We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay!”
Review of Hostel Urbano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Urbano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Hostel Urbano is an amazing hostel located in San Pedro which is only about a 20 minute walk to downtown. A few blocks away is the University so within a few minutes walk from the hostel there is a large mall, bars, stores and many restaurants with good cheap local food. The hostel was by far the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at, the dorms were very spacious and had a locker for each person under their bed, pancakes, coffee and fruit were included (so good!) and Kate, Claudia and Jane are amazing people with amazing energy and are beyond helpful from the moment you arrive. There is also an amazing backyard to chill, kick a ball around or cook in the BBQ area...free wifi....computers...pool table....and a comfy living room woth TV and lots of movies in case their is a rainy day : ) I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Heyyyy Joeeeee, we miss you!!! ehehehe
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is very important to us.
Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, and this comes added the provide the best possible accommodation, either in terms clean, comfort, facilities.
With our location, we have many plus points, as the university price around , near bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.Our mission is to make our customer feel at home, cleanliness and good service are indispensable for us.

We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :)

Best Regards Joe,
Claudia
Hostel Urbano!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place was really great! The most expensive hostel we stayed at, but definitely worth it, definitely the nicest. The reception desk people were really nice, and even lent us money to pay the cab! The decor was a bit hipster, but I still liked it. Comfortable room, free breakfast. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: The private with private bathroom was quite nice. They even have flushable toilet paper! (This is ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Sayada,

Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is very important to us.

We love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, and also provide the best possible accommodation, in terms of cleanliness, comfort, and facilities. Our location help the guest get cheap and excellent food and drinks since we are near the university campus, bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.

We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :)
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here 3 times during my last visit to Costa Rica this winter. I used it as a home base. I was in country for 3 months and this was by far - the best of the best. When I arrived I was a mess - picked up a bug somewhere along the way. They helped me get medical attention and took care of me for 4 days while things settled down. They then took me on a tour of the Central Market to shop for the first of many in house dinner nights - the inaugural "Pizza Night" in the new wood oven. They helped me plan a part of my journey and they were spot on when it came to locations to visit and those to avoid. This is a family operation and when staying there you feel like a member of the family. I will be back there next winter - no question. I really miss all of you - God Bless.
Thanks gang - safe and well in Vernon, BC Canada - Mr. G.

Room Tip: Main floor Dorm - in the Left rear corner - lower bunk - The G spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrG_Vernon_BC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Hiiii Mr. G. Hope everything is good !! We miss you around here!! Thanks so much for your lovely words. It means so much to us that we were able to help and make you feel like home!! It really was our pleasure to have you here, hope to see you on a close future G.! take care, Thanks again to form part of our family, you are so cool and so friendly!!
Best Wishes Mr G..

Hostel Urbano Family Staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff are so caring, friendly and unbelievably helpful. We felt so comfortable and safe here. Unfortunately we only had one nights stay as we were on a bus the next day but if we ever return this is definitely my number one choice.
The kitchen is large, spotless and has everything you need.
The place is very relaxed and quiet and the garden out the back is perfect for chilling out or meeting people.
I have travelled all over the world and this hostel is definitely one of my favourites - there should be more hostel set ups like Urbano!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkatiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Kate,
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is very important to us.
Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, and this comes added the provide the best possible accommodation, either in terms clean, comfort, facilities. With our location, we have many plus points, as the university price around , near bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.
We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :)
Claudia
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Everyone reviews on a scale, some people the facility is the most important, some the service, some the party. I try to review mostly on the staff and the atmosphere they cultivate around the guests. I've slept in terrible beds before but enjoyed my stay tremendously because of the staff and the vibe of the place, not to stay that Urbano has terrible beds because they are FANTASTIC beds! Some of the best sleep I got going through Central. They have a very well taken care of pool table just next to reception, the garden is a piece of paradise right in the middle of a bustling city and I havent been back since the wood-fired pizza oven was completed but I'm looking forward to a pizza night with everyone soon. Love the place, will always come back here!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, even the top bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyBoySwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi Dann!!!!!! So nice to hear about you.!!!
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is very important to us.
Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, and this comes added the provide the best possible accommodation, either in terms clean, comfort, facilities. With our location, we have many plus points, as the university price around , near bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.
We hope to have you here again , you are part of our crew!!! that 's for sure, come back Dann!! It s a pleasure! :)
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Located in San Pedro. Only a 10 minute, $0.60 bus ride from downtown San Jose. Near the university area. Close to lots of bars but far enough away that it's quiet.
Honestly one of the best hostels I've stayed in.
Pool table, ping pong table, big tv, Internet access everywhere (even in your room), beautiful courtyard.
You will not regret it!

Oh one more thing! Most important part! It's a 2 minute walk from THE ROLLER DISCO!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerNJuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hi Ginger,
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is very important to us.
Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, and this comes added the provide the best possible accommodation, either in terms clean, comfort, facilities. With our location, we have many plus points, as the university price around , near bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.
We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :)
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great staff and a nice clean hostel and really cheap too! I highly recommend staying here as the staff is really helpful and you can ask them for traveling tips and they know a ton about CR and can point you in the right direction anywhere for a good time. If I head back towards San Jose again and need a place to stay...this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel U, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Urbano, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hi Craig,
Thank you very much for your nice comment, it is very important to us.
Indeed, we love to give the customer the greatest possible assistance, and this comes added the provide the best possible accommodation, either in terms clean, comfort, facilities. With our location, we have many plus points, as the university price around , near bars, restaurants, malls, banks, many local tourist use, just two blocks around.
We hope to have you here again. It s a pleasure! :)
Hostel Urbano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
2.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 79 in San Jose
182 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relax Hostel
Relax Hostel
#10 of 79 in San Jose
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 79 in San Jose
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#3 of 79 in San Jose
213 reviews
3.6 mi away
Capital Boutique Hostel
Capital Boutique Hostel
#9 of 79 in San Jose
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Urbano

Address: In front of the Kennedy Park, San Pedro 645-7050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro
Price Range: $12 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a relaxed, fresh, clean, friendly, nice place to stay in San Jose, then look no further: Hostel Urbano is the ideal place for you!! Excellently located, on the University of Costa Rica Campus area, our hostel provides you with the perfect location surrounded by tons of restaurants, bars, banks, stores, malls, buses, taxis and even the train service!! So go ahead and check out our services and facilities and book now!! Please note: we are #1 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Jose, as per tripadvisor!!! and have had excellence certificate every year since opened!!! as well as hoscars 2015 winners of Costa Rica!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Urbano Costa Rica/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing