We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
67
55
21
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
55
21
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelbusiness trippool areacosta ricawonderful restaurantonsite restaurantroom was very clean and comfortableedwardmallluggageschool
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 148 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile

Staff were all lovely and the restaurant was excellent. The room on the ground floor was very basic and smelled damp. We had noise all night until 11 due to some form of function in the nearby room behind reception.
Glad that our flight delay meant we only stayed one night not two. Towels were small and thin, bathroom was basic and there were clear lines from rising damp behind the paintwork on the walls.
Really disappointed.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank flipflop138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2017

We stayed at the hotel when we landed at San Jose and the night before we left. Clean rooms and decent hotel. Ask for a room not on the ground floor by the road. It was quite noisy. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful. We left early in the morning for the airport and they had a packed breakfast for us to take.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shepard_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017

We stayed at this hotel twice, first when we landed in Costa Rica, and then on our way back home. Decent hotel, clean rooms. Very friendly staff during both our stays. The restaurant attached to the hotel Jurgens had very good food.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shilpa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

This is a good hotel. It's not part of a bug chain which is nice because it has that unique feel about it. Yes it's quite expensive and it's only frequented by foreigners which probably speaks a thousand words. The rooms are nice but beware that it's a little noisy because being in town it's quite close to the train line. They use a train much as we use trams. The difference being The unbelievably loud horn used constantly!
Breakfast is not bad but I was surprised at how stale the bread is on some days. If they refrigerate it, that would explain it.
For dinner, do eat in the restaurant. It's very good

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017

What a welcome site, the Hotel Jade was after our six-hour drive from the Caribbean Coast to San Jose. Pillows piled on comfy beds, made with high-thread count sheets; a lovely pool in a beautifully maintained courtyard; a courteous and knowledgeable staff; and a four-star restaurant worthy of its designation. Because the hotel had mistakenly booked us for our first night in San Jose -- the was closed for the holidays -- they booked and paid for another hotel and also paid for a delicious meal at the aforementioned eatery. The only downside, breakfast wasn't the greatest.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 865rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews