We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good even in winter”
Review of Victory at Mersea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victory at Mersea
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in December 2011; lovely clean room; great bathroom; breakfast good, we were even allowed to have a guest join us for breakfast on our final morning and when I didn't fancy a fry-up they made me a lovely fruit salad; made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter; there is a designated disabled access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

We decided to book a weekend away on Mersea Island as an early Valentines treat and chose the Victory for our stay as they have a dog friendly room. I was a little worried when I phoned on the morning of our first day to ask about the booking in time and was told that my booking had been crossed through and had been cancelled by "me". This most certainly was not the case as I hadn't cancelled and I had left my credit card details with them to secure the booking some 6 weeks previous. Luckily the room was still available otherwise our weekend would have been ruined. I overheard one of the staff expressing confusion over the bookings of some other people who had arrived but the booking had been cancelled in the book - maybe they need to review their booking system to avoid disappointed clientele.
Having said that we found "The Victory" to be a nice friendly pub and B&B, the rooms are clean and well appointed and the staff helpful and polite. The refreshments and biscuits in the rooms are bountiful and greatly appreciated. Having stayed at many B&B's over the years, I have to say that the breakfast offered has to be one of if not "the" best we have had. A full English each on Saturday, very good quality produce used, which set us up for the day and then Kippers for hubby and smoked salmon scrambled eggs for me on Sunday were absolutely delicious - compliments to the chef! We love Mersea and find the atmosphere reminiscent of Devon (which we also love) where everyone says good morning and are considerably more polite than the Londoners we are used to these days. Sadly we didn't get to experience any of the fresh fish that Mersea is so famous for at Company Shed as the water was -13c when the boats went out which did not yield a decent catch. I am sure we will be going back very soon and would not hesitate to book the Victo
Having said that we found "The Victory" to be a nice friendly pub and B&B, the rooms are clean and well appointed and the staff helpful and polite. The refreshments and biscuits in the rooms are bountiful and greatly appreciated. Having stayed at many B&B's over the years, I have to say that the breakfast offered has to be one of if not "the" best we have had. A full English each on Saturday, very good quality produce used, which set us up for the day and then Kippers for hubby and smoked salmon scrambled eggs for me on Sunday were absolutely delicious - compliments to the chef! We love Mersea and find the atmosphere reminiscent of Devon (which we also love) where everyone says good morning and are considerably more polite than the Londoners we are used to these days. Sadly we didn't get to experience any of the fresh fish that Mersea is so famous for at Company Shed as the water was -13c when the boats went out which did not yield a decent catch. I am sure we will be going back very soon and would not hesitate to book the Victory again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexDontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here on a Sunday night as a last minute thing and it was great in every way. Stayed in a family room (which wasn't a room but more like a small house!) very clean and it had a nice patio area out the front and a fenced playground just behind which was excellent for our little one. The pub was lovely aswell and all the staff were very friendly. We had lunch and dinner there and both meals were very good. Had to leave early the next morning but the manageress said she would get our breakfast for us before we went which was really nice and much appreciated. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clownspocket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had two nights at the hotel and had good pub food each night. We had a garden room which was located at the back of the hotel. This room was quiet and immaculately clean. It was ideal for the dog as she had immediate access to the outside. The room was beautifully tidied up and cleaned on the second day of our stay. On one morning we wanted to have breakfast a bit earlier than 9.00am and this was catered for willingly and efficiently. We had two longish walks during our stay and the whole area is really good for walkers. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We had room 8 which is the first of the garden rooms and you could just see the yachts on dry dock f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

............The Victory in West Mersea is great for an overnight.
We had Room 1......very spacious with usual amenties TV /Tea / Coffee / Trouser Press / 4 Piece Bathroom Suite complete with Spa Bath.

Room overlooked a boatyard and the water, good view.

Described by the owners as "The Victory, a nice place to sink a few" it really is a good place.

Breakfast was excellent, Full English and all kinds of alternatives. I had Smoked Haddock & Poached Eggs - lovely.

Situated on the Coast Road, The Victory is an ideal place to enjoy the delights of a hidden treasure that appears to be West Mersea

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radiostu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The rooms were very good, drinks kept on coming, amazing people and a brilliant weekend. My friends loved it too,shame i didnt come earlier. I love in london so it was a good place to definatley escape to...... Am definatley going back there thanks to em' and btw, beautiful view

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xPistolpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This trip was a treat from my husband and we had a wonderful time. The room (number 1) was large, light and very clean with a huge bathroom including a spa bath.
The staff were very welcoming and pleasant with our waitress at breakfast both mornings being particularly nice and smiley, which was a great way to start the day.
Because it was my birthday my husband had bought a special bottle of wine to have with our dinner (he had called in advance to check that this would be OK) which the waitress happily opened for us and even lent us a vacuum stopper so we could take the rest of the bottle back up to our room.
The Victory made a fantastic base for exploring that part of Mersea Island - we were able to stroll down to the Company Shed for lunch and then back to our room for a lie-down.Perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1icious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersea Island
7.4 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
743 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
2 mi away
Waldegraves Holiday Park
Waldegraves Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Mersea Island
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fen Farm Camping and Caravan
Fen Farm Camping and Caravan
#2 of 4 in Mersea Island
103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Victory at Mersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory at Mersea

Address: Mersea Island 92 Coast Road, Mersea Island CO5 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mersea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mersea Island
Price Range: $115 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory at Mersea 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Victory at Mersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory At Mersea Hotel Mersea Island
Victory At Mersea Mersea Island, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing