We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed Home From Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mersea Island, Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidHone...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxed Home From Home”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend break at Fawkes Perch in West Mersea. We did not know the area & were surprised as to how close the accommodation was to the sea.
An added bonus was that there was an abundance of shops & eateries nearby. We can recommend the Art Cafe, just across the road, for breakfast.
We were fortunate with the weather & enjoyed a lovely walk along the shore watching the numerous birds.
We hope to return in the not too distant future & will certainly stay at Fawkes Perch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: We had no problems.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The apartment was perfect for our needs. Whilst it was (as clearly advertised) small, the layout was well thought out and there was plenty of storage space. All the fixtures and fittings looked new and everything was very clean. The location was great, with the beach and shops both nearby, and easy to find. Ideal for a couple or solo traveller.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Thank you. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth M
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great apartment .. great location ..... would highly recommend ... lost the keys and was supported fantastically by the owner !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
Thank you. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The key situation was all sorted in the end.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmirnoffO...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A scrupulously clean, well presented and comfortable apartment which allowed me to take my 3 small dogs (thank you!). Located in perfect and quiet location: Shops and a small selection of eateries are literally around the corner in one direction and Monkey Beach is approx a 3 minute walk in the other direction. At the end of the street there is a small green - ideal for the immediate morning and last night prowl with my dogs! Communication with the accommodation was good and friendly and a pint of milk was left for us in the fridge.
I couldn't get the hob to work which was irritating but I left a note so hopefully that should be sorted for the next guest. For me it was irritating - trying to dine with a vegan and 3 dogs in tow was not entirely easy!
It's the perfect place for 2 people to stay.
Mersea itself is lovely. We stayed for 4 days which, with a trip to Felixstowe, we felt was adequate as it is only small.
NB: Together with the 'total' cost of the stay is a £40 cleaning fee which is not made clear until the request for payment comes in. The £150 damage deposit was refunded to me, in full, 10 days after my departure (as per the terms of the agreement).
To find the accommodation go past the small row of shops (which include a chip shop and a pet/gift shop on your right) there are 2 turnings on the right. Phoenix Court is the 2nd turning. It does have a sign but it much higher than a driver would expect to look.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and quietness
Liked least: The cooker not working
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you for staying and I am pleased you enjoyed the island. The hob is now sorted, there is a safety timer on the front that needs to be turned on for the hob to work - we have added this to the blurb! We hope to see you again soon.....Gareth & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing