We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly unique place. Amazing! (true Pura Vida)”
Review of Hostel Urbano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Urbano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

It dosen't take more then a minute after entering this place and you will feel what everyone is talking about. This place have something special.

I stayed there several of times during my latest travels in Costa Rica. This was my first time in a hostel and understanding the travelers i met during my stay at this place this was the best hostel they stayed at. People had traveled for months not finding a place like this. I think the key to there success is the atmosphere and there amazing staff. The «boarder» between employee and guest is taken away. Much because most of the staff lives there and work as volunteers. The beds are big and comfy. Lots of space with a comfortable madras. The lockers are huge so you can put all your luggage in there. I never in all my travels experienced a place like this. The perfect place for a backpacker to use as a hub while doing her/his travelling. They will gladly store the luggage for you when you are on the road. Pancakes and fruit was included in the price. Nice big kitchen with everything i needed to do my cocking. Big TV with lot's of movies. In the evening there is lot's of places to enjoy a drink. Next to the hostel you find the University and lot's of bars and places to eat. The backyard is where all the friendships and romance begins. One day every week they have pizza night or italian. I highly recommend this place for all travelers!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcticblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Hola Lief!!

Thanks so much for your kind words! We always try to help all our guests with their trip and make them feel at home! We make sure everyone is confortable and enjoy their stay at Urbano.

P.s: We miss you!!

Lots of hugs,
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

My sister and I flew in and out of San Jose, during a month-long backpacking trip of Central America; therefore, our first and last stop was Hostel Urbano. We actually had a stop over in between these two stays in San Jose on our way to Puerto Veijo. We decided we wantd to stay in San Jose proper and ended up at at 'Hostel Pangea' - it was a serious dissapointment; we were in a room with no windows for $20/pp, with grumpy staff in a roughhhh part of town.

The hostel staff kindly had someone meet us at the airport, even though we had a mix-up re: the landing time, someone was still there. We stayed in the dorm next to the garden, and it was fairly quiet. Other guests were respectful of the others sleeping. The beds were comfy, with clean sheets. The rooms fit like, 12 people, but they do not feel cramped. There aren't many plugs in the rooms, which would've been nice, and the lockers could be a bit better (my sister's had loose hinges and the loop for your lock is quite tight) but they're large and fit all your stuff with ease. It felt safe enough for me to leave my iPhone charging unattended in the room and in the common area, though. We didn't receive a towel on our first visit, which kind of sucks, so make sure to ask for one when you get to the front desk.

The staff was super friendly - they helped us get a cab outside, gave us recommendations for nearby restaurants, and gave us directions to an ATM and the grocery store. They're nothing but geniune, and really seem to go out of their way to help you and make you feel at home. We hardly experienced similar levels of friendliness anywhere else in terms of staff, so kudos! They really make this place shine.

There is a binder at the desk with information re: bus routes to anywhere you want to go. They also sell small snacks at the front desk. I did find it odd that during the night there doesn't seem to be any staff - we left at 4AM to go to the airport on our last night, and there wasn't anyone around; we found at other hostels in Central America there was at least a security guard sleeping on a couch or something.

The wifi was good, the free breakfast was good, the showers were hot and clean. We overall felt safe at the hostel and it was in a nice neighbourhood with lots of resources (mall, ATMs, restos, park, convenience store). The hostel had a great vibe, and the lounge areas were really nice; we spent our last evening watching movies on the couch with some other travelers. The kitchen is super well stocked -we didn't see anything similar on our travels.

Overall, we 100% suggest staying here. This hostel is by-far the best deal you will find in San Jose and the entire experience was nothing but a positive one.

Room Tip: We liked the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaitlyn_montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Hola!

Thanks for your review! We love to help all our guest and let them know where they can go to enjoyed their stay here in San Jose center and San Pedro (the bars, restaurants, popular events, the costarrican life...) which is great, because since we are near the University of Costa Rica you can find everything you need, also we provide shuttle services which can make it easier to get to the bus stations and the airport, we also provide free breakfast, and we make sure everything is clean and comfortable :).
We have different rooms such as privates with bathroom or shared bathroom, and our mixed dorm with big locks and we also put more conectors near the beds so you can charge your devices close to you :)!

Hope to have you here soon, Pura Vida!!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The best part of this place was the staff, otherwise I had a rather lousy experience at Hostel Urbano. The ladies working the desk were super friendly and great about giving directions and instructions for anywhere I wanted to go, and even helped me get a taxi in the morning to make sure I wasn't overcharged.

The main problem was that I was in the upstairs dorm which has the only bathroom upstairs, so not only was the bathroom shared amongst the 12 of us staying on the 2nd floor, but everyone upstairs had to walk through our room anytime they wanted to use the bathroom. There was another room connected to our dorm (it may have counted as part of the dorm, I'm not sure) that was accessed by a door on the far side of the room. The people staying in that room spent the night drinking and smoking and going in and out and in and out of the room. Every time they entered the main dorm we were hit by the stink of cigarettes and drunkenness, the cold air from their open windows, and the light from their room as they left the door open during their out-of-room-forays.

The dorm beds have built-in lockers, but they are super hard to use because the metal loop doesn't stick out very far for you to thread your lock through. Also, the door on my locker was broken and even with the lock on it was possible to stick my entire arm into the locker.

The bathrooms are really nice, though there seem to only be 3 to share (I don't know if the privates have their own bathrooms, but anyone in either dorm has to share the 3 bathrooms). I met a lot of people staying at the hostel because we were constantly queued at the door.

Pros: good hot water showers, towel included, breakfast, awesome staff, close to banks and supermarket, entrance is in the park and off the busy street.

Cons: lack of bathrooms, interconnected rooms with shared entry, hard to use lockers/broken, breakfast is cold pancakes and tiny tiny cubes of pineapple.

Room Tip: Check to see if the downstairs dorm is free standing (i.e. is not the entrance to anyone else's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2015

Hi,

Thank you for this review.

All our staff members love to help all our guests to enjoy their stay in Costa Rica, and help them get where they want to go, so we appreciate your kind words.

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the guests staying at the small room which is also part of the mixed dorm, we are going to make sure this doesn’t happen again. We just want to let you know that we explain to all our guests that they can not smoke inside the room, and also we put signs inside the room as a reminder.

As for the lockers, we had some trouble with some of them, but we fix it with new locks, so hopefully this won’t happen again.

As for the bathroom upstairs, the only guests who can use it are the ones at the 12 mixed dorm upstairs, but in case someone needs the bathroom, guests can ask at the front desk if they can use the two bathrooms downstairs. Also the other two private rooms upstairs have its own private bathrooms.

Again, thank you for this review, everything our guests tell us help us to be better, grow and improve our guest service each day.

Pura Vida,
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I returned a few times to this awesome hostel, the staff were welcoming, friendly and the travellers I had met were amazing people. The beds are comfortable, clean and the facilities are likewise. Definitely worth it, odd as it may seem, I miss it and would love to return one day, mainly to visit these amazing people again. Everywhere is easily accessible via bus taxi or if brave enough by foot. San José/San Pedro definitely stood out for me as a city and I'd really enjoy returning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ruthi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Hola!!

Thanks for your review! We love to help all our guest and let them know where they can go to enjoy their stay here in San Jose center and San Pedro (the bars, restaurants, popular events, the costarrican life...) which is great, because since we are near the University of Costa Rica you can find everything you need, also we provide shuttle services which can make it easier to get to the bus stations and the airport, we also provide free breakfast, and we make sure everything is clean and comfortable :).

Thanks again for your kind words, hope to have you here soon, you have a home in San Jose :)!!
Pura Vida!!
Hostel Urbano Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hostel is great. The staff are lovely and really helpful. I planned a lot with them. Kitchen is nice and well stocked (including an oven). The whole Hostel is very clean and well kept. The dorm beds are real xomfy and sturdy and the lockers are big. I would suggest more plugs and next to the beds rather than by the door. Good WiFi all over. Good location, close to a mall, supermarket, cash machines and plenty of cool student bars/clubs. Good social areas and having a computer to use is real handy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Deni,

Thanks so much for your review!! It was so nice to have you and your friends here!! hope to meet up some time soon again, and you know you have a home in Costa Rica !!!

Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, information such as tours, where to go, safety, we try to give you the best accommodation, in terms of cleanliness, comfort, facilities. Also our location allow us to provide great service since we have many places near the hostel such as bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.

We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :) Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My friend and I spent one night at Hostel Urbano. The staff are so unbelievably helpful. We received a lengthy email will all kinds of helpful information (taxis, ATMs, directions etc.) before our arrival and were collected from the airport by their recommended driver. My friend and I booked a double room which could have actually accommodated 4 other people and must be used as a dorm at other times. It had a private bathroom and a balcony. Large communal areas including kitchen, lounge, garden. Fruit and pancake breakfast included. Secure hostel with entry system, room locks and lockers (you need your own padlock). Could hear traffic / sirens a little but expected in a busy city. Wifi OK but couldn't access upstairs in the room. You're near lots of little University bars / eateries and not far from a supermarket. Upon our departure the staff helped us with the taxi driver to ensure we weren't going to get ripped off. Very pleasant stay. Friendly dog and cat included!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairemosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Claire,

Thanks so much for your review!! It was so nice to have you here!! hope to meet up some time soon again, and you know you have a home in Costa Rica !!!

We love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, information such as tours or where to go. We try to give you the best accommodation, in terms of cleanliness, comfort, facilities. Also our location allow us to provide great service since we have many places near the hostel such as bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.
One of the most important things for us is the guest safety we love to help you if you need to get a taxi or a bus.

We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :) Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in Hostel Urbano for a few days before our flight back home. It's a fairly large hostel, with a big communal kitchen, and an upstairs. We stayed in a private room as well as the dorms, both of which were clean, sufficient and quiet. The wi fi works great in the upstairs sitting area, which is nicely decorated too. They have a living room with a television downstairs, a pool table, and an outside area where you can hang out and meet people. The location isn't too bad either, as the area itself is close to the University which feels pretty safe. There is a supermarket in walking distance, or a short bus ride as well as two fruit stands up the road. Downtown is only a short bus ride too. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The private room next to the pool table is far away from communal areas so it's quiet. The dorms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Shiri,

Thanks so much for your review!! It was so nice to have you and your friends here!! hope to meet up some time soon again, and you know you have a home in Costa Rica !!!

Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, information such as tours, where to go, safety, we try to give you the best accommodation, in terms of cleanliness, comfort, facilities. Also our location allow us to provide great service since we have many places near the hostel such as bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.

We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :) Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 79 in San Jose
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Bekuo
Hostel Bekuo
#2 of 13 in San Pedro
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Urbano

Address: In front of the Kennedy Park, San Pedro 645-7050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a relaxed, fresh, clean, friendly, nice place to stay in San Jose, then look no further: Hostel Urbano is the ideal place for you!! Excellently located, on the University of Costa Rica Campus area, our hostel provides you with the perfect location surrounded by tons of restaurants, bars, banks, stores, malls, buses, taxis and even the train service!! So go ahead and check out our services and facilities and book now!! Please note: we are #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Jose, as per tripadvisor!!! and have had excellence certificate every year since opened!!! as well as hoscars 2015 winners of Costa Rica!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Urbano Costa Rica/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing