We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Kibi Kibi(San Pedro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostel Bekuo(San Pedro)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Areka(San Pedro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Casaechavarria(San Pedro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Eden(San Pedro)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
65
54
19
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
54
19
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelpool areacosta ricawonderful restaurantonsite restaurantroom was very clean and comfortableedwardmallluggageschool
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 143 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We recently stayed 4 nights at Hotel Jade ("Haw-day" in Spanish as I soon learned), and it was an awesome experience!! Room was very clean and comfortable! The staff was incredible too! Anytime we needed something, they jumped right on it! Edward the hotel manager was very accommodating as were all staff members! Also, the onsite restaurant Jurgen's was our best meal in CR while on vacation!

It's on old-style hotel from the street, but don't let that fool you! On the inside, it's an amazing place.

Can't say enough good about Hotel Jade - HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

We visited twice on our trip to Costa Rica. This hotel is very convenient as a stop over before we travelled to the exciting parts of Costa Rica. Our first visit at the start of the holiday was complicated by a slightly damp room and also very noisy function in the room nearby. Due to the disappointment we complained to the hotel and posted details on trip advisor; when we returned on the last night of our stay they pulled out all the stops to make amends. We were upgraded to a suite and offered complimentary dinner. They have to be congratulated for listening to our issues and acknowledging them.
The hotel is really convenient, functional and good value and you can walk off into town. It's strengths are the wonderful restaurant with a reasonably priced wine list but their main asset is their staff. Every member of the team was charming, helpful and polite and that was for both our visits so they do make the guests feel special.
I promised I would re-post our thoughts and experience following the last night. Trip Advisor make you wait 3 months before this is possible!!
So here you are guys ..... a big thank you and well done!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipflop138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was booked for us by Adventures Within Reach as our hotel for the first and last night of our Costa Rica trip.

We were in Room 101 both nights. This room is easy to get to. It looks right out on pool.

We arrived on United at 2:10pm and were picked up by CR Reps. This was also the airport transfer company for our return. It is quite a tourist machine upon arrival at airport. We made it to our hotel at 4:30. There was rush hour traffic and in fact,every where we traveled we found there was a lot of traffic or really bad roads. I had complained about the travel times for our vacation between cities and figured we'd spend 7 of our vacation days transferring. I figured out the exact hours from maps and reviews and my figures were way low estimates. It took us much longer to get from point A to point B.

We arrived on a Saturday and all attractions closed at 4:00 or 5 so we could not sightsee either of our days in San Jose.

So we I mmediately went for a swim with 6yo grandson. Water VERY COLD April 8. Not fun. But pool area has nice landscaping. And even though located in busy city area you don't notice the traffic.

Ordered room service from hotel restaurant "Jugens" not at all Costa Rican and had no children's menu. Restaurant opened at 7pm which was a bit of a wait for hungry kid. But pasta was very good. Prices in US dollars and 3 dinners with no sides included or drinks cost $50. I was pretty surprised because this hotel was tiny and not deluxe and meals average size. Since one dollar equals 500 colones I really questioned what was going on.
But this experience was to hold true through out the trip. Everything was based in US dollars and priced as if you are in the US at a resort. We found no bargains.

Breakfast was included but when we departed our first morning at 6:45 there was not even any coffee available nor did the machine in our room work. Our last morning it was the same scenario except we had a much earlier pick up as they pick you up 3 hours before your flight. The hotel has staff on duty and could easily make coffee available or put out a pastry. They know your departure time.

Any way this type of customer service will not win any stars from me. Upon our return 12 days later it was not even acknowledged that we had stayed before.

Our room had nice beds, tv, air con, a safe, and was comfortable. Shower had plenty of hot water. I drank the water and was fine. The room was not soundproof but there was not much lobby activity so we were not disturbed. Front desk was helpful with a problem I had.

This was an adequate average hotel. I would not call it family friendly or fun.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank DTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

Staff were all lovely and the restaurant was excellent. The room on the ground floor was very basic and smelled damp. We had noise all night until 11 due to some form of function in the nearby room behind reception.
Glad that our flight delay meant we only stayed one night not two. Towels were small and thin, bathroom was basic and there were clear lines from rising damp behind the paintwork on the walls.
Really disappointed.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank flipflop138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017

We stayed at the hotel when we landed at San Jose and the night before we left. Clean rooms and decent hotel. Ask for a room not on the ground floor by the road. It was quite noisy. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful. We left early in the morning for the airport and they had a packed breakfast for us to take.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shepard_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews