We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere,great value for money”
Review of Casa Kibi Kibi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Kibi Kibi
Reviewed February 8, 2014

i stayed there for 17 days great nights sleep very chilled atmosphere among the residents from all different parts of the world extremely good location in a very relaxed neighbourhood and great value for money.

Room Tip: the single room with own bathroom is a goodroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

Casa Kibi Kibi was a very positive experience for our family. Shirani, the Costa Rican proprietor, is the son of an extremely prominent and well known indigenous rights expert. Shirani has a masters degree from a Scandinavian university, has traveled through the USA, and speaks fluent, accent free english. He is very hospitable.

We liked the location because its close to Zapote, a suburb home to the annual Christmas carnival and rodeo. The house is located in a fairly affluent suburb. You will have extremely easy access to a 24 hour taxi stand and supermarket. Both are within sight of the front door, they are located not even a stone's throw away.

Otherwise, the bus ride into downtown takes about 20-30 minutes and cost about $1.50 per person. That being said, there's not much to do in central downtown that you wouldn't expect to find in any other large central American metropolis: a market, gold museum, and endless pan-flute bands.

My mother, who is 55 and myself (I'm 25) chose Casa Kibi Kibi because she's interested in retiring to Costa Rica and wanted to get a feel for 'Tico' life beyond the confines of a hotel. The two most important things to her on the face of the planet are a good smelling, clean hotel room and getting a great bargain. At Casa Kibi Kibi, we found both.

This is the perfect destination for people who are visiting relatives at Universidad Latino or for people who have an extended stay in San Jose. If you are flying into or out of San Jose, you should stay in Alajuela, which is right next to the airport and not an hour or so drive away.

I would suggest getting the $35 ride from the airport to Casa Kibi Kibi that Shirani offers. The taxi costs about the same, but because there are no street signs or house numbers in San Jose, going to a specific residential address like Casa Kibi Kibi could be tricky for the taxi driver. Be sure to indicate which airport you are flying into, as that caused a small snag in our travel plans.

Also, while this was my first time using air B&B, I have traveled to about 25 countries and stayed in over sixty hostels. I am an experienced traveler and I understand the expectations for a guest house. That being said, we had a great time and I don't know why you wouldn't either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I found Casa Kibi Kibi online and received a prompt response from the owner. I visited the guest house the same day and decided right then that I wanted to make that my home for the next 4 weeks. It was very clean, I loved my room, the property was well run and the location was convenient to the school where I took my TEFL course down the hill in San Pedro (near the University.) This property by far was the best I've found in the area. Having the market across the street and the local bar/restaurant adjacent to the house was great too! Check it out, I think you'll like it to!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Z4857SPJames_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Casa Kibi Kibi was a great place to stay while I was getting my feet on the ground in Costa Rica. I am an ESL teacher and the Kibi Kibi house was a great environment for getting my work done and traveling around the San Pedro-San Jose area. It was always clean, provided all necessary utilities, and if I ever had an issue, Shirani, was able to remedy it quickly and efficiently. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here two months, using it as a base to take one, two, and more day trips to sites in the Central Valley. Casa KibiKibi is clean and quiet. No bugs. The inside courtyard is beautiful as well. I would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am an English teacher who recently stayed in Casa Kibi Kibi for a month to get my feet on the ground here in Costa Rica. I rented for a month due to the economical long-term rate and the proximity to universities and easy bus routes into the center of San Pedro and San Jose. The house is well-maintained and super clean, thanks to Shirani and Maria, the sweet woman who does the cleaning. The common areas are really comfortable, and the garden with fresh herbs and flowers adds a nice touch. Shirani is a very interesting, intelligent person who is happy to help with bus routes and connections for tours and lodging around the country. I made a few good friends there during my stay with whom I had dinner and enjoyed some nights out. I'd recommend Casa Kibi Kibi to travelers, students, and teachers of all ages. It was a mixed group of folks from different backgrounds, much more relaxed than the typical downtown hostel or home stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden are more private and independent if you have the extra money to spend. I ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thank you to Costa Rica, San José, San Pedro, Vargas Araya, and Casa Kibi Kibi for a most excellent stay! I was a student for 5 weeks at Veritas University and my girlfriend was on vacation. I took the bus 20 to 30 minutes each morning and afternoon. It was a great way to see the city. Shirani was wonderful. He had actual answers for most of our questions whereas that was not the case with a lot of other Ticos. They do not know how to say I don´t know in Costa Rica so answers were subjective at times. But Shirai was completely bilingual and if he wasn´t sure of an answer, he helped us find anything and everything out. It was wonderful. Good security. Good neighborhood. Close to the bus, a grocery store, restaurants, shops and a mall. And San Pedro was a great place to call home base as well. Thanks a million!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Areka
Casa Areka
#4 of 14 in San Pedro
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
In the Wind Hostel
In the Wind Hostel
#6 of 14 in San Pedro
40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pura Italia
Pura Italia
#8 of 14 in San Pedro
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jade
Boutique Hotel Jade
#1 of 3 in San Pedro
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
#2 of 3 in San Pedro
104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Yoses Hostel
Casa Yoses Hostel
#11 of 14 in San Pedro
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kibi Kibi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kibi Kibi

Address: 50m Norte del Perimercados de Vargas Araya, San Pedro 545-2070, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $38 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Kibi Kibi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Kibi Kibi is a tranquil, family-run guesthouse nestled in the San Pedro area of San Jose. We specialize in long-term stays and offer very special discounts should you decide to stay with us. We offer you a cheerful, smoke-free atmosphere with an opportunity to meet interesting people working, studying, and traveling throughout this beautiful country. Our 100% traditional, Costa Rican-owned home is located far from noisy streets and bars but within easy reach of all major amenities. You are sure to enjoy the warm, pleasant atmosphere of our little oasis! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Kibi Kibi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kibi Kibi Costa Rica/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing