfortable.

The club house decor is basic and not very comfortable however, the food was delicious and I would like to compliment the chef, we ate in the club house 3 out of 4 of the nights we stayed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the kids loved playing football in the area provided' although I wasnt impressed with the childrens entertainment, we have stayed at a couple of different Park holiday sites and the kids usually love Loopy Rabbit but they foud Sparky not very interesting and the entertainment wasnt very entertaining, not enough games The Sparky show starts at 5.30 and finishes by 6pm and there is nothing until 7pm when they play Bingo, it would be nice to entertain the little ones until the Bingo, with dance songs and games.

Swimming... the pool is too small and the system is ridiculous, we arrived at 2pm for the afternoon swim it took 15 minutes to get into the pool due to lack of facilities, there are about 4 or 5 changing rooms, as the pool was busy we were called out before 3pm we then had to hang around dripping wet and cold for a changing room while people were waiting on the otherside trying to get ready for a swim, the whole system needs a rethink.
We booked for the children to have a go on the water jet which they thoroughly enjoyed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmNco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. However, I was disappointed to hear that you were disappointed with the entertainment.
For health and safety reasons there is a maximum number permitted to use the swimming pool at all times, therefore if it does get busy we operate a band system so that everyone can enjoy the facilities. Unfortunately, there are a limited number of changing facilities and I apologise that you had to wait.

We do hope that this will not put you off visiting us again in the future.

Coopers Beach Holiday Park
01206 385 479
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
11.1 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Kingscliff Hotel
The Kingscliff Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holland-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.4 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#12 of 13 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
3.2 mi away
Victory at Mersea
Victory at Mersea
#1 of 2 in Mersea Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Church Lane | East Mersea, Mersea Island CO5 8TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mersea Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts 3*
Also Known As:
Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Hotel Mersea Island
Coopers Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts Mersea Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing